We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ridiculous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Ranked #31 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ridiculous!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I recently attended a function here to be completely shocked by the incompetency and down right rudeness of the staff and the way in which the whole event was run.
The food was 'dunted' down in front of us by staff who looked like they would rather be anywhere than there, it could not be helped to feel that this was due to those attending being 'young'. The food was, in the main, inedible and served in poor time.
According to the hotel a 'technical fault' was the reason for a major mess up on the hotels part which lead to the function being ruined for all who attended and the majority leaving by 10:30pm!
I will never come back to the thistle and any future events that may be held here. It was a disgrace.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 48Hannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Reviewer,
We are very sorry indeed to read of your disappointment following your recent visit to the Thistle Glasgow to attend your School Prom Night. We appreciate that these events are very special occasions, and we looked forward to welcoming the guests from your School. I would advise
you that we have arranged a meeting with the organisers of the event next week, in order to discuss the feedback we have received. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    793
    394
    142
    81
See reviews for
317
649
81
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Came here for a school prom, everyone was very excited for the night. We played £60 to have wine at the table and a bar open for all of those over 18 to purchase alcohol. However, on the morning of the prom we discovered this was no longer the case and we were no longer getting this. Everyone was very angry that we were no longer getting what we paid for. The staff are also very rude and not one of them seemed very welcoming, they seemed that because we were young they could get away with this. The tables for the dining were not set out right with one of my friends not getting a seat, meaning she was not given a meal. Food was placed down before people even arrived and the staff weren't very patient. I also stayed here with a couple of my friends. We were visited by a very very rude member of staff who welcomed himself into our room and told us that we were making too much noise and that he would "kick us out on the street" if we were not quite. We were only talking and it was only 10 o'clock. Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone!! Ruined out school prom and definitely didn't make this the enjoyable night that we all were expecting and hoping for.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kth95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Reviewer,
I am very sorry indeed to read your comments posted on Trip Advisor, following your recent visit to the Thistle Glasgow to attend your School Prom. I am currently awaiting feedback regarding your comments on the event from our Meeting and Events Team, and I shall revert back to you very shortly with our response. Yours sincerely, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed here for one night in mid June for daughters graduation excellent central location within easy walking distance of Glasgow Central train station. Room decor a little tired but bed and bathroom great. Reception staff very friendly and breakfast was excellent as much as you want and a great selection. Room was very clean and quiet. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian111England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to having you stay with us at the Thistle Glasgow again in the future.
Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were on an organised coach trip so a lot of us. When we arrived we were greeted with lots of other people and thought Oh no its going to be crowded but Phew they were leaving.
Once inside our groups rep went and checked us all in so we could go to our rooms. We had a nice room on the 3rd floor. It was on a sunny side but we didn't mind that (not everyone does). It was an Executive room, but in need of a little renovation. Having said that, it was clean, towels changed every day (only there 3 nights), We had bottles of water in the room along with full tea and coffee facilities. It was a very big room, not like some hotel rooms in England.
We were only in the room for changing and sleeping so it was just what we wanted.
Food was very nice, from breakfast (help yourselves) to evening meal, a choice from each of the starters, main course and dessert. So something for everyone and without feeling stuffed after you have eaten. Service was a little slow but there was a lot of us. There was other groups in the hotel as well. If visiting as a couple, you wouldn't have the same problem.
Location - If you are staying with the intention of seeing the sights then this hotel is ideal. It's close enough for what you want. Anyone with mobility problems then again the hotel is great for that.

Room Tip: If you like a sunny room then choose 315 - It's quiet, right on a corner and looks out on the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed the breakfast and evening meal provided. The hotel does enjoy a superb city centre location and we are glad you appreciated this. Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I just attended a function at the thistle hotel where the In the deal it was promised a bar to be open and a sit down meal for everyone attending however when we arrived we discovered that there was not a bar and I could not buy an alcoholic drink from anywhere in the hotel due to a 'technical council error', seeing as I am 24 i find this terrible. Also the service was terrible, food was being served before people had sat down and not everyone got their meals! The service staff were very rude to us and didn't make me feel like they were there to help! This resulted in most people who attended leaving early. I do not recommend going here for any sort of function, they let you down on what you thought would be a great night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ao1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Reviewer,
We are very sorry indeed to read of your disappointment following your recent visit to the Thistle Glasgow to attend your School Prom Night. We appreciate that these events are very special occasions, and we looked forward to welcoming the guests from your School. I would advise
you that we have arranged a meeting with the organisers of the event next week, in order to discuss the feedback we have received. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Much improved since our last stay. Though the outside is a little grim inside you are greeted by friendly helpful staff. We had standard room which was comfortable and roomy, if the furniture, not the bed, was somewhat dated and utilitarian. It was spotlessly clean. The bar and dining room are rather dark but the food was good and reasonably priced. A good breakfast.
The hotel is well-sited just off the M8 and has its own car parking facility. It is near to the shops and theatres.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Reviewer,
I am pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and enjoyed a comfortable stay.
Thanks for your kind comments which we shall relay to our staff, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Would like to rate the Thistle at 3 1/2 stars. Stayed in an executive room which to be frank was a bit rundown and plain. The hotels public areas are all fine and the leisure club was in good condition, albeit a little busy.

The food in the hotel restaurant was very well presented, hot and tasty. Not priced too badly either.

Thought that the public bars let the place down a little. Pint of premium beer was expensive at £4.20.

The hotel is easy to get too from the motorway, has secure parking which reception gave me for free, Breakfast was first class. Big bonus with this place is it is just off the main drags, quiet enough to rest but still within a walk to the city centre.

Only down side was hassle leaving the hotel from a drunk who wanted money for a drink, informed reception who dealt with it.

Not a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floor are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chimpchoker67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,121 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#48 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Address: Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#38 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Glasgow Central, an affiliate of Jurys Inn, is located right in the heart of Glasgow and a short walk from the main railway stations. A large, contemporary building in the centre of Glasgow, the hotel is perfectly located for shopping, and enjoying the numerous galleries, museums and other attractions of this former European City of Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Thistle Hotel
Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Hotel Thistle
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing