We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
West Scotland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Clean hotel just off Argyle Street and right in the shopping centre of Glasgow. Rooms have controlled aircondition and are quiet if at the back. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast has hot sausages, scrambled egg and beans as well as toast, rolls, cereals, fruit, juices, tea/coffee and resaurant is very clean and restocked regularly.

Room Tip: Get room at back away from main busy side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highteas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    457
    169
    53
    19
See reviews for
221
403
63
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Have stayed in this hotel twice just lately (curiously once at £55 and once at £95 for a Wednesday night), and it's exactly what you'd expect a city centre Holiday Inn to be like.

Functional and clean, but a bit soulless bar, restaurant and lounge areas, but you don't go there to eat/drink and there's plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Both check-ins were busy with only one member of staff at reception, rooms are a good size and have everything you need for a brief stay.

Breakfast was just OK.

No parking that I could find, but a large public car-park 100 yards away which costs £10 for 24 hours.

This hotel suits me fine, strange how the price fluctuates, at £55 it's good value, at £95 it's not,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordonrgs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishaw
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night when attending a concert nearby. Really chose it for closeness to venue. Lovely girl on check-in who was very efficient and friendly. Issued us with parking discount ticket and directed us to car park. Room was fine, maybe a little on the small side for more than 1 night but suited us perfectly. Nice big shower and very clean bathroom with nice big towels. Room was very clean overall. Bed was comfy and two nice firm pillows provided.
Breakfast was free/included in the price and was very filling. Lots to choose from including hot food. Coffee was lovely.
All staff were very pleasant and friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JiggyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here twice in the past week.
Breakfast is a full breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausages, baked beans, muffins, etc.
Very good for value and full breakfast is included in the hotel price.

Very close to Glasgow Central, Glasgow queen st and Buchanan bus terminal.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raf c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Things weren’t promising on my arrival, the front doors being locked – this was around 11.15PM on a Sunday. The receptionist let me in and pointed me in the direction of my room. Whilst many other Holiday Inn Express hotels have been refurbished over the last few years this one has so far slipped through the net and retains its slightly 1990s décor, but is comfortable enough for a couple of nights. The room had a small television with a surprisingly poor selection of channels – as though they’ve gone digital but removed the majority of what is available – and the clock on the TV was constantly around 10-15 minutes fast. I noticed some red marks on the carpet by the sofa-bed which may have been blood, could have been red wine, but were worrying nonetheless. The bathroom was small but acceptable, with a shower but no bath, and the room had air conditioning.

The area around the hotel isn’t exactly salubrious, a rough-looking pub next door, and the street outside is very busy. Sadly the hotel doesn’t have particularly good soundproofing, so expect a fairly noisy night, although to be fair it does quieten down the later it gets, so you’re only likely to be disturbed early in the morning and in the evening, but I was woken in the night a few times.

Breakfast was the traditional Holiday Inn Express experience, with a small selection of hot items (scrambled eggs, beans, sausages – no bacon) alongside some cereals and breads, and there were two conveyor-belt toasters. The breakfast area is very small and crowded, and there are also few tables to be had, so on one morning I took my tray into the bar area and ate there.

If you are looking to go out at night the hotel is close to the Clyde and the Merchant City area, but is maybe 15-20 minutes stroll from the Buchanan Street / “Style Mile” areas. There aren’t many places to eat around the hotel, aside from an Italian restaurant next door which seemed to be eternally empty.

All in all it is OK for a couple of nights if staying on business, but don’t expect luxury, and do expect noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nasalhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Nasalhair,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the receptionist, and some amenities in your room. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have spent seven days in this average hotel on Stockwell Street, by the river Clyde in Glasgow. In general the hotel is clean and staff is friendly. There are a few things that one has to be aware of. First, the breakfast is very basic. Do not expect a variety of fresh fruit to chose from as this is usually limited to either apples or canned grapefruit/peaches. If you are not a fan of eggs and sausages than there is pretty few other items to choose from. Ham or salami is absent and no cheese spread. But on the whole you can make up with bread or croissants. As for the rooms, although everything is clean, I did find myself struggling to have enough power outlets to charge my mobile/video/camera. There are basically two outlets, one for the electric jug and the other at floor level about two meters away from the bedside shelf. On the other hand the hotel is close to the main shopping areas which are all accessible by foot.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are situated on the front, but the street is pretty much quite during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james21563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I am giving this hotel an average rating as it did not meet the standards I had expected after previously staying in the Theatreland which I gave a very good rating. The rooms were on what I would call a busy road this kept my husband awake(I however slept quite well). The room was smaller than expected. The food was not up to much unless you like your cooked breakfast to consist of sausages, beans & scrambled egg. I was just expecting the same standards from a hotel chain that I had stayed in before. I would however say although I would always try to get the Theatreland hotel i could settle for this one. This hotel was very clean & gave you a comfortable bed. I would restate that I have given this hotel the rating I did based on the differences that should not be so noticable when using the same chain of hotels.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the Holiday Inn Theatreland first as in my opinion you get a different experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing