We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't come much better for somewhere to lay your head after a night out on the town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #29 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Doesn't come much better for somewhere to lay your head after a night out on the town!”
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here several times, really is exactly what you need if you are staying in Glasgow for a night in the town.
Always delivers what you expect for a great price.
Staff are pleasant, helpful & do a good job in the challenging circumstances that arise from herding drunken revellers out of the bar at bedtime!
Always the first place I'd check for availability when heading to Glasgow for a night out.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairMindofPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    484
    176
    54
    19
See reviews for
236
418
69
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Lovely hotel down near the river clyde, location is great on bus route and train stations nearby, st enoch shopping centre just round corner. Hotel itself is very clean and smartly presented, staff are courteous and helpful. Room was nice, quite spacious and clean, and bed was comfy. All in all another great holiday inn hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cashy1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

A group of us stayed here on a Saturday night. The location is on the edge of the city centre but quite close to Glasgow's 'Merchant City'. Ideal for a drink or a night out.

The accommodation was very clean, basic and generally well maintained too.

The tv's look like they date back to the 80's (think old 14" portable here) as does the decor but as I said very clean. Showers only in the rooms, so no soaking in a bath.

Free WiFi in the lounge but not in the rooms.

Breakfast is free, but very busy so we didn't bother in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband, myself and our friend had the pleasure of staying at this hotel on 6.10.12.
It was absolutely perfect. Although the room was a bit small, it was perfectly adequate for the three of us with a large sofa bed for our friend.
The room itself was faultless. Not a complaint.
The staff could not be more helpful. They were without exception, friendly, helpful and courteous.
We must have been lucky because we had a heavily discounted 1 night stay which included breakfast, not just cold, but also hot food on offer.

We shall certainly be going back to this hotel whenever we are back in Glasgow.
Many thanks Holiday Inn Express, Riverside

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, which was very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel is in a good location and the rooms are clean, what more do you need really? Apart from staff that can understand you?
The sign in the bathroom reads......"forgotten something?, toothbrush, razor, etc. call reception"
So I called reception and asked for a razor, the lady was eastern European and had no idea what I was asking for, after trying to explain to her for ages, that I wanted to shave my legs, she said "no sorry we don't have them" I knew she was just brushing me off because she didn't understand so I called back.... The same lady answered.... I said the sign in the bathroom says you have razors could you check please. Then another lady came to the phone and I asked for a razor AGAIN, to which she replied "yes, no problem we have them at reception" How hard was that???? honestly!
So after shaving my legs and was quite happy, until the next day when I asked for a pair of scissors from reception and the same lady handed me a pen!...... a pen!!!!
I could do nothing but walk away and shake my head.
Very disappointed, as I travel allot on business and will not be staying here again or recommending it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie28m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We paid around 60 pounds per night to stay here for 3 nights for a professional conference. The staff could not do enough to help us - the rooms are very clean,obviously not 5 star luxury but this is a fraction of the cost. I could barely believe breakfast was in this price - and it was pretty decent with plenty of continental stuff and some hot items like sausages, scrambled eggs and beans. No distance from the heart of town and on the Clyde. Even better - in my view one of the best pubs in Glasgow the Scotia bar is almost next door! Well done team - brilliant. PS- don't eat at the italian restaurant next door - the manageress is absolutely crazy - thought we were not going to get out alive when my colleague's fish was complained about for being past it's best - " I am deeply offended - and my husband is the chef" she said! No refund! Previous stories of him leaving kitchen with knife yelling by other customers - I would believe it from reaction we got!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocHolliday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel feels like a hostel and I'll never stay here again. At the front doors you're welcome by groups of people, mainly Asian, smoking. Once you check in the room is cold, you feel a breeze coming through the window and the air con doesn't work so you have no heating. The TV is from the 80s with a rubbish picture and sound. There was a power cut for 3 hours on the evening I stayed. Bad food at breakfast. Just a cheap hotel that isn't worth what it charges. Go to the one in theatreland instead.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bristolsmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear bristolsmeg,

Thank you for you review. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry about the inconvenience you experienced due to power interruption and for the quality of breakfast served during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for any negative impression you may have at our hotel. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 95 in Glasgow
3,364 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,271 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#22 of 95 in Glasgow
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing