We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Glasgow School of Art.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glasgow School of Art

The Glasgow School of Art
Ranked #1 of 76 Shopping in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Join a 45 minute'Mackintosh at the GSA' tour to discover original furniture, the history of the Mackintosh building and the architects life and work, from student to master designer. Restoration is underway following a serious fire in 2014, as such there is no access to the interiors of the Mackintosh building. Explore the rich history of The Glasgow School of Art at the 'Window on Mackintosh' Visitor Centre through artefacts from GSA's Archives and Collections, illuminating life at the School from 1845 to present day. Step outside this summer with GSA's Walking Tours to explore Glasgow's creative past and present. Invest in new talent hailing from the School or pick up the perfect memento of your visit in the GSA Shop. The 'Window on Mackintosh' Visitor Centre and GSA Shop in the Reid building at 164 Renfrew Street are open 10Am - 4.30Pm, 7 days a week. Tours depart from the 'Window on Mackintosh' 7 days a week. Every purchase supports the School.
Lamar, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Glasgow School of Art.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great MacIntosh building-art Nouveu, but has suffered a recent major fire to the library. The rest of it is intact and well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,163
    338
    66
    20
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love love love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Having visited Glasgow many years ago and falling in love with CRM after visiting Hill House it took me a few more years to get here after having a family. We had a tour a couple of years ago and I loved it. The woodwork is amazing, the whole atmosphere is amazing. Last year my youngest daughter applied to go to GSA this September and she has a place. We visited again last October to look around on the Open Day and we were able to access places other people aren't allowed into. I sat at the top of the stairs with tears in my eyes at the beauty of the place and I still can't quite believe that Alice will be studying there. I was so sad at the destruction the fire caused but I'm sure it will be brought back to its former greatness. Please visit and help to get this place up and running again.,it's also worth a visit to House for and Art Lover if you are CRM fan.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kazzahughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent Architectural Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

A wonderful and informative tour around the area around the Glasgow School of Art lead by two very nice students from the school. It was great value and very well done. we really enjoyed all aspects of the tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mini tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

As it was end of four year degree course for students we had the mini tour taken by Arseni. Architecture student. He was informative, friendly and helpful, showing us as much of this beautiful building as was possible at this time, including several beautiful pieces of Rennie Mackintosh furniture. Such a terrible tragedy followed with the fire the following day and our thoughts go out to all those students we saw working on their projects on that day. Like the Phoenix we are sure that this beautiful building will survive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank diane e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,084 reviews
442 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,354 helpful votes
“Very Tragic news”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Fire has heavily impacted on this iconic building and no access at present. Check on the Web site for any access updates.

This is dreadful news for visitors to Glasgow but do remember there are many more arractionx around the city with the Commonwealth Games in July/August. Glasgow is the smiling city.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Glasgow School of Art also viewed

 

Been to The Glasgow School of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing