We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #29 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stay in a lot of holiday inn express hotels across the UK but of the older style (combined shower / toilet / bathroom with one door) this is the best by a long way.

Staff - very thoughtful by explaining the various parking options, asked how long id stay the next day to ensure I had the best value parking, so although the hotel doesnt have its own car park it has access / deals with a pay & display NCP in King Street right across the road for £4.95 till 10am next day or with Q-Park St Enoch for £6.50 for 24 hrs, so if your staying the longer than 10am stay in the Q-Park which is just around the corner and is a multi storey. But I stayed on a Saturday and the receptionist advised me to have a look for a space on the street as its free after 6pm every night but doesnt charge for parking at all on a sunday, so she saved me £4.95 minimum as there were plenty of free spaces around the outside of the King Street car park.

Room - Most expresses (esp the new style) seem to have very soft and lumpy mattresses, this hotel had much firmer and comfortable mattresses, very happy with the room and also how clean it was, large flatscreen tv decent range of channels

Location - right next to the main shopping area of Argyle Street with easy access from M8 / M77 / M74 motorways

Considering I only paid £33 which included breakfast I was very happy with the value and would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed here for Christmas and Boxing day. Quiet and far enough away from the busy area but it's not even 5 minutes until you get to any amount of shopping and dining, not to mention both train stations. Staff couldn't do enough for me.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here as we were going to a gig at Barrowlands; the hotel is in a perfect location, ideal for shopping and nightlife and not to mention gigs at Barrowlands. On arrival, we were met with a very pleasant receptionist, I can't remember her name but I think she was Polish - thoughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble and she was always smiling and vey helpful.

Our room was vey clean, couldn't fault anything here at all.

The only downside was breakfast, I didn't find it too bad, but my husband is a vegetarian and thought they could have provided veggie sausages as well as meat ones.

All in all, our 2 day stay was good and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morriseystalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday and Sunday as we were attending a concert at the Hydro and cannot recommend this hotel enough. Lovely clean rooms nice and quiet the staff were so friendly and could not do enough to help. Special thanks to the wee man behind the bar who gave us the lovely coffee when we came back from the concert very cold from standing over an hour at the Hydro waiting on a taxi to get back to the hotel. (your a wee star) Breakfast was first class plenty of variety , will definitely return to this hotel when in Glasgow as it is also so central for shopping etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed here to attend concert and do some shopping. Hotel in easy walking distance to shops and Central station. Had a corner room looking on to river, nice and spacious, clean and comfy and quiet. Good self service breakfast and noticed microwave and ice machine near lift although we didn't use could be handy. Staff very friendly and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xx-Jenna25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Catriona D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here from 22/11/13 to 25th and always enjoy returning to this Hotel.
Everything u need is close to here, shopping nightlife and even Tesco,s.
there is a microwave and an ice machine which I find very handy.
Staff very friendly and breakfast great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 709holiday2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#24 of 93 in Glasgow
1,034 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £64 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing