We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and poor restaurant”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Room was facing onto 2 very noisy roads that all the boy racers seemed to frequent. The hotel is also a 15min walk uphill from the city centre. There is no AC in the rooms so we had no option but to sleep with the windows open (Open or closed would have made very little difference) So we had bad sleep due to the noise not helped by an average bed.
The hotel is very gloomy. All the eating and reception areas are very dark.
The evening meal was incredibly salty. The chef must have been pouring salt in, it was terrible. Certainly not worth over £80 for 2 people that we paid.
The restaurant was understaffed but the staff were lovely and trying their best.
We stayed the previous week at Citizen M in Glasgow and it was way better than the Malmaison for much less.

So to sum up, not worth the money with terrible food!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,102 - 1,108 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

Very convenient location & room comfortable but was disappointed that it was on the ground floor & was extremely noisy at night. Chose not to dine because the dining room is too dark & depressing. Always the problem with this type of "boutique" hotel is that the decor dates very quickly & that has happened here. Fine for a night or two, particularly if you're on business.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarristerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel was very pleasant but because it was so noisy outside with traffic! (Because of this wouldn't stay again) we couldn't have the windows open which made for a hot room, and a sleepless night. Why no air conditioning? The breakfast was good. The parking although a little way from the hotel is at least secure and you do get 50% off the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Rooms very comfortable, staff both competent and friendly. Evening meal ok but we were rather forced into what we had as 5 items were no longer available at the rather early hour of 8pm. While breakfast was fully available it took ages, breakfast juices and milk for cereals were warm. My wife and I are of the view that while we would be delighted to stay there again we would be inclined to get our grub at a different Glasgow eaterie.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank colindakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

stayed in the hotel on sunday 19th august for one evening. check in staff were very pleasant. our room was lovely. the wine and chocolate strawberries were delicious! we had a 3 course dinner in the brasserie and I have to say it was top notch....try the gnocchi with blackpudding! breakfast was also great.....waffles with banana and nutella are a must! the staff were all helpful and attentive. overall a great stay and will definately be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is a lovely hotel with modern design and an intimate, boutique feel, just off Blythswood Square so central enough. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast package which was difficult to fault - comfortable room and excellent food in the Brasserie downstairs. Apart from the unfortunate apostrophe in Eggs Benedict in the breakfast menu(!), it was a delightful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed here for one night in August 2012 with my wife. Check-in was short and sweet and girl on desk was really friendly and helpful. Directed us to Q-Park which was quite a bit away up really steep roads getting back to the hotel. not ideal as parking option but probably best they can do. Have used it before and guess a lot of residencies in the area have deals with the car park.

Room was nice, very well done and bathroom nice and spacious. Noticed window was open and that it had no air-con when we checked in, couldn't believe a hotel like this would have no air-con. At night, both of us could barely sleep it was so hot even when both of us were sleeping wih no covers at all.

Food was ok. The meal was pretty average, nothing bad about it but nothing great either, especially at the prices they charge. Was so hot in the restaurant though, I had to leave the table go to the bathroom to splash cold water on me cause it was way too hot. Staff were friendly but seemed to take ages for them to do anything, this was much worse during breakfast. We almost got up and left as the service was so slow.

All in all we were really looking forward to staying here but apart from the standard of the room decor and the friendliness of the staff were left really disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weephil76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
835 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,347 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
5,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,722 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £87 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing