We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Friendly Little Thatre”
Review of Citizens Theatre

Citizens Theatre
Ranked #53 of 276 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of great theatre in Glasgow, offering a world-class repertoire of classic and contemporary plays.
Loch Lomond
Level Contributor
166 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Excellent, Friendly Little Thatre”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The "Citz" is an excellent little theatre with excellent productions. I have attended a few over the years and I have really never been disappointed. There is also a reasonably priced bar for coffee or drinks at the interval.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_Andraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    47
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Family Ticket for 5!!! Woo Hoo!!!!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Browsing the 'net looking to see what panto's are on this year and low and behold the Citz do a family ticket for 5!! yes my eyes are not deceiving me FIVE!!! Once I organise travel arrangements I will most likely be booking tickets for a FAMILY day out!! Well done to The Citz!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hbf C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Love love love it”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We go every year to the panto here. For a small stage the inventive staging gives a fantastic production each year So looking forward to this years production. Looking forward to experience he new seating. Love the small bar area at the entry. The staff are always o helpful and welcoming.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank herries2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Pros: Lovely, comfortable theatre behind a bleak fasade. Don't be fooled by the dreary building outside, inside the theatre is charming, if a little worn.
Easily the comfiest theatre seats that I have sat on!
Excellent customer service and friendly staff.

Cons: Lots of stairs to navigate and I didn't see signs for a lift (though I didn't look very hard).
We were there last night to see Crime and Punishment and I believe that MacBeath was also playing so the foyer was very busy and a bit of a squeeze.

Advice: Definitely book the "best seats" to ensure that your view isn't blocked by a pillar.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorsyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
177 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Crime and Punishment”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Saw this play at this lovely theatre. Excellent staging and acting to boot. Very cheap for a top notch performance. Highly recemmended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fergal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Citizens Theatre also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Citizens Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing