We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #36 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for a birthday treat for my girlfriend, the room was very nice, large bed,nice decor and clean, downside was the basement bar was quite uninspired and dark, the breakfast however was a disaster, the tea and coffee was lukewarm at best probably cold for most people. The big mal breakfast was nothing of the kind, 1 sausage, 1 egg etc I could have eaten another plateful no problem but at £15 it was not going to happen. One of our party ordered waffles and bacon which arrived stone cold and had to be sent back to the kitchen, another ordered salmon and scrambled eggs which she described as not very appetising looking as if it had been plated up the night before. In short nice room but work required in catering department.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vanowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    428
    245
    125
    43
See reviews for
77
723
38
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have stayed at other malmaisons but was disappointed by this one.
The hotel is in the middle of nowhere 15 mins walk to restaurants/pubs at city centre.
It is small and dark and I just didn't really like the overall feel of the hotel. The rooms are not big but nicely furnished. Bathroom was not as modern as expected.There is some street noise.
If it was better located I would consider returning but would definitely check other options first

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank georgie6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey CI
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We are Malmaison fans and love the buzz - sadly this was lacking at the Mal Glasgow. The hotel is the usual high standard rooms, brekky etc, but lacks the usual vibe. No passing trade, most nights we wre in the bar alone. Concierge was best ever. and service as always fab. Just a shame it is so quiet and out of the way - well it was for us anyway. Maybe it is more a couples boutique hotel, will go back to other mal's - just not this one

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed here on business, short but sweet! Lovely hotel, nice and quirky interior and the staff were brilliant. Unfortunately stay cut short due to ill health - staff arranged an ambulance for me and sorted my paid for nights that I was not there for out for me. Cant complain at all! Thanks alot

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gatesk3990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Room excellent (got an upgrade but worth it), food lovely, facilities great. However, we had booked this hotel on a £99 bed, dinner and bottle of wine offer, and when we checked out they tried to charge us for an additional bottle of wine (which we had not had) and then added a £6.60 tip, which mildly irrated me because if I want to tip someone, I tip them directly, not the organisation they work for. Whats the point of them offering 'special offers' and us buying a 'special offer' if they are then going to try and over-charge you at the end of it?
Also, not their fault because it is in what looks like a listed building area but be warned, car park is a public one right down a very steep hill - not good in high heels with a case.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham, england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed here for one night on the 26th October. I was impressed by the gorgeous, quirky decor, the character of the building and the overall presentation was stylish, warm and welcoming. The room was lovely and the finish was good. I like the attention to detail (they 'dare' you to take the toiletries home)
It was spotless and the bed was big and comfy. The only negatives were that the room was very hot and if we opened the window the noise was off putting, and I hated the pillows. They were feather I think and as soon as you put your head on them they flattened to paper width.
The ambience of the restaurant and bar area was good, with some lovely wine although drinks a little pricey. I was disappointed with the food. My partner had the spicy prawn pasta and it arrived containing no prawns. When sent back they added exactly four prawns and some cheese. I had the lamb. It looked very well presented and was perfectly cooked but incredibly bland, the jus was thin and watery and tasted like nothing. The starters of tempura and chicken lollipops were fine, but I found my dessert of sticky toffee pudding to be overdone and dry inside.

The one thing I couldn't give any constructive criticism for is the staff. Excellent customer service. Staff seem Very well trained, polite, friendly...across the board they couldn't do enough to help you. I enquired about a late checkout and they extended it until 2 completely free of charge.

All in all I think it's a lovely hotel and I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayleyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Set in a beautiful building, the hotel is beautifully different. Reception staff great you with a genuine smile and have a way of treating you as if you are not just another guest on the conveyor. I was in room 260 which will never win a vote for its view, but was comfortable and had everything you need. The toiletries "dare you" to take them home and weren't in the usual minuscule quantities most chains favour. The bath gorgeously deep and the big shower head felt like real luxury. I was part of a group eating in a private dining room the first evening. The staff were incredible in their ability to give first class service in a non obstructive manner. The food was excellent - smoked salmon starter, fish cake main and creme brûlée pud. Breakfast choice was great and there were plenty of cooked options - anywhere you can get a breakfast muffin, eggs Benedict, full Scottish, smoked salmon, kippers or porridge has got to be a winner. Service again superb. Evening meal in the restaurant was equally as good. Good variety of choice and excellent, well cooked, quality food. You must try the chicken lollipops! A brilliant hotel, real human quality customer service, great night's sleep and amazing food - can't urge you enough to stay there!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sparkey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing