We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but needs improvement ”

The Glasgow Royal Concert Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.40*
and up
Glasgow's Music Mile Walking Tour
Ranked #33 of 274 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Most of the city's major musical performances and operas are held here.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
210 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice but needs improvement ”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Visited at 330pm on a friend's recommendation. We'd heard lunches were fab. On arrival we were informed that they closed at 3pm but that we could still order and stay! Bit odd but however we did, only to find that we could only have the slices of cake left over and a drink. No food now available! Anyway we persevered, took a coffee and an empire biscuit and took in the surroundings!
If you want to go make sure it's the morning or be sharp for lunch, clearly afternoon not a good idea. I'm sure it's lovely but I can't know for sure. Think the concert hall needs to rethink and decide if they're open or not. Why open if no food? :(

Helpful?
Thank fionascot_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    187
    44
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice place to work”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was there with a band playing just one night.
Easy load in and out, good local crew. Slightly more confusing getting from back stage to front of house to visit friends.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stigroadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice art”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

There are some nice arts, huge portrait paintings in side of the hall. Great place to listen some classical music

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kinkosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
379 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I took my family into Glasgow to experience the atmosphere buzzing with international tourists visiting for the Commonwealth Games and decided to have lunch in the restaurant. The area was bright and spacious and the staff, although very busy, were very welcoming and friendly. A good sized bowl of delicious carrot and coriander soup, prawn-packed sandwiches with salad and crisps plus a mug of excellent hot coffee all for a very reasonable £6.95.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank granPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great place to meet and eat”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Wednesday morning and the place was absolutely buzzing with a great atmosphere. Light lunches extremely good value indeed. Tasty salads and freshly made sandwiches with drinks for three at under £20.00. Comfortable, air conditioned surroundings made our meeting very pleasant indeed on such a hot day. Great meeting place in the heart of the city centre. Was back a few days later for the SCO with Nicola Benedetti. Really well oganised with a packed house being ushered in and seated in a short space of time. Bar service was quick, friendly and polite. Fantastic venue

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Glasgow Royal Concert Hall also viewed

 

Been to The Glasgow Royal Concert Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing