We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff make it better than it is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff make it better than it is”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights and got what I expected from a HI Express. Breakfast was included and done just fine for what I was after, creal, fruits and some hot stuff.
Location is perfect for city centre, some noise from the street and local pubs at night, but then it is a city centre hotel so what else would you expect!
However the staff were great, they really make the hotel stand out from the average HI Express fare. The Night Manager Iain and the Evening Manager Chris were both really friendly the night of my stay, and Agnes was so helpful with my onward journey plans in the morning that I got the feeling that th staff really care about their guests experience with them.
All in all I reccomend this hotel if you're looking for a short one or two night no frills city break.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am delighted with your comments regarding the hotel, especially the comments concerning the staff. All of the staff takes pride in the customer service that we provide and it is encouraging when we receive such positive feedback. I will pass your kind comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Best Regards

Charlene Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    478
    175
    54
    19
See reviews for
232
415
68
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during a trip to see friends in Glasgow. We chose a convenient hotel over luxury because we were planning to spend most of the time sight seeing and with our friends.

The hotel is in a perfect location, its just a five minute walk into the city centre.

We arrived early to the hotel because of flight times and our room was available straight away. This was great as it enabled us to leave our luggage and start a day of sight seeing!

The room itself was lovely, good ammenties, clean, spacious bathroom - no complaints.

The breakfast was great, a nice cosy feeling area to sit in with a TV showing the news channel. Lots of choice available and everything was lovely.

I would definitely stay here again when visiting Glasgow. Its a great bagain hotel with everything you need for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannelouise55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you found the hotel convenient for your needs. We hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards

Charlene Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

hotel was great the staff very helpful with storing bags and directions and the breakfast was tasty. room good too and all in all good location couldnt fault it. Clean tidy and functional i would certainly go again and stay here

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevemasonnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Booked overnight stay for sunday night. Location is ideal for city centre, taxis aren't hard to get if you go further afield. Had a drink in the bar on return from the concert we were at, the bar staff were friendly and helpful.
Had a lovely quiet room on 3rd floor. Very unusual to have a peaceful nights sleep without being disturbed by other guests!
Breakfast was til 10:30 due to it being a holiday monday - choice and quality were good and adequate.
Would recommend it

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishlassieTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Scotland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Clean hotel just off Argyle Street and right in the shopping centre of Glasgow. Rooms have controlled aircondition and are quiet if at the back. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast has hot sausages, scrambled egg and beans as well as toast, rolls, cereals, fruit, juices, tea/coffee and resaurant is very clean and restocked regularly.

Room Tip: Get room at back away from main busy side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highteas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Have stayed in this hotel twice just lately (curiously once at £55 and once at £95 for a Wednesday night), and it's exactly what you'd expect a city centre Holiday Inn to be like.

Functional and clean, but a bit soulless bar, restaurant and lounge areas, but you don't go there to eat/drink and there's plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Both check-ins were busy with only one member of staff at reception, rooms are a good size and have everything you need for a brief stay.

Breakfast was just OK.

No parking that I could find, but a large public car-park 100 yards away which costs £10 for 24 hours.

This hotel suits me fine, strange how the price fluctuates, at £55 it's good value, at £95 it's not,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordonrgs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishaw
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night when attending a concert nearby. Really chose it for closeness to venue. Lovely girl on check-in who was very efficient and friendly. Issued us with parking discount ticket and directed us to car park. Room was fine, maybe a little on the small side for more than 1 night but suited us perfectly. Nice big shower and very clean bathroom with nice big towels. Room was very clean overall. Bed was comfy and two nice firm pillows provided.
Breakfast was free/included in the price and was very filling. Lots to choose from including hot food. Coffee was lovely.
All staff were very pleasant and friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JiggyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 95 in Glasgow
3,298 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,248 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 95 in Glasgow
969 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing