We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great city centre hotel for the business traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Ranked #31 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A great city centre hotel for the business traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night in an executive room whilst attending a function at the hotel. The room was excellent, modern, stylish and well equipped. The staff were helpful and friendly at all times. the free wifi was also very welcome. Other chains take note - FREEWIFI.
The main bar lacked character which is a shame as it does not encourage you to linger for another malt but the restaurant was fine with a great Scottish breakfast (apart from the black pudding obviously).

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    793
    394
    142
    81
See reviews for
316
649
81
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Spent last Saturday night after attending the xmas gala night. Arrived for check in at 3pm, it states check in is at 2pm, so when the girl behind the desk said the room was not ready yet, it was not a good start, however we only had to wait a couple of minutes. The room was clean and we had plenty of room, outside empty bottles and half eaten plates lay in the corridor. The cleaners were still working away so I never thought antmore about the mess. Went out and returned 3 hours later, cleaners away, bottles and plates still lying, not a good advert. The night itself went very well, nice meal, entertainment good, but why do hotels think they can justify charging £5 for a vodke and coke????????. Breakfast in the morning was one of the best I have had in a hotel, everthing was fresh and very hot. Used the pool and again no complaints there. Overall I would recommend staying but cross the road and you will find a pub with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfieandElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stay at the Thistle for business visits to the city. It is centrally located and comfortable. I'm very used to staying here and feel that I know the hotel well. The upgraded rooms are well appointed in the main. Good comfortable beds and pillows. Good shower. Freindly reception staff. Good leisure facilities. Good choice at breakfast. The restaurant is also well staffed. Parking in the basement is charged at £6 per 24 hours. This for me is very much a plus point.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night mid week for work. Nice hotel with friendly staff. Used the leisure facilities which were good. The breakfast was of a good standard with plenty to choose from. The rooms look like they have been recently renovated but are just missing that final little bit!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here recently for the first time, and thought it was fine, nothing spectacular, but certainly worth the price paid for such a centrally located hotel. There is a car park available for an overnight price of £6, which is a bargain, although it was very difficult to get a space there (15 minutes of driving around both levels waiting for someone else to vacate a space).
The room was perfectly okay, there was a grim view of the back of Marks and Spencers, but I always look on a nice view as a bonus rather than a pre requisite. There was an ironing board and iron, which was handy, and a safe too if required.
Breakfast was very nice, and the staff very helpful, even sending someone to the room to help out when I could not work out how to access the free wi-fi.
I should point out that I did get a special rate on the room (£73), which I thought was a bout right, so my review is based bearing that cost in mind, I'm not sure I would pay any more than that.
The bar was pleasant enough for a quick drink, but the big plus point really is the location, which is within easy walking distance of shops and bars etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

A party of 10 of us stayed at The Thistle Hotel on Saturday 30 November as we were attending The St Andrew's Hospice Tartan Ball in the Grand Ballroom.

We arrived just about 2pm and quickly got checked in.

The room (no. 401) we had was pretty standard and was in need of an upgrade, however, it was perfectly fine for an over-night, was clean and the bed was comfy enough .. it was a superking size (the same we have in our own home lol!) .

We weren't in the room for very long and only used it to get changed and obviously to sleep in.

The hotel is in a great central location and within walking distance from the town, however, we did get a taxi to Candleriggs as it was a bit out of the way from there.

We had breakfast in the morning and there was a great selection ... probably one of the best I've seen.

I would use this hotel again if I was staying in town as it was reasonably priced for its location and the main thing is that it was clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed on business for 4 nights. I usually stay at the Hilton Garden Inn whenever I can when in Glasgow. But I wasn't paying so the Thistle it was :)

Rooms frankly are a bit dated - the decor could do with being updated.
Good hot showers with strong pressure.
Nice enough beds and room was kept spotlessly clean.
I was on the 4th floor and had no noise issues and slept well.

Restaurant is a bit too dark and the tables were a bit too rustic, shall we say? Breakfast was fantastic, I have to say, great buffet - both continental and Scottish. Dinner however I found to be hit and miss. Had steak two nights, but one night it was great - decent size portion and everything with it. Next night the portion was miniscule and hardly anything with it for the same price. Was that small I ended up going to Burger King later to fill myself up - not good for the price charged.

Parking easy to use and easy to get parked.
All in all, a decent but not great hotel.
I wouldn't have any problems having to stay here again if necessary.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prs069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,121 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#48 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Address: Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#38 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Glasgow Central, an affiliate of Jurys Inn, is located right in the heart of Glasgow and a short walk from the main railway stations. A large, contemporary building in the centre of Glasgow, the hotel is perfectly located for shopping, and enjoying the numerous galleries, museums and other attractions of this former European City of Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Thistle Hotel
Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Hotel Thistle
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing