We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good standards but not dead central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #27 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This is a tiday hotel on the direct outskirts of the main city centra about a 15 minute walk to central station. Parking is close by b ut its easy to miss. On arrival the the reception team checked me into this modern fresh hotel quickly. My room was at the back of the hotel and proved to be very quiet. The room is typical of what you find in this brand and spotless and clean if not a little on the small side. Breakfast was you would expect from Holiday Inn Express. As for location its about a fiftenn minute walk into the heart of the city through well lit and mostly pedestrian areas.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel they are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erichowell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

The hotel is perfectly located in Glasgow City centre, a stone's throw from Argyle Street. Usual Holiday Inn express style, although last time i stayed at the HI Express Theathreland in Glasgow too and it looked more modern and offers free WIFI in rooms (unlike this one which offers free wifi only in Lobby). TVs still CRT. Breakfast sometimes lacks items (e.g. no cheese was avail on Sunday and Monday). The range of fruit is also very limited.
Other than this, I've no complaints about the hotel and I certainly recommend to anyone staying in Glasgow given its proximity to Central Station and the shopping district.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CesareCamestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

2nd stay at this hotel and cant find anyhing bad to say
All 5 STAR breakfast was fresh and hot clean rooms and great staff,
location is very good few steps to town centre and 10 min to SECC..................... ........................
...........................................

Room Tip: High Up rooms better as traffic outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apjnnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel whist on a trip to Glasgow for the weekend & i cant fault it in any way.

The Location of the hotel was set along a main road next the River Clyde so perfect for a morning stroll on the river & it was also very close to the City Centre just ten-15 mins walk.

Price wise we had a twin room for two nights @ £71 each = £35 per night which i think is pretty good especially as the rooms we spacious & comfortable & the breakfast in the morning had plenty to offer.

Overall i'd say this hotel is a top hotel for the budget traveler & I'd highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannyc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Unfortunately we stayed here directly after staying at the Holiday In Express in Edinburgh, which was significantly better ... Both hotels look the same at first glance, the room in Glasgow was fine really, but there were little things that made it look cheap & nasty such as the grout on the floor tiles in the bathroom had all worn away by the shower, and the toilet flushing handle was broken with the clear plastic bit sticking out - all still functional, but just didn't look good. Room was a good size though (standard double) and not too noisy (we were on the main street side). The reception staff were very helpful & friendly. The only other gripe I have is the cutlery at breakfast was not clean, had grubby bits of old food on as if they needed to go through the dishwasher again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrypiejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

Dear Cherrypiejay,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased that you have mentioned our friendly staff. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service and are happy doing so. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the bathroom conditions may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

£50ish for bed and breakfast for 2, cant complain at that. We also paid extra for overnight parking.

You are only 5 mins from the Merchant City, there is a decent Italian restaurant next door, a late night chippie not far away on Argyle St and if thats not enough there's also a microwave on the ground floor. Wasnt expecting much from breakfast as it was free but there was a decent hot and cold selection.

The place was clean, in a faily good state of repair and the staff were helpful. Was a bit noisy on the main road at chucking out time but that's to be expected for a city centre location. I've paid a lot more elsewhere and received a lot less. Will stay again if I'm doing an overnighter in Glasgow

Room Tip: rooms at the back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave_fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I've stayed here twice now and for the price, this budget hotel is hard to beat. It's 5 minutes walk from the Merchant City area of the city and is easy to find.
Rooms are clean, well maintained and the staff helpful. The breakfast is adequate, if a little monotonous and has quite a small area so it's worth getting up a little early to beat the rush.
The main road that the hotel entrance faces can be noisy with buses waiting at traffic lights so it's worth asking for a room facing the back or overlooking the river. Parking is a little inconvenient - £8 a day at a public NCP car park across the road. The minor niggles forced me to drop one star but they should not discourage you from staying here - well worth the money you pay.

Room Tip: Avoid the entrance side of the hotel that faces the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,629 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#43 of 93 in Glasgow
1,628 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £50 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing