We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Big City Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
florida
Level Contributor
755 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“A Big City Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Spent 7 nights at this big city hotel.
We had a large comfortable room that was nicely decorated but the big was only a double and
Somewhat uncomfortable for 2 people
The breakfasts were good with many selections ,and the servers were efficient
The hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants and attractions.
Since this is a big city with lots to do we utilized the hop on/off a lot to get around
As travel agents we would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    776
    387
    140
    81
See reviews for
307
629
80
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

The hotel is in a location just some blocks away from downtown. The place is quite quiet, and just perfect to go in the center without the problems of being in the center.

The staff welcomed us kindly and warmly, registration was really fast and seamless.
We got the room, wide, comfortable, with the sun coming in before the sunset.
The room was absolutely clean and perfectly serviced everyday. All what we expected was there.
From the breakfast (with a wide choice of food) to the night, we could enjoy the stay in this hotel.
Food was great at the restaurant, prices in a reasonable range.
There are three details we would suggest to be improved in the future:
-The lift system was too slow and dated. Sometimes it was almost unusable. Which could be OK if you were in the first 3/4 floors, then it becomes a nightmare.
-The kitchen closes quite early, you can not even order something from the room service and have it in the bar. That was just annoying since often we came back into hotel after 9PM.
-In the rooms, the water sink had the old style hot/cold water taps separated. I think it is just bad because of the quantity of water wasted, and the absence of comfort. Also, some taps in my colleagues' rooms were just too old and out of order.

For sure I would choose this hotel again. And I hope the suggestions will be taken into proper account.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Came up for the Celtic game with a friend and stayed here for the first time.

Pros:

* 12pm checkout time is great as I hate hotels that force you to rush in the morning.
* Clean and tidy
* Friendly reception staff
* Car parking on site is great especially for a city centre hotel
* Quiet room at the back of the hotel as requested
* Dark curtains which blocked out the sun in the morning. Great for hangovers!

Cons:

* Shower is tiny. I'm 6ft tall and had to crouch in the bath tub when trying to wash my hair.
* We had a twin room for two adults but there was only one bath towel and one of each shampoo and shower gel. I'll bring my own next time.
* The TV was really slow whenever I was trying to change a channel. LIterally took ten to fifteen seconds from pressing the button on the remote control until the tv responded which was pretty frustrating.

And this is more of a general grudge rather than a Thistle specific grudge:

When will hotels realise that they need to be competitive with their bar and restaurant prices when they are located in city centres? I was offered the choice of breakfast at £15! £15 is absolutely ridiculous when all I would eat would be cereal and toast. We found breakfast at a local cafe which cost a fraction of the price.

It's the same with dinner. The menu prices were just not competitive with the local area. I'm in the centre of Glasgow where there are hundreds of restaurants vying for peoples business and the hotels need a reality check. We aren't in London!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
283 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Large hotel in a building which is not so appealing from outside. I got a good price for executive room with two double beds, alas without breakfast. I was offered to include breakfast when checking in, but decided the value is better if grab a breakfast on some of the coffee shops which are plentiful around hotel. Room was huge, beds very comfortable, flat screen TV of a very good size. Windows could not be opened, as much as I could see, but there is air conditioning in the room. Absolutely no noise was coming from outside (our room was on a 4th floor just above the main entrance) even there is a junction of two wide streets nearby and city buses are frequent. the only noise we heard was though the door, when some kids were running along the corridor, but this was during the day and lasted very short so did not present a problem at all. Iron, ironing board and safe box were situated in the closet. Decoration of the room was very nice and they had also an armchair with leg rest, great for reading. WiFi was working very good in our room, and was free. Large writing desk is also situated in a corner of the room. Small fridge (empty) was also in one of the cabinets, handy for water, juices or some snack. All this was exceptionally pleasing, in particular having on mind typical size of hotel rooms in UK. Strange features of such a nice and large room were in a small space leading to toilet. Washing basin was I fact situated there and not in the toilet itself. And you stand there on the carpet, which is pleasing if you are barefoot, but then one tend not to spill water and it is not an easy task. As we were 3 in the room, most of the towels were in the toilet. And taps for hot and cold water were upon bad old custom separated. There are no doors between room and this space, this space however is separated by door from bathroom. Opposite to the basin is a closet with ironing board, iron and safe. For the size of the room which could accommodate 4 persons, closet is too small (and ironing board takes a good part of that little space. Bathroom could easily, in my opinion, accommodate basin as well, even it is not a large one. Bath tube was large, device for mix the water was funny, consisting of a ring to regulate flow of the water and know for regulation of temperature. It caused terrible noise when the flow of water was set to a bit higher. Far away that these little flaws affected our stay here, but it was strange to see such an obvious mistakes in such a good hotel. Staff at the reception was polite and we were allowed into room even we arrived quite early, around noon, as they had one of the rooms ready. Hotel has a bar and swimming pool (very nice, but smaller then what the image on internet suggests), however we did not use it. Plenty of the restaurants are within 5-10 minutes walk, plus two theaters I have seen and large multiplex cinema. Lovely stay we had in Glasgow and in this hotel and if the price is right I will have no doubts to stay in Thistle hotel Glasgow again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filotije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Recently stayed in the thistle with my wife and son for a mid-week break and we booked a double double ,the room was a good size with comfortable beds and there was no outside noise even though the hotel is in a busy area.Reception was friendly and efficient though I found bar staff a little slow and unattentive. pool and changing rooms were clean and well kept as was the bar,hotel is in a great location for shops and attractions and if we return to Glasgow we would return to the Thistle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulmon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
303 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We were warmly greeted with keys to our room, and a nice dinner to boot! There was a problem with the hot water boiler, so we got to choose a glass of wine with dinner as a consolation prize. The staff was very professional, eager to please… Good looking young men and women.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrcabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Lovely hotel friendly staff room nice and big bed huge to die for pool sauna and steam room lovely after shopping all day enjoyed it shops in center two minutes away great location would defo return and to my delight had been to the world bagpipe competition at the day and at nigh some of them were staying at hotel and played for awhile fab c u soon thistle

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keekeeowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#48 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Address: Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#38 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Glasgow Central, an affiliate of Jurys Inn, is located right in the heart of Glasgow and a short walk from the main railway stations. A large, contemporary building in the centre of Glasgow, the hotel is perfectly located for shopping, and enjoying the numerous galleries, museums and other attractions of this former European City of Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Thistle Hotel
Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Hotel Thistle
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing