We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have just returned from a short break in Glasgow and stayed 2 nights at this very-central hotel. We paid £375 for 2 nights in a premier room ( 2 x double beds), with full breakfasts and all overnight parking.
Room - clean, well sized, 2 double beds, large flat screen TV, mini bar,large table, bottled water provided plus tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer, walk through dressing area with wash basin and wardrobe leading to bathroom with toilet and bath/shower. the shower pressure is very strong which is quite unusual for a hotel, view over a main street but the room was quiet. Beds very comfortable. Air con worked well. Room a tad shabby but I guess there is a lot of wear with so many visitors. safe
Hotel- 2 quick lifts, bar and restaurant
bar- OK
Location- very good location for city centre shopping, near plenty of bars and restaurants
parking - overnight parking £6. rather tight turns in the underground carpark
Staff- very friendly polite and helpful,
Pool/ leisure facilities - smallish pool with Jacuzzi. the steam and sauna had to be reached via a spiral staircase. A bit shabby in places. the shower by the sauna was off a very high pressure, almost needle sharp so not my thing.
Food- full breakfast was good with juices, coffee, sliced cold meats and cheeses, danish pastries,wide range of cereals, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, haggis, sausage, bacon, toast, beans, mushrooms, tomatoes etc
Wi-Fi was poor in the room

On leaving we realised the car battery was flat. The staff quickly found us maintenance chap who had a gizmo that jumpstarted the car in seconds. thank you for helping us.

We would visit again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Jan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    776
    387
    140
    81
See reviews for
307
629
80
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here for one night. It is located right in the heart of downtown within walking distance of many attractions and near public transportation. The beds were comfortable but the hotel did show signs of aging. The windows were not double-paned so there was a lot of street noise in the room. The pool was very nice as well as the gym. Parking was inexpensive and plentiful below the hotel.

I recommend this location as a great location to see downtown Glasgow with or without a car.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the backside of the hotel - two sides face major streets and two sides don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brood225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, following your recent overnight stay. I am delighted you enjoyed a comfortable bed, and the gym and swimming pool. We are very fortunate to enjoy two levels of safe parking underneath the hotel, and I am pleased you also enjoyed this facility. Thank you for recommending us, and we do hope you enjoyed your visit to Scotland. Haste Ye Back, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel was an overnight stop on our tour so I cannot really comment on the location or what was nearby as we did not have time to explore.

We had a large room with a safe, hairdryer and excellent air conditioning. Bed was comfortable.

Dinner was provided at the hotel and it was not good. The steak was fatty, did not smell the best and tasted even worse. Service was very slow as there were 2 tour groups having dinner at the same time.

While the main problem with this hotel was the food I would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here in July 2014. It's probably 15 minute walk from downtown area. There are lots of restaurants nearby (pubs) as well as a restaurant in the hotel.
There's a bus stop right around the corner from the hotel - we took the "Hop On / Hop Off" service here - but there are also city bus service stops here.
We went for a few walks from here in the area. It's a safe location.
Also rooms were clean. We were quite happy here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharina291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Thistle Glasgow in July. We are delighted you were happy at the hotel and we appreciate your positive review. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Travelling as a single on a group tour I was given a large well planned air-conditioned room with good amenities. Double bed with good pillows.
Bathroom was the normal bath/shower combo that you get mostly in the UK. Fantastic water pressure so had a great shower - wish more were like this in the UK..
Tea making facilities good, in room safe and free wifi – a must for the modern traveler.
Nice group dinner provided with very good service from the staff.
Breakfast was a good selection of buffet foods, again with good service from the staff.
Good position close to shops in Glasgow.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetoroam-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to the Thistle Glasgow. Your positive comments are appreciated, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's facilities, and central location in the city centre. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torremolinos, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

A great location for the tourist and business visitor. Smack in the centre of the main shopping streets and 12 mins to Merchant City, 8 mins to Georges Sq, with all the local busses to the other aread within 5 mins walk. Hotel staff are efficient, friendly and helpful. Fast WiFi in the rooms - great.
Reasonable priced 3 star hotel that actually delivers what it offers.
We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crocafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I have visited this hotel many times over the last few years and I can honestly say it is consistently good. The staff are usually great and check you in and out quickly. I usually manage to grab a room via one of the search sites and get it much cheaper than their normal rates. Paying the discount rate, I am satisfied and return again and again.

The rooms are a really good size. Big comfortable beds, satellite tv, wifi in the room and furnished tastefully.

The restaurant serves pretty good food. Well cooked, quick and tasty. The menu is ok, could be possibly a tad broader, however, it would generally acceptable to most.

The car park is a main driver for me using this hotel. With the location being in Glasgow centre, non-NCP car parks are extremely rare to find for hotels, as the hotels usually give their guests discounted (albeit a small discount) to use a nearby NCP car park usually across the road or a few streets away, which can be annoying if you have a lot if luggage, it's raining etc. this hotel however, has it's own underground car park which I've always managed to get parked in with plenty of other spaces available. From there you simply go up to the next floor which takes you directly to the reception desk to check in. The other great thing about this hotel is the location. Although it is city centre, I never have any issues with traffic when I leave in the morning, which is good for anyone looking to get a flyer in the morning like me.

Last time I think the car park cost £8 per night.

Good hotel and recommended.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your repeat business over the last few years, and I do hope you are enjoying our Signature by Thistle Rewards. Your comments are much appreciated, and we are delighted you enjoyed our bedrooms. Our underground parking is indeed a big plus for us, and the location is very handy for shopping, sightseeing, and a short drive for the motorway. Whenever you make a room reservation for a Thistle hotel, through our website, we guarantee that you will receive the lowest rate possible for that hotel. If you find and book a lower available rate for the hotel in question, within 24 hours of booking you should submit a best rate guarantee form and we will create a new reservation for you honouring that new lower rate. Thanks again for your review, and we do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Thistle Glasgow soon. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#48 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Address: Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#38 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Glasgow Central, an affiliate of Jurys Inn, is located right in the heart of Glasgow and a short walk from the main railway stations. A large, contemporary building in the centre of Glasgow, the hotel is perfectly located for shopping, and enjoying the numerous galleries, museums and other attractions of this former European City of Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Thistle Hotel
Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Hotel Thistle
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing