We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laird on the Loose” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #36 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Laird on the Loose”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

There are apparently more Malmaison Hotels around Scotland but I haven't come across them before. The one in Glasgow is like a slightly down-at-heel W hotel, designed for the cool customer who doesn't like the bland decor of a big hotel chain. It's hard to ignore the carpet in the lobby and stairs (purple and ivory in stripes and checks) as you go up and down stairs because there's no elevator. The room I stayed in was a suite and comfortable, but the floor creaked. When I say the floor creaked, I mean it sounded like a haunted mansion. At the Malmaison, you will never be surprised by someone sneaking up behind you. If a body walks by in the corridor, you think there's an earthquake going on inside your room. If you get up in the middle of the night, you will not only wake anyone else in your room, you'll wake the entire floor. They must have done something special to the floorboards to make them so noisy, but the beds are very comfortable and the sheets and duvet are very fine. In the morning, head for the breakfast room along the purple and ivory carpet, then down the circular wooden staircase and into the darkened dining room. There you will find a fabulous breakfast waiting - continental buffet for £14.95 plus a choice of many hot dishes for two pounds extra. The breakfast was so good that I went back to the dining room for dinner and wasn't disappointed - make sure that you try the fresh fruit platter to finish. The hotel is definitely in the 'boutique' category, which is French for 'eccentric' when used to describe the Malmaison - the interior decorator could have been a Highland Laird who painted all the woodwork black so it would contrast better with ivory and purple-striped carpet ends. The staff are charming but were unable to provide an umbrella which seems odd because it is always raining in Glasgow, one would have thought they'd have hundreds behind the counter. I was offered the receptionist's personal umbrella if I promised not to lose it and bring it back before she finished her shift. Wireless internet is free, but slightly unreliable. I enjoyed the Malmaison and would stay there again, but I wish they'd replace the carpet and nail down the floorboards.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    429
    245
    125
    43
See reviews for
77
723
38
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Room was fine, comfortable and lovely sheets. Restaurant was very poor, such that some dishes were not eaten. Stay there but eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas rowantr... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

When we stayed in the Malmaison we had the benefit of staying in one of the suites and they do not disappoint, well worth the money for the upgrade. The living area is spacious and the bedroom is huge, both rooms have TV's which have sky sport son both which was a nice treat so I didn't miss any of the football.

The champagne bar downstairs in a classy way to start of your evening. I have nit eaten in the restaurant but have heard nothing but good things about it.

To sum up, the Malmaison is a very trendy, 5 star boutique hotel in the city centre, you will not be disappointed to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Visited 4th May and had a really good experience. Staff very helpful and friendly, room lovely with everything you might think of included (passed gratis shower cap test), nice fluffy dressing gowns etc. As part of Itison deal, bottle of wine and chocolate dipped strawberries awaiting us in our room. Food in restaurant good although we ordered additional dishes to the Itison offer. Breakfast also very nice and we were given two free glasses of champagne as they had over poured. Half price parking and within walking distance to city centre. What else you looking for!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicecupoftea12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

My partner and I stayed here in February 2012 for 3 nights.
Hotel is very clean and very modern we had a double room which was a bit small but was fine for 3 nights. Although we didn't sleep well due to having very noisy neighbours.
Hotel is is walking distance to the city centre where you will find plenty of bars and restaurants.
Good choice for a city break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I was offered a dinner, bed and breakfast deal, which we booked for the 27th April 2012 - I had previously eaten at the London Malmaison, so my wife and I were looking forward to some excellent cuisine. What a disappointment!
Although the welcome was exemplary, the facilities supreme, and the service really very good, the food - what was supposed to be the main event - was really poor indeed.
The starter of Pork Terrine was actually tasteless - it could have been anything if I'd done a blind taste test.
The main course was supposed to be Shoulder of Lamb but looked like little bits of crispy bacon - the lamb had been shredded and deep fried so it was tough and again quite tasteless - they must have got about 60 servings out of that shoulder of lamb. As for the rest fo the main course - not good at all -Gnocci swimming in olive oil and some peas. French beans were supposed to be in there too - I couned two!
Desserts were actually rather good, but o little too late to make up for the disaster our romantic dinner turned out to be.
My wife is not a big eater, but it was telling that after 3 courses in the brasserie, she went up to our room and ate the bisucuits from the tea tray.
So, if you are staying at the Malmaison in Glasgow - certainly book a room, but there are plenty more places to eat that will not compromise on quality or flavour - Two Fat Ladies right across the Square would be my choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This Malmaison is very tired and was very disappointing. I requested a quiet room on the top fllor, away from traffic noise and the elevator...what did I get...a very small room right next to the noisy elevator and whilst not on the main road, there was loud traffic noise all night!
I ordered a continental breakfast to be delivered to my room at 7.15am. By 7.25am I had not heard a knock on the door so I looked to check whether my order form had been taken off the door handle; that's how I found my breakfast left outside my room. A bowl of grotty fruit, a yoghurt that was passed its sell by date and a chocolate croissant which was stale.
I will not be returning to this Malmaison in a hurry!

Room Tip: Dont rely on the reception to allocate a room which you request. Check it's location before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shapcabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing