We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer care!”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I Stayed at this hotel on 27th February and was pretty disappointed with the whole experience to be honest. Especially as it was a belated Xmas present for my sister. I had called a week prior to arrival to inform the receptionist that we would be there around noon as we had organised a full day in the city. On arrival our room wasn't ready but we could leave our bags. We payed the full bill at this time and they asked for a £50 deposit for breakages!! I work in a hotel and have stayed in many including malmaisons before this one and never have I came across such a thing. Very confused and offended by this request. As we were leaving, we were assured that our bags would be in our room when we checked in, which of course they weren't. They didn't arrive for an hour later. On inspection of the room, the headboard was white with dust, a used shampoo bottle was left in the room with a fresh one beside it. The mirrors were filthy and each one was obstructed by either a light or table, making applying makeup near on impossible! We also noticed that our room faced the bar which we didn't think would be a problem as it was a weeknight. We were so wrong to do so as there was a 50th party on in the bar in the evening which we were not informed about. It was noisy and as our room was beside the stairs, could hear everyone who entered or left the party. We called reception twice for milk and sugar for a nightcap which never arrived. All in all a dismal experience! Will never return here. A massive let down to the other well maintained malmaisons and their friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper levels. Do not expect a smile or acknowledgement from staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We went with another couple to celebrate our friends 40th to see Michael Buble and we were so excited to be staying in the Malmaison in Glasgow as we have stayed in the Aberdeen and Edinburgh one.

On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly gentleman who gave us our room keys. We were given room 107 and out friends were on the 4th floor we did hope to get rooms next to one another but it wasn't a biggie.

Unfortunately our experience of this Malmaison went down hill as soon as we opened the door to our room, firstly we had no remote control, no hot water, there was a huge gap between the bottom of the front door and the floor, as I sat in the chair I noticed a thick line of dust around the wine bottles and glasses, it was obvious the cleaners cleaned around the items, the walls were scuffed the carpets worn, petty yes but at £140 per night and being a Malmaison this was so disappointing. You couldn't even swing a cat in the toilet it was sooo small.

I mentioned this all to the girl in reception and she was extremely apologetic and moved us rooms straightaway which was appreciated.

We met our friends for drinks in the bar area and we noticed how, Run down, lacklustre, dark, with worn out carpets , scuffed walls & chipped painting.

Before the concert we went to our friends room on the 4th floor pushed the button on the lift and thought our finger was going to go through the panel, it was loose, the black paint job in the lift was not what I would expect from a Malmaison I know I keep saying this but anyone who has stayed in a Mal will know they have impeccable standards

All in all it was an ok stay I don't think we will stay there again it is defo not worth the money, unless they redecorate and add some atmosphere to the place maybe but until then I'm afraid Malmaison Glasgow you did not give us that Mal experience

Room Tip: Ensure you do not stay in rooms 101-107
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blondie2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Only draw back is the walk to the public car park - discount for hotel residents. Service was top class and friendly. Walking distance to the city centre. We had breakfast in the restaurant and the food was well prepared, good choice of hot and cold breakfast items+ a continental selection in addition. Good value for the price

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were giving an overnight stay in this hotel as a wedding present. Our room was quite small but stylish.
The deal was dinner, bed, breakfast and cocktails. Dinner was lovely. The restaurant was very busy and service a little slow but as we were in no rush it didn't matter.
Cocktails were delicious!!! Worth a visit to the bar for these alone.
Breakfast could do with a bit more choice.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is lovely but you can see it is a wee bit older and needing a bit of a fresh up. But on the whole it is a lovely hotel which we would definitely return to.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank clarkie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Good location but parking is a bit of a pain
My room was very small indeed even for a two night stay no room to accommodate clothing / luggage.
Staff were excellent, helpful and attentive, excellent breakfast

Room Tip: When booking check room size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is the first time we stayed at hotel as a treat for partner, the room was nice on surface with all mod cons as you would expect from 4 star hotel. However when you looked further you can tell that it needs better maintenance as was black chip and crack in bath and wall had bit of plaster out of it in the bathroom and room looked as if needed a paint job. The noise was a bit loud as right next to main road on ground floor, soundproofing would have helped. Some noisy other guests didn't help us sleep well...The restaurant was really nice and staff were very attentive and food was of very high standard however.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday after getting a spa treatment. Upon arrival there was an error with their room keys so our bags were taken off us and we were told that we could get a complementary drink in the bar and our bags would be taken to our room. superb service although you do pay for it in the room rates. The bedroom was lovely decor and a nice spacious bathroom.
I had also booked a reservation in the hotel for dinner which was also fantastic. The menu was quite limited but still adequate for what we wanted. I don't think I would return to the restaurant but for a special occasion the hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
822 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,345 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,716 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £89 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing