We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel
Ranked #91 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never again.”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I booked in my brother and his wife who were over here from New Zealand for one night. I helped them up the steep stairs with their cases to the reception then onto there room. It was at the back of the hotel and I noticed my sister in laws face was not to happy. The room was dull with a old style TV. taking up all the room on the dressing table. My brother who has travelled the world many times still talks about his night there. The toilet seat was broken and the view out the back window was something else. He did say the breakfast was ok and it is very central but I still get a lot of slagging with me being responsible for booking it. There must be better rooms than the one they got, if not then they should consider shutting the place down.

Room Tip: Simply ask to see the room before you take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victor351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    73
    82
    49
    87
See reviews for
30
110
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel was one of the worst I've been in. There was urine on the toilet seat and hair in the drain in the shower when we arrived. There was old pornography found in the drawers. The whole room would shake throughout the night possible due to the train station. The floors were lopsided. The hot water didn't work. The curtains were cut by hand making an already unpleasant room look even worse. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Worst hotel I've stayed in and around glasgow , no sleep due to Kebab shop and main road , room was in need of major upgrade although bed was comfy, breakfast was basic , most staff were not sociable and I felt embarrassed as a Scotsman for the international guests at breakfast . For 49 quid I would be better in a travel lodge . Only positive the wife and I would say was it's central . Ronnie Macintosh would be turning in his grave ............ What a let down

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 33Gwendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My partner & I recently stayed in this hotel for ! night in October. The room originally booked in our name turned out to be in the attic with sloping ceiling which was no good as my partner is nearly 6ft tall. The bathroom was dull and in need of up grading. We returned to reception and the staff were very helpful in offering us another room which we viewed before accepting. This room was still not up to the standard I was expecting as it could do with an up date in decoration. It was clean with a modern TV and plenty tea/coffee and 2 mugs as well as bottled water. We unfortunately did not get to sample the food at breakfast as we over slept. Hotel was centrally located which was good.

Room Tip: stick to first or second floor especially if you are tall. Budget rooms are in attic with sloping ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail1963_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A lovely wee hotel in the centre of Glasgow within walking distance of the stations. I emailed and got directions, very useful and we arrived after midnight but not a problem. Lovely basic room was well equipped and clean, ensuite and nice TV, comfy bed too. The gentleman on reception was unbelievably friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a proper cooked breakfast and boiled egg for my son all at a very competitive price. Overall very satisfied. Great to find such a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 12 was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

hotel was fine for a base as it was right in the center for getting to all the highlights of a Macintosh weekend !!! room. was clean with everything working. breakfast was ok. All just needed a fresh lick of paint and a spruce up !! staff were lovely and very helpful .

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We just came back from our weekend in Glasgow we had a great time but the hotel put a downer on the whole trip!
The reception staff were not friendly did not even speak to us when we handed card back in at the end of our stay.
The room was disgusting toilet roll was used to fill in the holes in the ceiling and the windows did not close fully so we had no sleep as it was really noisy outside!
The bathroom and shower were dirty and parts of the skirting boards were missing it was just a really unpleasant stay and was not worth 44.00 wish i read the reviews before i booked.
Im not usually a one to complain but it spolied our little trip and dont want anybody else to go and be dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#78 of 93 in Glasgow
560 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Central
Smiths Hotel
#89 of 93 in Glasgow
420 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel

Property: Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel
Address: 218 - 220 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rennie Mackintosh Glasgow
Hotel Rennie Mackintosh
Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing