We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Was on a shopping trip with a friend and only stayed one night. The reception staff were friendly and the room was clean, with sufficient towels for 2 people. The bed was medium/firm firmness and there was both soft and firm pillows available. Our room was to the back of the hotel so was quiet during the night. In the morning you get free buffet style breakfast which was excellent, and again the staff were friendly. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    466
    169
    53
    19
See reviews for
226
406
65
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

As with all Holiday inn express hotels, don't expect much more than a clean room and efficient rather than luxury service. I have stayed here several times and never had cause for complaint. Having said that breakfast certainly isn't exciting but it is included in the price.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here Friday 24th & 25th January , as previous comments say check in was very quick , rooms spotless and only a 3-4 minute walk to shops , bars etc , breakfast was buffet style with a large selection of fruit / breads / cheeses and cereals only downside was the poor selection of cooked items ..overall well worth the money ..

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here while we were visiting Glasgow for a few days. The hotel itself was exactly what we needed. Nothing fancy, just a quiet, comfortable place to stay for a few days. The bed was not very comfortable, but we may have just gotten a bad mattress, judging by the reviews of others (we were room 319), however, the blankets were warm and the pillows were comfy. The towels were ginormous and soft, and they were replaced every day for us. Breakfast was great as well: scrambled eggs, sausage links, and baked beans, as well as croissants, toast, and pastries, cereals and yogurt. The staff was very friendly as well, and the cleaning staff at breakfast were on the ball. The location of the hotel was great: far enough away from all the hustle and bustle, but close enough to get to the shops and restaurants in 5-10 minutes walk. There were also a few restaurants and pubs close by. The Italian restaurant next door gives a discount to hotel patrons, and there is a big Tesco within a five minute walk. All-in-all, I'd say it was a great place to stay if you're not looking for something over the top.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roweyourboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Firstly hats off to Ian on night shift, stocky bloke, shaven head, I have a load of time for him, just take the time to talk to him. I am being so specific as these people don't come along often in someone's life, he is a gem. I have now stayed in this hotel 5 nights over the last 3 weeks, he truly committed to customer service. I also take my hat off to the gent whom checked me in on my first and second visit, forgot his name but will comment at a later stage. I go to Glasgow 2/3 times a month for 2/3 days on business, depending what needs doing. There is nothing negative to say about the hotel, but excellent service.....note that General Manager and IHG. Tip to customers.......adjacent to the left as you walk out of the hotel you can buy overnight parking from 6pm to 10am for 4.95 pounds from the hotel, any earlier or staying later will cost you 10.00 pounds call ahead to understand, all these can be bought from the hotel. I will also add if you want you can stop in front of the hotel, put your hazards on and get your parking ticket, otherwise park in that open car park, there is no attendant so you have time to get your parking voucher and get back, that is common I am told and have experienced. My car has not been messed with, just in case you have the same concerns, you can go around the block and pay NCP........you decide once you see the price. Pubs and restaurants are all in walking distance less than 1 minute and depending what you like up to a maximum of 15 mins. I mean like right next door. Also a Sainsbury local and great fish and chips/come GOOD fast food house is 5 mins away. I will be back in 2 weeks for 3 nights and highly recommend this hotel. Check my profile, I take reviewing seriously. Happy travels.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Globaltraveller9009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mealsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here with my partner TWICE towards the end of last year, each for one night, as we were seeing bands at both Barrowlands and The Hydro. This hotel is PERFECT for this purpose because its within walking distance from these venues.
The hotel itself was clean and tidy, and the bed was VERY comfortable! Great in room facilities!
The staff working in the hotel were very kind, friendly and chatty and made the experience very personal considering its a 'budget' hotel!
Breakfast was amazing also! Buffet style, and frequently replenished, and the staff working in the room were also lovely.
I'll definately be staying again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here on our way to the Hebrides for a cycling holiday. Recently, the hotel has been in the news as it provided refreshment and hospitality for those trying to rescue survivors from the tragic helicopter crash into the bar immediately opposite the entrance to the hotel. We got a good rate (HI guarantee that booking through their website will always get the best rate available, and sometimes you can get a really good deal). Room was comfortable and well furnished, also in good decorative state. Front desk very helpful in finding a suitable place to eat. Unlike Travelodge or Premier Lodge, breakfast is included: scrambled egg a bit tired, but you can't really complain at £63 for a double room including breakfast in the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxationseeker_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,140 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#22 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing