We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a fairly decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #29 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a fairly decent location”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated on the water front and was a 10 minute walk from Queen Street station.

The area one block back from the hotel towards the city centre was a little shabby but the view of the river makes up for the tired buildings behind the hotel.

The welcome was friendly and efficient at reception, my room was well appointed on the first floor. Someone had messed about with the tv and I couldn't get the subtitles off but it wasn't end of the world!

The bathroom was clean with a large shower (Shame there was no bath but hey ho!) and as I Forgot my toiletries it was a bonus to have shower gel and hands soap dispensers on the wall.

The breakfast in the morning was good. Pastries, cereals, fruits and a small cooked breakfast selection (scrambled eggs, sausages, mushroom and tomatoes).

I'd definitely stay here as it is very close to the city centre and key transport links.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Batterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside and our free hot buffet breakfast was enjoyed. Please accept our apologies regarding your tv, we would have been happy to assist in removing the subtitles.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Donna O'Hanlon
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    484
    177
    54
    19
See reviews for
237
418
69
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 evenings with my husband and 3yr old, all staff in this hotel, reception, waiting and cleaning are all friendly and pleasant. Breakfast in this hotel is free with your nights accommodation, the breakfast has continental and hot options, was constantly replenished so nothing ran out. Rooms were spacious and shower room serviced its purpose was rather compact but more than adequate good use of the space. Location was excellent right beside the st Enoch centre - would definitely stay again. Staff at this hotel are worth their weight in gold - special mention to Agnes :-) very friendly

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skye0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night out in Glasgow and once again couldn't fault it. Spotlessly clean in public area a and the bedrooms were immaculate the staff were great and couldn't do enough for us, even down to taking numerous pictures for us. Will definitely be back xxx

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ruffles2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. All our staff here take great pride in their customer service and It pleases me to read that you found our staff to be of a very high standard.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

James Gourlay,
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed at the Riverside Express by Holiday Inn Glasgow and were very satisfied with the quality of service including cleanliness and breakfast selection. Reception staff proved to be very courteous, efficient and always willing to assist.

Room Tip: Room 242 at the end of 2nd floor corridor overlooking the rived was larger than normal Express by Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selkiesave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel! On a 2 night trip to the hotel with my girlfriend to see a concert the hotel is fabulous!! Staff are fantastic especially Dave and Iain in reception who would cater to our every needs very helpful breakfast was lovely great choice and range to choose from will defiantly be back again!! Roll on next time

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelleReid88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside.

We are extremely happy that our team made your stay pleasant and we shall pass on your fantastic comments to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Donna O'Hanlon
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

On a two night trip to Glasgow to visit the SECC, I thought we had booked at another Holiday Inn nearby, but due to my mistake, we booked the Holiday Inn Express in Stockwell Street. Firstly, on turning up at the wrong Holiday Inn, the staff there could not have been more helpful in advising us how to get to our final abode. On arrival, our room was excellent value, spotlessly clean and fully equipped for two persons (but please, please, change your disinfectant, or whatever you use to spray the room, it is too powerful!). On our first evening, we decided to go for a walk around the city centre and the staff (Grace) immediately found an umbrella for us, in case we were caught in a rain shower (above and beyond the call of a ‘budget hotel’). The same lady was on duty at breakfast and had a friendly word for everyone. On returning for our second evening, we hit a snag when the heating failed and simply blew out cold air. Once again, a call at reception resulted in immediate assistance, both resetting the heating and delivering a portable heater, just in case. Thanks to Agnes this time, the slight problem was solved within 15 minutes.
All in all an excellent stay, great staff, great breakfast, great value for money, and perfectly acceptable parking facilities within a city centre environment, so, a ‘Mistake Worth Making’ in the end.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my mum on 4th November for 2 nights. We are Gold Elite Priority Club members, so we are used to the ICHG brands, but this particular hotel exceeded our expectations.

Spotlessly clean throughout, adequate rooms (we were out all day, so it didn't matter that the twin room we shared wasn't massive) and first class staff meant we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

You can park at the car park across the road, or the Q Park at the back of the St Enoch Centre - you get discount for both. Breakfast consists of sausages, scrambled egg, beans, toast/bread, croissants, pastries, fruit, cheese, yoghurt, cereals, tea (including fruit & herbal teas), coffee & hot chocolate. There is plenty of a selection for everyone, and it was perfect for us.

There is also an ice machine and plastic pint glasses available for guests, as well as a microwave, plates, bowls, cutlery and sauces should you wish to have your own food in the hotel, which is a nice touch.

It's the first time we have stayed here and we will most definitely return. Thank you for an enjoyable stay :)

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside.

We are delighted that our hotel exceeded your expectations and that our free buffet breakfast was enjoyed each morning.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Donna O'Hanlon
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 95 in Glasgow
3,374 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,271 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 95 in Glasgow
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing