We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not as good as it thinks it is....”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The Malmaison is a decent hotel, in a good location. The reception staff are very friendly and welcoming. The decor is past its best, but OK. Room small and badly lit. Shower great! Was rather shocked to see that everything was chargeable. In most 4 star hotels we stay in, mineral water, WiFi, and music are free. Malmaison charges for ONE album to be played repeatedly (£2.50, I think), or £10 for music channela and movies. Mineral water has to be purchased from grossly overpriced mini bar. No bathrobes etc..... These days, the competitors are offering SO much more for £140 a night. Malmaison doesn't meet expectationsin this price bracket. Probably won't go back. Glasgow offers much better.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YolandaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,304 - 1,310 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2011

I stayed here on my wedding night, we booked a split level duplex suite. I'm sure the room was fabulous in it's day but it now looks really tired and in need of a spruce up. I also kept getting static shocks off of every surface, it was very uncomfortable!!!! The breakfast left a lot to be desired, a sausage,an egg, a fried tomato and a mushroom, not very substantial and it arrived without any coffee. When we called to ask for some we were told that we had instant coffee and to use that instead. It was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairebear0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Nice boutique hotel, centrally located for shops, restaurants, seeing the sites of Glasgow or business trips.

Quite plush and quirky decor like other Malmaison hotels. Nicer than mainstream hotels but you pay more. A good option for special occasions or if you've got a generous expense account. Rooms done out in an art deco style, but quite small ... very nice but perhaps a bit of style over substance?

Fine bar and restaurant ... although if you're tempted to drink the champagne, fine wines and cocktails, the bar bill might make your eyes water! However a number of alternative fine bars and restaurants in the locale so plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

I had the "pleasure" of one night's stay at the Malmaison just yesterday. And whilst the rooms are aesthetically pleasing albeit a bit small, the night was completely ruined by the noise from the hotel bar at 2am...on a Monday. After phoning reception without much luck I was eventually offered ear plugs or another room to sleep...at what was now at about 2h30am.

As far as I can ascertain I don't really think a hotel should even be CONSIDERING offering ear plugs as a result of music coming from within its own building!! When I did pick up the key to the alternative room, the drunken singing was still distinctly audible in reception. This all on a Monday.

Overpriced food, small rooms, and the worst night's sleep I've ever had in a hotel. Or for that matter, a backpackers. It may well have been an isolated incident, but even so, what hotel offers its residents ear plugs due to the noise from its own bar? SHOCKING.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
Thank Ldntraveller111341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We loved our time from start to finish, and cannot say how amazing the staff were in all areas. The rooms and food were excellent value, and the cocktails were great. The bar staff made some great recommendations and the hotel was really relaxing after a long day shopping! Breakfast was a bit busy the following morning but we had been warned and knew what to expect. My boyfriend and I will definately return and told all my friends what a great time we had at Malmaison Glasgow.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossybossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We have used the Malmaison in Leeds on many occassions and when the opportunity came to stay in Glasgow we decided to book the Malmaison as in the past we have always been impressed with their service and hotels. The Glasgow Hotel was very disappointing, the room was tired and dull, the cushions were dirty, there was no waste paper bin, or stationery. Breakfast service left a lot to be desired. On checking out there was a £1.40service charge on the bill which we were told was a discretionary tray charge and as we had not had anything of that sort we asked for it to be removed. A most disappointing experience, and sadly we will not book this Hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasonedtraveller086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

My fiancee and myself stayed here as part of a romantic break together. On arrival we were greeted by the welcoming and very helpful hotel staff. At this moment i thought i had chosen the perfect hotel but as soon as we entered the elevator doubts started to enter my head as the it appeared really run down. Once we arrived on the 5th floor we left the elevator to the long corridor to our room. This was in need of some TLC and a lick of paint. Once we entered the room i first thought it was really nice. Once the lights were on (in what was a really dark room) i began to notice many flaws in the room. The first thing i noticed was that the carpets in the room were very thin and worn, next was the paint work in the room, the walls were in serious need of a paint, when looking at the windows the frames were all cracked and tired looking and the velux windows handles were hanging off, next was the bed. This was really hard and uncomfortable and in the 2 nights i stayed i barely slept a wink due to the bed and also because the walls were so thin and you could hear EVERYTHING happening in the adjoining rooms and corridors. The bathroom again was like the rest of the room, very poorly kept and for what was meant to be a suite was was very small. On a positive note the food at breakfast was really good and the staff were flawless. Also the bar staff were nice and friendly. This has really doubted what i thought of the malmaison chain and i would be hard pushed to recommend this hotel to anybody as there are much better hotels in central Glasgow for alot less. The Novotel round the corner has more plush rooms for a fraction of this place!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vass6283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,366 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
888 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
5,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,075 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,762 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £75 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing