We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Ranked #33 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Travelling as a single on a group tour I was given a large well planned air-conditioned room with good amenities. Double bed with good pillows.
Bathroom was the normal bath/shower combo that you get mostly in the UK. Fantastic water pressure so had a great shower - wish more were like this in the UK..
Tea making facilities good, in room safe and free wifi – a must for the modern traveler.
Nice group dinner provided with very good service from the staff.
Breakfast was a good selection of buffet foods, again with good service from the staff.
Good position close to shops in Glasgow.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetoroam-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to the Thistle Glasgow. Your positive comments are appreciated, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's facilities, and central location in the city centre. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    772
    386
    140
    81
See reviews for
306
626
80
489
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torremolinos, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

A great location for the tourist and business visitor. Smack in the centre of the main shopping streets and 12 mins to Merchant City, 8 mins to Georges Sq, with all the local busses to the other aread within 5 mins walk. Hotel staff are efficient, friendly and helpful. Fast WiFi in the rooms - great.
Reasonable priced 3 star hotel that actually delivers what it offers.
We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crocafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I have visited this hotel many times over the last few years and I can honestly say it is consistently good. The staff are usually great and check you in and out quickly. I usually manage to grab a room via one of the search sites and get it much cheaper than their normal rates. Paying the discount rate, I am satisfied and return again and again.

The rooms are a really good size. Big comfortable beds, satellite tv, wifi in the room and furnished tastefully.

The restaurant serves pretty good food. Well cooked, quick and tasty. The menu is ok, could be possibly a tad broader, however, it would generally acceptable to most.

The car park is a main driver for me using this hotel. With the location being in Glasgow centre, non-NCP car parks are extremely rare to find for hotels, as the hotels usually give their guests discounted (albeit a small discount) to use a nearby NCP car park usually across the road or a few streets away, which can be annoying if you have a lot if luggage, it's raining etc. this hotel however, has it's own underground car park which I've always managed to get parked in with plenty of other spaces available. From there you simply go up to the next floor which takes you directly to the reception desk to check in. The other great thing about this hotel is the location. Although it is city centre, I never have any issues with traffic when I leave in the morning, which is good for anyone looking to get a flyer in the morning like me.

Last time I think the car park cost £8 per night.

Good hotel and recommended.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your repeat business over the last few years, and I do hope you are enjoying our Signature by Thistle Rewards. Your comments are much appreciated, and we are delighted you enjoyed our bedrooms. Our underground parking is indeed a big plus for us, and the location is very handy for shopping, sightseeing, and a short drive for the motorway. Whenever you make a room reservation for a Thistle hotel, through our website, we guarantee that you will receive the lowest rate possible for that hotel. If you find and book a lower available rate for the hotel in question, within 24 hours of booking you should submit a best rate guarantee form and we will create a new reservation for you honouring that new lower rate. Thanks again for your review, and we do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Thistle Glasgow soon. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for 1 night for Commonwealth Games. Very spacious room (upgraded to an executive twin) with 2 double beds. Clean with good food and breakfast. Restaurant took Tastecard which was a bonus. Didn't have time to use leisure facilities. Room furniture a little scruffy and dated.

Room Tip: Although on a bus route the room at the front of hotel was very quiet as road quiet at night and wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mintey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, following your visit to the Thistle Glasgow. We are delighted you enjoyed the executive twin room allocated to you and our breakfast service. We do have an ongoing bedroom improvement plan in place, and we are still carrying out paintwork, desk tops replaced, and chairs recovered in remaining bedrooms.. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel, when hopefully you may enjoy the facilities in the Leisure Centre. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ideal location for the hotel straight off the motorway and excellent parking facilities. Little disappointed that the room allocated to us for our weeks stay looked straight on to a brick wall! A little thought for guests spending a week would have considered the view. We understand that not all rooms have a view but as we were spending a lot of money for the overpriced Commonwealth Games week we had hoped that we would have been well catered for. Breakfast was very welcome and staff very attentive! Would have liked more fresh fruit available only one bowl of chopped up fruit - very hard to get 5 a day in when not able to have much at breakfast - not a banana, orange or apple in sight let alone the luxury of blueberries or raspberries! Complimentary water in the room would have been a nice extra also. Superb location and ideal for the buses and shops especially Marks and Spencer to buy water! Linen wasn't changed for the whole week after some very hot nights even with air conditioning - would have been nice!

Room Tip: A room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh,Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here over night in a newly refurbished twin room, facilities were fine and large room, the view was over a multi storey car park but it was no big deal as we hardly spent any time in the room.

Staff were friendly and efficient. Used the pool and spa and booked in for a massage which was lovely.

Breakfast was great, got a table right away and there was a huge amount of choice on the buffet

Would recommend this hotel and have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel, and your stay in one of our twin rooms. We really appreciate your kind comments. Thank you for recommending us and we do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Recently stayed one night for the Commonwealth Games. Check in staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we were allocated was very clean, with a huge comfortable bed and plenty of spare pillows. There were also tea and coffee making facilities with some complimentary water. Air conditioning was welcomed, as it was unusually hot the day we arrived. Bathroom was fine, decent shower and bath, only small issue was the loo... it overflushed! so excess water was left on the lid/seat. No doubt this has already been rectified as I brought it to the attention of the reception staff.

Just over a 10minute walk to either Queen St or Central Station, the hotel was also well placed for access to shops, bars and restaurants.

Had a fantastic nights sleep, couldn't hear any internal or external noise.

Continental breakfast was very good, lots of fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, breads and pastries. Some sliced tomatoes would have been a nice addition, and the coffee was exceptionally strong, but this was quickly rectified with some hot water.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to fellow travellers, either on a personal or a business trip, Hopefully I'll be making a return trip in December for some festive shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your very nice review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased indeed to read your very positive comments and delighted you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. Apologies for the issue in the bathroom, this has of course been rectified, and thank you for bringing to our attention. We really appreciate you recommending us to fellow travellers, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle for Christmas shopping in December. Why not join one of our Christmas party nights? Thanks again and kind regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,073 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#48 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Address: Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#38 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Glasgow Central, an affiliate of Jurys Inn, is located right in the heart of Glasgow and a short walk from the main railway stations. A large, contemporary building in the centre of Glasgow, the hotel is perfectly located for shopping, and enjoying the numerous galleries, museums and other attractions of this former European City of Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Thistle Hotel
Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Hotel Thistle
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing