We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but good for a special occasion.”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #35 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expensive but good for a special occasion.”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday after getting a spa treatment. Upon arrival there was an error with their room keys so our bags were taken off us and we were told that we could get a complementary drink in the bar and our bags would be taken to our room. superb service although you do pay for it in the room rates. The bedroom was lovely decor and a nice spacious bathroom.
I had also booked a reservation in the hotel for dinner which was also fantastic. The menu was quite limited but still adequate for what we wanted. I don't think I would return to the restaurant but for a special occasion the hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    433
    251
    127
    43
See reviews for
79
741
38
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East lothian
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at Malmaison, the first time we received a free upgrade to a suite which was lovely however this time we stayed in a standard double which was equally as nice. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. We had dinner and breakfast as part of our deal and the food and service in the brasserie was excellent. My husband and I really like this hotel and will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Me and my partner stayed in this hotel for one night, the entrance was lovely and the reception staff were friendly. We were told check-in would be 2 p.m., however on arrival we were told 3 p.m., which was a bit of a pain, but we were not going to let that bother us. The room was located on the bottom floor, it was large, really nicely decorated, the one problem there were two large ceiling to floor windows, which looked out onto the spiral staircase which was the way down to the restaurant area (inside) the view from the hotel isn't the best, however was in two minds whether this idea was quirky or strange? by the by, the stay was really nice, breakfast the next morning was nice too. Will stay again. X

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Food was lovely and the general atmosphere of the hotel and brasserie is nice, however in the hotel there are signs that the place needs a bit of money spent on it; damaged walls and areas of general wear and tear. All in all a lovely experience, although at the price I would expect the place to be in a bit better condition.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My daughter and I stayed for one night when visiting the Art College. We had a lovely dinner in the brasserie and retired to our (small) but nicely decorated room. It could have done with better lighting as the room lighting was very dim. Unfortunately neither of us slept very well at all - there was a lot of noise in the corridors and doors banging throughout the night, followed by a few hours of delivery/collection noise - that was when I discovered that our room was directly above the service entrance. I wasn't given the opportunity to comment at check out so if I ever opt to stay there again, I would only do so if I could guarantee a quiet room! However, I am sure there are more places to try that will be as charming for much less cost.

Room Tip: Take earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathi1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed there two nights a week over a period of eight week whilst filming on location. The thing that impressed me most was that they made a note of the fact that I prefer a quiet room at the end of the corridor and then kept it for me each week that I returned without asking. The reception staff always remembered my name and had a warm welcome whenever I arrived.
The rooms was always clean and had everything you could need when away from home.
The bar area was inviting and the food decent if not spectacular.
The best thing about this hotel was that many of the staff seemed to care about customers.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast N. Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here one night on business and it was excellent. My room was beautifully decorated with classy drapes and bed throw. The bed was large and comfortable. Maybe room 255 is a different style from those who have complained. Loved the bathroom smellies. Staff were friendly and efficient. I only wish I had been able to sample the eggs benedict for breakfast but wasnt hungry enough. It is walking distance to a good choice of restaurants. Hoping to return for leisure break with my husband.
saw a sign for gymtonic but could not find out if there is a gym.It wasn't metioned on the website.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gottobegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Abode Glasgow
#44 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing