We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We had a wedding and needed a hotel to house our guests. The General manager was helpful creating a wedding allocation for several rooms for that weekend, along with a discount on the standard flexible rate. Rooms weren't large, but adequate. Best were very comfortable. Hot breakfast was basic and okay. Service was very good. Overall happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    478
    174
    54
    19
See reviews for
232
415
68
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel on 5/12/2012 just for one night,but everything was so good,that we were disappointed that we couldn't stay longer.The staff was realy helpful,very nice people.The room was warm and very very clean.With such a comfortable bed we slept like babies.We are looking forward to book a room again.The location of the hotel is very good,close to centre and 40 minutes walk from Celtic stadium,where we went and watched a match.It was a realy nice trip for us!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliyanamitsovska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. I was also pleased you found our staff to be so friendly and helpful. Providing fantastic customer service is what we pride ourselves on, so I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team.

I am thrilled you have chosen to return to Holiday Inn Express Riverside on your next visit to Glasgow, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2012

when staying away the breakfast is as important as the cleanliness of the room ,I & my wife stayed in this hotel from Friday .> Sunday with a local tour coach trip from N Ireland,the breakfast in my mind ,is Full English or Full Scottish it was far from it,The choice was Sausages,runny scrambled eggs,Baked beans,No bacon ,no fried egg ,no mushrooms,no fried bread,I personally HATE sausages ,& when I asked one of staff if there was any bacon She replied noop,there were plenty of everything of Continental Breakfast ,but not to my taste ,.The hotel was good the same for the rest of staff..very disappointed in the Breakfast...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyman38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. I am disappointed to see that the hotel did not meet your expectations on this occasion. As a Holiday Inn Express we provide all our customers with a Free hot buffet breakfast, which consists of a full continental option with the addition of sausages, scrambled eggs and beans. As a limited service hotel we are unable to offer a full cooked breakfast. I apologise if you believed otherwise and I have already contacted the agent regarding this so that future guests are fully aware of the breakfast options. I was please to read that you found the staff and the hotel on the whole good value and I hope that this experience does not prohibit your from returning to the hotel in the future.

Best Regards

Charlene Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Checked in for an overnight on Saturday. Staff were extremely helpful at check in. However the room had a leaking fawcet which soaked both my wife and I's toiletries bags. Rooms were comfortable enough. Breakfast in the morning has to have been the worst I have ever experienced in a hotel. From watery orange juice, what tasted like powdered scrambled, runny scrambled eggs, flavourless sausages and cheap beans through to the cheapest toliet paper which disintegrated if you blew your nose in it, I have to say that cutting corners will cut you customers Holiday Inn. At least back up your hard working staff by giving them half decent produce to work with.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrymeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy breakfast. We provide a full continental breakfast, along with a selection of hot items, and all of this is complimentary. We work hard to ensure all our guests enjoy the food, and that they have a wide variety to choose from, but I am sorry if on this occasion it fell below your expectations. I apologise for the problem you had regarding the tap in your room. It is unfortunate that sometimes things like this can occur in any hotel, but we have a dedicated maintenance team on hand to promptly address any issues.

I am extremely pleased you had the chance to experience the great guest service we provide here, and that you found all the staff to be hard working, helpful and friendly. This great feedback is appreciated, and will be passed on to the rest of the team here.

Best Regards

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This is a tiday hotel on the direct outskirts of the main city centra about a 15 minute walk to central station. Parking is close by b ut its easy to miss. On arrival the the reception team checked me into this modern fresh hotel quickly. My room was at the back of the hotel and proved to be very quiet. The room is typical of what you find in this brand and spotless and clean if not a little on the small side. Breakfast was you would expect from Holiday Inn Express. As for location its about a fiftenn minute walk into the heart of the city through well lit and mostly pedestrian areas.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel they are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erichowell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The hotel is perfectly located in Glasgow City centre, a stone's throw from Argyle Street. Usual Holiday Inn express style, although last time i stayed at the HI Express Theathreland in Glasgow too and it looked more modern and offers free WIFI in rooms (unlike this one which offers free wifi only in Lobby). TVs still CRT. Breakfast sometimes lacks items (e.g. no cheese was avail on Sunday and Monday). The range of fruit is also very limited.
Other than this, I've no complaints about the hotel and I certainly recommend to anyone staying in Glasgow given its proximity to Central Station and the shopping district.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CesareCamestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

2nd stay at this hotel and cant find anyhing bad to say
All 5 STAR breakfast was fresh and hot clean rooms and great staff,
location is very good few steps to town centre and 10 min to SECC..................... ........................
...........................................

Room Tip: High Up rooms better as traffic outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apjnnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 95 in Glasgow
3,287 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 95 in Glasgow
965 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing