We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Premium Pricing, Adequate Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Premium Pricing, Adequate Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed for three nights when visiting the city on holiday.

Hotel overall was adequate, but, as a Scot paying premium rates, I'm expecting significantly more than adequate. The hotel's tired and for somewhere charging premium rates, a lower cost alternative would be better.

Room Tip: Book a Premier Inn or Holiday Inn Express: you'll pay less and it'll likely be of at least t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Thistle Glasgow for your three night stay in Glasgow. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme at the hotel, and have just finished the complete refurbishment and improvement to the hotel's Cafe Bar, and unfortunately this work was being carried out during your stay, and the partitions and temporary walls, would have spoiled the
appearance of the hotel's foyer. Our Cafe Bar is now opened, and we are delighted with the
appearance. We know there are low cost alternatives available, however our hotel enjoys, a good Leisure Club, secure car parking, and a first class city centre location. Thank you for your feedback. Yours sincerely, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    775
    386
    140
    81
See reviews for
307
628
80
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Hotel has a small lobby. decent sized rooms. very centrally located near the market street. helpful team. no views from the room, but serves the purpose of being in the heart of the town. good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The hotel is situated very centrally, within
walking distance for shopping and entertainment, and thank you for your kind comments regarding our helpful team. As I am sure you will have seen on Trip advisor , we receive a lot of good feedback regarding our breakfast service. I am sorry you were disappointed with the view from your room, our front facing and some of our side facing rooms enjoy nice views over the
Campsie Hillls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in March. Room accessed through controlled door to the corridor so make sure you take a key. Comfortable bed and in line with other comments better to have a higher floor away from traffic noise as the windows only have single glazing. Good parking - handy in city centre.
The leisure club could do with a makeover - tired looking showering area and no facility to dry wet swimwear.
Breakfast choice was good and fresh and offered several refills of tea and coffee.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and tried to accommodate guest requests.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bravehearts2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback, following your recent visit to the Thistle Glasgow. Guests require their key card to enter each floor, and from feedback we are aware that guests enjoy this extra security. Our beds are all fairly new, and we are pleased you found them to be comfortable.
We do have a super city centre location, and our secure underground car parking is beneficial. Thanks for your kind comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff, and our breakfast team are delighted to read your comments regarding your breakfast. Our Leisure Club Manager, has previously requested the faciliities of a swimwear spinner in the changing rooms, and will indeed forward your comment to the relevant personsfor further consideration. I am also pleased to advise you that improvement plan is being finalised, and will commence in the near future. We do appreciate your comments, and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Yours sincerely, Ewing Stewart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions, the rooms we had this time were a little tired but love the newly extended bar area. Hotel was extremely busy but this was not an issue for us. Lovely breakfast and as usual friendly and helpful staff. Slightly more expensive that other hotels of this standard I have stayed in within the city but the car park underneath does it for me!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooz037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your continued support, and I am pleased to read your comments regarding our new Cafe Bar. I shall indeed pass your kind sentiments regarding our staff and breakfast to
the appropriate members of our team. We do have an ongoing improvement plan in place, to
restore and enhance furniture. Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back to the Thistle
Glasgow soon! Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Having stayed at Thistle hotels in Manchester and Liverpool on my last two visits I was keen to stay at the Thistle Glasgow. The hotel is centrally located and about 5 mins in a taxi from the station or 15 minute walk (however it is a uphill walk from the station). I checked in at about 7.30pm and was immediately allocated my room which turned out to be as I requested, on a high floor. I am a thistle signature member and there was no recognition of this on check in, unlike the other two hotels. However this is a minor point!

The room was very large and had a small double bed in it when it could easily have accommodated a queen or king. Good facilities in the room including desk and a separate seating area.

Wifi worked well but was disappointed by the tv reception quality and the lack of channel information which wasn't in the hotel guide book.

Breakfast was excellent, room service was quick but food not great (expensive really).

Great leisure facilities and I would definitely return.

Room Tip: High floor away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richbowenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Not the best hotel i am sure. As only one night it was adequate. The hotel looks and feels tired, rather outdated rooms and bathroom very small. Did find the odd hair or two in the bathroom which did not bode well. Location wise, cant complain. The food made up for it including the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LenJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I would like to say the staff are what made this stay pleasurable. The rooms are a little tired and the room I had on the first night was situated next to industrial sized vents (105) which ensured I did not sleep a wink. When I mentioned this to reception I was immediately allocated another room. I also required to leave early prior to breakfast being served and staff accommodated me by preparing a take away breakfast which was ready for me at check out. All in all a good hotel with a great location.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonAirdrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#47 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Address: Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#38 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Glasgow Central, an affiliate of Jurys Inn, is located right in the heart of Glasgow and a short walk from the main railway stations. A large, contemporary building in the centre of Glasgow, the hotel is perfectly located for shopping, and enjoying the numerous galleries, museums and other attractions of this former European City of Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Thistle Hotel
Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Hotel Thistle
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing