We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,667)
Filter reviews
1,667 results
Traveller rating
651
522
290
149
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
651
522
290
149
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonours restaurantbig yingreek orthodox churchduplex suitechateaubriandmini barq parkcity centrelovely hotelstandard roomreception staffsaturday nightclub roomcooked breakfastrestaurant stafflovely roomstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
1,518 - 1,523 of 1,667 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We stayed for one night for our wedding anniversary. Very disappointed. The room was a superior double & was o.k. but not fantastic for the price paid.
It was a horrible rainy/windy day in Glasgow & the tiny portion of window was left open for us but the room was very hot with no air-con at all. We had to ask the reception to come and close the window for us even though the room was boiling hot as all you could hear was the road noise outside.
You could hear the creaky floorboards outside the door everytime someone walked past and we must have had the room below the staff quarters as the floorboards above us started creaking at a very early hour.
There was a steep set of stairs to get to our room (no lift) and you were well sweaty by the time you got into the room (& the room was boiling hot due to the lack of fresh air/window too small to open any further etc). The carpet on the stairs had a number of stains (not a good look).
The plug did not fit into the bathroom sink correctly so the water drained as soon as you tried to fill the sink.
Bed was large & very comfy but they had put in x-amount of horrible scratchy-hairy cushions which we ended up just putting on the floor! The "chaise-lounge" had a number of holes in the fabric.
The reception ladies were all pretty grumpy & couldn't really be bothered but the guy on reception at night was very cheerful!
Breakfast in the brassiere was pretty nasty. They had "run out" of bread rolls my husband was told when he ordered a bacon roll - they then brought him 2 white bread doorstops with masses of greasy bacon. He left the whole lot - it was no better than a transport café!

All in all I would say this places needs some serious TLC. Reminded me of a hotel that just wants to get you in, charge you a ridiculous rate, no care or attention. Would not stay here again (even if it was free!!).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louie1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Stayed two nights in the Malmaison over the World Pipe Band Championships weekend in Glasgow. This hotel is normally outwith my budget, even as a Travel Agent, but I had found a good deal and was delighted.

The hotel was excellent in most respects, especially the breakfast which was the best I have had in a U.K. hotel for a long time. The room was very comfortable, if a little on the small side.

The location is ideal. Central enough to be within walking distance of everything but far enough from the main city centre hub to avoid all the late night noise.

The only thing that I was not so keen on was the fact that our window looked into an internal lobby/bar area within the hotel but that was a minor issue.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HANNANITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Our room was very small but we were staying courtesy of Airmiles so we weren't expecting the presidential suite. It was well presented with a pleasant modern décor, large comfy bed and a good en-suite. The hotel was quiet, centrally located and the breakfast was excellent. However, there were two factors that made our stay at Malmaison average rather than five star.

The first was the money grabbing corporate chain hotel ethos. Our room was full of lovely supplies but at a cost. Be it the over-priced bottles of water and beer in the mini-bar, the nice bottle of wine with the hidden price tag, or the proudly displayed Malmaison music CD, ours to listen to for a mere £12.95, all of the goodies were just there to tempt you to part with your cash . Even the music on the tv would be charged. It wasn’t the charges I objected to (I’m not expecting free wine) but I'd rather the stuff wasn't there at all. If I wanted it, I'd order it. The money-hustling approach made us feel less like a valued guests and more like just another pair of punters to be wrung dry of our cash. I know hotels are a business out to make money but there’s no need to be so blatant about it.

The mini-bar was also the source of our other gripe with Malmaison. The heat coming out of the refrigeration unit combined with windows that only open a fraction and the smallness of the room meant it was incredibly hot. And this was on a cool wet September night. It must be unbearable on a warm summer night. Luckily there was a (noisy) desk fan that we could plug in to make the room slightly less tropical. Maybe it was a ploy to get you to dip into the expensive drinks?

However, these two minor gripes aside, we had a good stay and overall I would recommend Malmaison for it’s comfort and higher standards. Just make sure you come with a full wallet.

PS Watch out for the lack of parking.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We got a good deal £138 for two nights, but disappointed with room. Rather small with stains on the valance of the bed. Think the bathroom had been converted for disabled use, as sink was very low. Shower screen not adequate so whole bathroom flooded. Shaver point not working nor was the mini bar 'fridge. Surprise at the amount of traffic noise considering the room was double glazed. Staff on reception were very helpful with advice on the cheapest way to park the car for the weekend

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkFlossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We got a cheap hotel and rail deal which was a good job as we would have been gutted if we had paid full price of £375 for 2 nights. The first room was very small and dingy so we asked for another room and the staff were happy to move us. (I do think you get a better room if you book direct rather than through a 3rd party) On the 2nd night we upgraded to a suite which was very nice apart from the dirty carpets and furniture. The carpets throughout the hotel werent very clean either. The hotel is noisy at night due to traffic and poor sound insulation. The good point is the breakfast.. very nice. We were expecting more to be honest and have paid a lot less for better. The holiday inn round the corner is better value.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews