We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malmaison Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$255
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Central Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$168
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,613)
Filter reviews
1,613 results
Traveller rating
629
507
280
144
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
629
507
280
144
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonours restaurantbig yinduplex suitechateaubriandmini barcity centreq parkstandard roomlovely hotelreception staffclub roomrestaurant staffcooked breakfasta great nights sleeplovely roomstreet noiseovernight stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,241 - 1,246 of 1,613 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Spent 4 nights in this hotel and once I got used to the quirky decor, blacks and purples, realised that I liked it. My room was comfortable and quiet, great shower and lovely toileteries. The staff were wonderful, unfailingly polite, smiling and very helpful, a major improvement on some city hotels. It's in a great location, as long as you don't mind a few hills, perfect for shopping and sightseeing.

Room Tip: My room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the bar, not a great view but it was quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed last night with my wife. Check in was swift and helpful. Room was comfy and spacious if a little warm (fan in wardrobe). Bar was packed with a hen party so avoided it and had a glass in the champagne bar next door. We went out to dinner down the road and got back at 11.00 and had a nightcap in the still-full bar. The fan was useful in the room as it was very,very warm but slept ok. Check out was efficient and polite.
This is a good 4 star hotel in a good location with a groovy bar.
It does what it says on the tin!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank timchambola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Having stayed in nearly all of the Malmaison chain over the years, I have always been a massive fan. Its moody lighting, quirky signs, comfy beds and fab toiletries have always ticked the boxes in the past.

But now? Tired out to be honest.

Reception looks like it needs a paint job - even the 'AA hotel chain of the year 2007-8' (yes 5 years ago!) plaque needs a good polish. There was a "Changing Rooms" episode many years ago where Lawrence Lle

Still the friendly service, but so do others these days. Lift looks like it's had better days with a dirty carpet and buttons that aren't fixed to the wall properly.

Rooms remain their dark, unique selves. But hotels have moved on so much since Malmaison first opened with this look over 10 years ago now. Rich cream walls which now just made the rooms look nicotine stained - we've moved back to white these days in other groovy hotels. Even the beds don't seem to be as sumptuous compared to other 'boutique' chains anymore.

Their quirky coffee / milk offer where they deliver a quart of milk in the morning is now dated - where's the Nespresso machine and a jug of milk in the fridge? And the mini-bar used to be stocked with fab G&T boxes and other great choices. Now it's a couple of bottle of Heineken with Tomato?! flavoured crisps.

Still great bathrooms, Arran toiletries remain fantastic - but they've not changed in 6? years - surely there's some new 'smelly's' out there.

No air-conditioning... really?!?!? In a £160 room - not acceptable anymore.

Superior rooms in other Mal's are usually huge - with seperate sofa/chairs to relax in. Not in Glasgow on this visit, I do wonder whether I just had a standard room to be honest.

Food in the brasserie/bar yesterday was pretty average with even high-street brasseries such as Cafe Rouge & Cote having as good/better choices. Drinks on offer didn't excite me too much - nice thick drinks menu, but nothing that you can't get even in decent Hilton hotels in 2012.

The once brilliant 'breakfast bento box' (room service breakfast) seems to have gone through a bit of a budget cut as well. Three lovely jams and a massive pot of butter - but the smallest (freshly warmed) croissant ever with a mini-mini pain au chocolat and pain aux raisin. A bowl of melon and orange with one slice of kiwi fruit really isn't what I consider to be fruit salad these days. You do get a nice yoghurt still and some cornflakes & juice, but again - you can get better breakfast in your room for £13.95 in other hotels.

Convenient smoking areas - but looking cheap with a couple of barrels and lanterns as 'decoration' and nasty metal furniture you can get in B&Q. (No umbrellas/canopies to keep you dry either.)

Time for the Mal people to wake up and smell their (average these days) coffee.

If you are looking for something a bit different these days, this isn't it.
I'll only be back in any of the chain when they substantially re-invest in their business.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I have a love / hate relationship with the Malmaison group of hotels, hated Oxford- loved Edinburgh. The Glasgow hotel falls somewhere in between. I quite like the usual Malmaison black & purple decor but find it a bit dark in the rooms which are otherwise first class. As with the entire group it’s the staff that shine, efficient, friendly and very helpful, Rachael on reception was wonderful even lending me her personal phone charger. The meal we had in the evening was very poor, the steak came just warm and after being sent back returned the same but with fresh chips! The restaurant staff were excellent but if the chef doesn’t listen it will always result in poor service. The hotel is in a great location and I found it very quiet but I think room choice is the key. I would use the hotel again but with all the great restaurants now in Glasgow I would eat out.

Room Tip: Ask for room 122
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFaserH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I was torn between giving the Malmaison Glasgow a "3" or a "4" but ended up giving it the former. Don't get me wrong, its nice enough and in an excellent location for all Glasgow has to offer, but my downgrade is due to the fact this hotel doesn't seem as good as it was a couple of years ago.
The staff are fine and the rainfall shower in the bathroom is to die for but you do see a few signs of wear and tear now in the fixtures and fittings and corridors. The rooms don't appear to have aircon (how does a 4 star not have aircon?) and as a result you are stuck between sleeping in a greenhouse or leaving the windows open to let a breeze in but also the traffic and seagull noise with it.

The restaurant/breakfast room is so dark you need night vision glasses. Food wise, my Eggs Benedict at breakfast contained a tiny slither of salmon compared to a decent portion last time we were here and one morning when I asked if I could have a vegetarian cooked breakfast I was advised by the waiter to simply order a normal Mal Big Breakfast without the sausage, bacon & black pudding. A 4 star hotel in 2012 and no veggie sausage, etc? Poor effort!

In summary, I guess the plaque on the pillar in Reception sums up this hotel: "Hotel Group Of The Year 2005/2006" - well done, but doesn't this mean you haven't hit those standards since then?

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the building should have less traffic noise.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews