We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #36 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for one night as a treat after the Eric Clapton concert. The room was small and very similar to a room in any other hotel. Complimentary water would have been good. The bathroom was spacious and clean but had no extractor so the mirror quickly became useless. Service at reception and at breakfast was offhand. A disappointment

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islayskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowMal, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear IslaySkye,

Thank you for submitting feedback following your recent stay.I am truly sorry to hear about your bedroom standard experience at Malmaison.

I am sorry that we let you down on this occasion.

Once again thank you for bringing these valuable comments to my attention, without such important feedback, we cannot improve. I hope your experience will not deter you from visiting Malmaison again.

Kind Regards,
Steven Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    433
    251
    128
    43
See reviews for
79
743
38
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here a few weeks ago and just looking at some photos! Great stay close to the theatre.

Most pleasing had to be the service which was attentive but not fussy.
We had dinner, complicated by running a little late - the staff responded amazingly. Food and wine were delicious.
Unfortunately my wife decided on a late breakfast, which was fine until I saw the lunch time buffet that we should have stayed on for (photo).
The room was well equipped and most comfortable, there was a lift (! - some one else's review !) and I like the decor and over all feel of the hotel. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowMal, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Brian P,

Thank you for submitting your recent feedback following your stay with us.

I am pleased that you had such a pleasant stay and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Steven Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in 'the big yin' suite on the night of our wedding this month and it was amazing! The staff happily took our bag in the day before and even afforded is late checkout so we could relax after our party. At breakfast we were offered champagne (which we obviously took!) and where looked after extremely well throughout. The room was something else and I would recommend stating there to anyone who's looking for a special experience!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowMal, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Heather R,

Thank you for submitting feedback following your stay with us.

I am really pleased that you had such a great time and that the staff looked after you so well on your wedding night, something we strive to achieve for all of our guests at Malmaison Glasgow.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Steven Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is on West George Street, a reasonable walk from Queens St or Central Stations. There is no lift and it is a converted old building. I was put up in the hotel by work. Call me old-fashioned but I object to the sexist advertising in the Malmaison rooms. All the chain seems to be the same. In this particular hotel, the windows did not open in my room - so no fresh air. However (and perhaps because of that), the room was quiet even though it faced onto West George St.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowMal, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear NigelB,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Malmaison Glasgow. I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to expectation.
If you would like to discuss anything further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Steven Simpson
dgm.glasgow@malmaison.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I booked his hotel on the Friday for a one nights stay with breakfast on the following Monday for two people. I have previously stayed in the Aberdeen Mal so was expecting a similar experience, although appreciate there is no spa in the Glasgow hotel.

The hotel itself was very nice, reception presented well and the decor was in the usual malmaison style. Our room was located on the first floor. There was no lift which is typical for older properties.
The room itself was quite small, a similar size to the 4 star Central London hotels I have stayed in which was disappointing. The room was incredibly warm with no way to open windows and there was no air conditioning. There was not even an extractor in the bathroom which led to the room being uncomfortably stuffy - I could not wait to get out and back outside into the Glasgow rain!

I barely slept at night, it was simply too warm and there was no complementary water which meant raiding the mini bar for a cool drink. I have never experienced anything like it!

Breakfast was delicious and I cannot fault the selection and quality of food. The staff were also very friendly. Location wise, the hotel was average being at the top of west George Street.

If I was to return to Glasgow, I would probably pay more for a central hotel with air conditioning! I doubt I will return to this particular malmaison.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyDSco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowMal, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear AmyDSco,

Thank you for submitting your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry on this occasion that it did not meet your expectations.

If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Steven Simpson
dgm.glasgow@malmaison.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Great stay at Malmaison Glasgow. We had the Big Yin room and we were very impressed. The great feature was the bath. Lots of extras included. Great atmosphere to the room. Reading some of the other reviews, I am not sure what people are complaining about. Malmaison is supposed to be trendy, moody and something a bit different. Would recommend the breakfast. A great finish to our Scottish road trip.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowMal, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Matt O,

Thank you for submitting your recent feedback following your stay with us.

I am pleased that you had such a pleasant stay and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Steven Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
181 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this place for one night as it was half the price of the Bythswood. I'd stayed at several Malmaisons before so was confident it would be fine for a short stay. What a mistake....

We arrived at 2pm after an exhausting overnight flight to be told that Malmaison Glasgow strictly prohibit any check-ins before the official 3pm time. Struggling to stay awake we left our bags and went off in search of some strong coffee. A terrible first impression.

We returned bang on 3pm to be met by a reception supervisor who said our bags had already been taken to our room: so the room was clearly ready before 3pm and it was just the hotel's daft policy that had turned us out into the streets. Not at all impressed.

We waited an age and then a very rickety old lift took us to the top floor where we found our room. It was a warm day (by Glasgow standards) and the room was sweltering and very stuffy. Another sign this room had not been occupied the previous night so certainly was not being serviced until 3pm. We opened the windows but even on the top floor there was a lot of traffic noise.

The furnishings in the room had seen far better days. Some of the upholstery on the chairs had been rubbed thread bare. There were chips on the wood and the walls were in dire need of a lick of paint. Hardly luxury accommodation. Most Premier Inns have better appointed bedrooms for a fraction of the price. The bathroom was very small and badly designed. No towel hooks. Just 2 towels. A door that blocked the wash basin and a shower screen that had no purpose (it was impossible to prevent the shower flooding the bathroom).

I asked the receptionist where I could post a letter. Her answer was "sorry I don't know"! How helpful! Even if she was new (she didn't say) surely she could have asked others in the hotel. Hardly good customer service...

All in all a very very tired hotel with staff who are only out to make their own lives easier and have no desire to provide decent service.

Avoid, avoid, avoid is my wholehearted advice!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJimBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowMal, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear JJimBean,

It is with regret that I learn of your disappointment in relation to your recent visit to Malmaison Glasgow. We genuinely try our best to impress our guests and if for whatever reason, we don't achieve this objective then we make a full investigation into the matter.

First and foremost, thank you for sharing details of your experience as in this way we can address the issues you have highlighted.

If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Steven Simpson
dgm.glasgow@malmaison.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Abode Glasgow
#44 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing