We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small room...but good food”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #38 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A small room...but good food”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My room was so small that I couldn't pull out the chair for the desk as it butted up against the bed. The room was in the original part of the building which had lovely high windows which were open when I arrived and I had to call reception to close them. This involved the poor girl standing on a stool in the window bay to reach!

However, the bed was excellent and firm, the linen lovely and the bathroom fine although I think separate shampoo and body wash would be a step forward from the purple stuff that is supposed to do both jobs.

I had room service. The brasserie staff were friendly on the phone, prompt in delivery and the food was perfectly cooked despite the long journey from the kitchen.

The hotel is an old Greek Orthodox church and the styling is rich, baroque splendour albeit the rooms are consequently a bit dark.

Room Tip: I understand that rooms close to the lift shaft are noisy and my small room was 117.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ripplevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    437
    253
    130
    44
See reviews for
80
756
39
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Great food and a great room within easy walking to all the shopping. No AC but they do provide a fan. Close to Police Station so fairly quiet other than traffic. Breakfast wonderful with hot and cold choices.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdnexpat2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I stayed here 6th September for one night on a business trip. Check-in was hassle free and with a smile. The king double room was a nice size with a refreshing drench shower. Bed was comfortable, but the pillows for me were really horrendous (please note, that beds and pillows are a very personal thing and I did not check with reception to see if they had different density ones more suited to my liking).

Dinner was included in my tarriff, I went retro and had prawn cocktail and lamb for main, both were delicious. The breakfast is comprehensive with cereals, fruits, pastries, breads, cooked to order options and the usual juices and beverages. Salmon and eggs was tasy and plentiful.

All of the staff that I encountered were discreet, polite, helpful and wearing a smile that really enhanced the experience.

Would I stay there again, that depends on the pillows but it's a nice quirky place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed here last night. I'll bullet-point the good and bad bits...

- Staff (excellent actually). Very friendly and welcoming, both at reception and in the bar/restaurant.
- Food was superb. I had prawn cocktail to start, followed by swordfish, then the most amazing cheese platter! Wine was included, and when we asked for some more wine, they automatically brought us the same bottle, rather than bringing us the wine list. Only downside to the meal for me. otherwise faultless. My partner had hot chicken skewers with a chilli jam then the King Prawn and Thai Green curry, followed by the chocolate fondant. She loved them too.
- Great atmosphere
- Checkout was fast, friendly and efficient although we did find out when we checked out that they had parking discounts in a nearby car park, which wasn't mentioned in the website and on arrival, would have saved us forking out money for parking round the corner...
- Room was nice, although uncomfortably hot during the night and in the morning

Excellent hotel with great staff, shame about the parking and the room temperature....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77CMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Just stayed for one night and was impressed by the hotel. Location is great and the room was lovely - good decor and clean. Friendly staff at reception. Breakfast was also good. I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavinconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way back from the West Highlands. We booked through Secret Escapes so got a good discount deal. Excellent central hotel. Great, friendly reception staff, suggested places for lunch and gave us a map and advised how to get to the Kelvingrove Gallery and negotiate the metro etc...(which is simple) We were upgraded to a suite - which was fabulous and as we had dvd's to watch, we chose to stay in, enjoy our sofas and complimentary dressing gowns and slippers and suite wine in the evening. We ordered in a pizza and reception staff were very accommodating with delivery. And of course, the bathroom smellies were a lovely encouraged steal ; ) Breakfast was great - very fresh produce and top quality. Reception also booked us a taxi to the airport - which was cheaper than the one we originally got from the airport to the hotel. A lovely end to a wonderful West Highlands break.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A surprise for those of you not familiar with the Malmaison hotels. Great rooms with mod cons & quirky decor. Really enjoyed my stay here. Cannot comment on food as ate out with clients. There is a restaurant on site though which is handy. Good location & def a great place to saty in Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellybops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,249 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,622 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 95 in Glasgow
5,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing