We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

very helpful reception when we had to change our package from Dinner & bed to bed & breakfast. Very comfy bed, nice location - not too noisy even tho' city centre.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliruth111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    430
    248
    127
    43
See reviews for
78
731
38
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

The Malmaison is a decent hotel, in a good location. The reception staff are very friendly and welcoming. The decor is past its best, but OK. Room small and badly lit. Shower great! Was rather shocked to see that everything was chargeable. In most 4 star hotels we stay in, mineral water, WiFi, and music are free. Malmaison charges for ONE album to be played repeatedly (£2.50, I think), or £10 for music channela and movies. Mineral water has to be purchased from grossly overpriced mini bar. No bathrobes etc..... These days, the competitors are offering SO much more for £140 a night. Malmaison doesn't meet expectationsin this price bracket. Probably won't go back. Glasgow offers much better.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YolandaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

I stayed here on my wedding night, we booked a split level duplex suite. I'm sure the room was fabulous in it's day but it now looks really tired and in need of a spruce up. I also kept getting static shocks off of every surface, it was very uncomfortable!!!! The breakfast left a lot to be desired, a sausage,an egg, a fried tomato and a mushroom, not very substantial and it arrived without any coffee. When we called to ask for some we were told that we had instant coffee and to use that instead. It was very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairebear0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
213 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

Nice boutique hotel, centrally located for shops, restaurants, seeing the sites of Glasgow or business trips.

Quite plush and quirky decor like other Malmaison hotels. Nicer than mainstream hotels but you pay more. A good option for special occasions or if you've got a generous expense account. Rooms done out in an art deco style, but quite small ... very nice but perhaps a bit of style over substance?

Fine bar and restaurant ... although if you're tempted to drink the champagne, fine wines and cocktails, the bar bill might make your eyes water! However a number of alternative fine bars and restaurants in the locale so plenty of choice.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

I had the "pleasure" of one night's stay at the Malmaison just yesterday. And whilst the rooms are aesthetically pleasing albeit a bit small, the night was completely ruined by the noise from the hotel bar at 2am...on a Monday. After phoning reception without much luck I was eventually offered ear plugs or another room to sleep...at what was now at about 2h30am.

As far as I can ascertain I don't really think a hotel should even be CONSIDERING offering ear plugs as a result of music coming from within its own building!! When I did pick up the key to the alternative room, the drunken singing was still distinctly audible in reception. This all on a Monday.

Overpriced food, small rooms, and the worst night's sleep I've ever had in a hotel. Or for that matter, a backpackers. It may well have been an isolated incident, but even so, what hotel offers its residents ear plugs due to the noise from its own bar? SHOCKING.

Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ldntraveller111341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

We loved our time from start to finish, and cannot say how amazing the staff were in all areas. The rooms and food were excellent value, and the cocktails were great. The bar staff made some great recommendations and the hotel was really relaxing after a long day shopping! Breakfast was a bit busy the following morning but we had been warned and knew what to expect. My boyfriend and I will definately return and told all my friends what a great time we had at Malmaison Glasgow.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossybossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

We have used the Malmaison in Leeds on many occassions and when the opportunity came to stay in Glasgow we decided to book the Malmaison as in the past we have always been impressed with their service and hotels. The Glasgow Hotel was very disappointing, the room was tired and dull, the cushions were dirty, there was no waste paper bin, or stationery. Breakfast service left a lot to be desired. On checking out there was a £1.40service charge on the bill which we were told was a discretionary tray charge and as we had not had anything of that sort we asked for it to be removed. A most disappointing experience, and sadly we will not book this Hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasonedtraveller086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Abode Glasgow
#44 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing