We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to see the arts !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel
Ranked #93 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“to see the arts !!!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

hotel was fine for a base as it was right in the center for getting to all the highlights of a Macintosh weekend !!! room. was clean with everything working. breakfast was ok. All just needed a fresh lick of paint and a spruce up !! staff were lovely and very helpful .

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    72
    83
    46
    86
See reviews for
30
110
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We just came back from our weekend in Glasgow we had a great time but the hotel put a downer on the whole trip!
The reception staff were not friendly did not even speak to us when we handed card back in at the end of our stay.
The room was disgusting toilet roll was used to fill in the holes in the ceiling and the windows did not close fully so we had no sleep as it was really noisy outside!
The bathroom and shower were dirty and parts of the skirting boards were missing it was just a really unpleasant stay and was not worth 44.00 wish i read the reviews before i booked.
Im not usually a one to complain but it spolied our little trip and dont want anybody else to go and be dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

we spent two nights at this hotel and as we were out most of the time, that was good. first off we had a room situated behind the reception. This was quite noisy as you could hear everyone coming and going very clearly. We were moved to an upstairs room afterwards, that was much quieter with a lovely view of the gardens. Here we had no tv remote. It was perfectly passable though, but overall the place was quite run down. The staff there were very pleasant - vene if we had to help the recepitionist master a computer! So to conclude - whilst a nice building I thought it rather expensive for the quality of room finish and facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights,tired hotel,staff really friendly,breakfast passable,could be a gold mine if some money spent,beggar sitting outside front door,every time we went out,great location,I come from Glasgow,but any other nationality would be put off with people begging outside front door,spend some money and you would have great hotel

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fordy2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed three nights and were very comfortable. Yes it's not a 5* hotel but everything worked, the room was clean, the bed comfortable, in-room tea/coffee facilities generously supplied and the breakfast bar well provisioned with the cooked meal promptly provided as ordered. The staff were helpful, including relocating us to a rear and quieter room (which was quiet even though close to reception) and organising extra pillows without question. Staff offered to help us with our cases - there is no lift between the entrance at ground level and reception on the first floor. Excellent location, 2 minutes from Central station. We would use this hotel again and recommend it as good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and reiterate this a few days in advance. Rooms at the front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussellAS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Pros: There are Rennie Mackintosh lamps, chairs, etc in public rooms
it's cheap
My room was extremely clean
Staff let me retain room for another couple of hours - no charge.
It's 2 minutes (down a VERY steep hill) to Sauchiehall Street

Cons: It's up a hill and has no lift - but that's Glasgow

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domino61
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR ,Yes this hotel is in need of some T L C but our room was clean and the breakfast substantial the staff very helpful and cheery , I would stay here again as it's location is excellent

Room Tip: not for anyone with mobility issues ..... millions of steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domino61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#78 of 95 in Glasgow
545 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 95 in Glasgow
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Central
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
202 reviews
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel

Property: Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel
Address: 218 - 220 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rennie Mackintosh Glasgow
Hotel Rennie Mackintosh
Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing