We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Motherwell, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Valentines stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Food was lovely and the general atmosphere of the hotel and brasserie is nice, however in the hotel there are signs that the place needs a bit of money spent on it; damaged walls and areas of general wear and tear. All in all a lovely experience, although at the price I would expect the place to be in a bit better condition.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    430
    248
    127
    43
See reviews for
78
731
38
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

My daughter and I stayed for one night when visiting the Art College. We had a lovely dinner in the brasserie and retired to our (small) but nicely decorated room. It could have done with better lighting as the room lighting was very dim. Unfortunately neither of us slept very well at all - there was a lot of noise in the corridors and doors banging throughout the night, followed by a few hours of delivery/collection noise - that was when I discovered that our room was directly above the service entrance. I wasn't given the opportunity to comment at check out so if I ever opt to stay there again, I would only do so if I could guarantee a quiet room! However, I am sure there are more places to try that will be as charming for much less cost.

Room Tip: Take earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathi1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed there two nights a week over a period of eight week whilst filming on location. The thing that impressed me most was that they made a note of the fact that I prefer a quiet room at the end of the corridor and then kept it for me each week that I returned without asking. The reception staff always remembered my name and had a warm welcome whenever I arrived.
The rooms was always clean and had everything you could need when away from home.
The bar area was inviting and the food decent if not spectacular.
The best thing about this hotel was that many of the staff seemed to care about customers.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast N. Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here one night on business and it was excellent. My room was beautifully decorated with classy drapes and bed throw. The bed was large and comfortable. Maybe room 255 is a different style from those who have complained. Loved the bathroom smellies. Staff were friendly and efficient. I only wish I had been able to sample the eggs benedict for breakfast but wasnt hungry enough. It is walking distance to a good choice of restaurants. Hoping to return for leisure break with my husband.
saw a sign for gymtonic but could not find out if there is a gym.It wasn't metioned on the website.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gottobegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here twice now whilst being away on Business. Both trips were pleasant. Rooms are clean and vibrant however a little on the small size. Shower however is lovely, be nice if there was more room to get to the mirror in the bathroom.
Restaurant downstairs is lovely, good food, quick service. Best pudding by far is the Peanut and Chocolate pudding.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Our expectation of this hotel was that we would enjoy dinner and a good night's rest at one of Glasgow's central hotels. The dinner was fine, with good food and good service, apart from an error on the bill which was corrected before we paid. However, the real problem was the incredibly uncomfortable double bed! Basically the mattress was lumpy and every time I sat, or moved, on it the springs actually made a cartoon-like noise; the springs were visible through the fabric and I half expected one to break through with a 'boing' sound! I may have got the only 'bad mattress' but it gave a very poor impression of the hotel and I hope their future investment will include upgrading the beds. The other factor which ruined sleep (and was not the fault of the hotel) was the 'boy-racers' who drove round (and around and around) the city streets in souped-up cars with suitably noisy engines...this went on from around 10.30pm to the early hours. I have stayed in that part of Glasgow before and it is clearly a major problem. I know the Malmaison has complained to the police about it before, and presumably other hotels and businesses in the area have also complained, but it gives such a bad impression of Scotland. Apart from the obvious safety issue of speeding cars in city streets there is also the tourism angle. I wonder if 'Visit Scotland' (the tourist authority) are aware that all their efforts in attracting tourists to Glasgow could come to nothing if visitors to the city are continually harassed by these speeding law-breakers.

Room Tip: Ask about the age and quality of the mattress before check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenock, scotland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Had an overnight stay for my husbands birthday- overall a very enjoyable experience. Staff very pleasant and welcoming. Room small for a superior room- showing some signs of wear and tear in the bathroom but clean. Bed extremely comfy- some noise during the night from pitt street. Breakfast small selection at buffet and extra charge for cooked breakfast. Overall a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Abode Glasgow
#44 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing