We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights on holiday. The hotel is conveniently located to many main attractions - 0.5 mile walk to Princes Square and George square or a £4 taxi ride to these areas. The staff at the hotel was very helpful and accommodating when need be. The rooms were as they appeared online. Standard European rooms; however, I did find the rooms larger than other European hotel rooms I've stayed in. If you are an American traveler, the rooms are significantly smaller than hotel rooms in the States but this is standard throughout Europe. There is a great Italian restaurant next door to the hotel that we ate at numerous times - good food and friendly service.

Room Tip: Our room faced Stockwell street, which was noisy at times with bus traffic. Request a room that does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Wanderlust678,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Riverside.

We are pleased that you found the hotel to be conveniently located for all your needs within the city centre. I have also passed on your kind comments about the staff to the rest of the team.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    478
    175
    54
    19
See reviews for
232
415
68
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at the holiday inn express Stockwell street with my partner and another couple on a weekend away. I would normally choose a more expensive hotel as when away for a break but this hotel was every bit as enjoyable as a much more expensive hotel and better than some more expensive hotels I have used previously in glasgow

The staff at this hotel are excellent so friendly and cannot do enough to help you they really made our stay a joy.

The rooms are quite basic but ample for a weekend and good value for money, they were clean and the housekeeping did an excellent job with our room cannot fault them.

The breakfast which is free to guests was very nice, there wasn't a big choice of food particularly cooked breakfast offering only a few items but all were pleasant and well cooked. Staff were very good at keeping the food well stocked up and there was always plenty of food. I particularly liked the muffins, croissants and coffee/tea on the bar that guests could take for breakfast on the or just have a coffee in reception whilst waiting for friends to joins us for breakfast this is a fabulous idea I wish more hotels would do,this it gave a feeling or informal and friendly.

The hotel does not do meals other than breakfast but does provide. Microwave that guests can use they also provide cutlery and plates beside the microwave very handy if you just wanted to eat on the go or heat something up.

All in all a very pleasant stay fabulous value for money, very central and ideal for a weekend stay with friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear CaroleAberdeen,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write your fantastic review of our hotel.

We are pleased that you all had an enjoyable stay with us and I have passed on your wonderful comments to all of the staff from the front desk, housekeeping and breakfast team. We were also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and in particular the Grab n Go area at the bar. This is something we have introduced recently so it is great to hear some positive feedback.

Again thank you for writing your review and we hope to be your first choice hotel when booking again in Glasgow.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Convenient clean hotel for a bed & breakfast stop. Comfortable clean room, lovely bathroom with lkarge shower and very pleasant staff Would recommend for an overnight stay. The window at the end of the corridor which gave a wonderful view of the Clyde was amazing

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JENNYScunthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a fantastic 5 star review of the hotel. I was delighted to read your comments about the hotel and the staff.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Best Regards

Charlene Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Recently stayed at the hotel with my 5 year old son for one week every member of staff fantastic very friendly as well as professional it was a pleasure and my son didn't want to leave. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdljd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your positive 5 star review of the hotel. I was delighted with your comments about the hotel and the staff and I will be sure to share your comments with the team.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel and the city in the near future

Best Regards

Charlene Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
228 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Located near the city center and close to a mall, I found it good enough. Friendly and professional staff, nice room and comfortable bed. As someone already wrote, there's no private parking, but a public one is available few meters far from the hotel. Nothing bad or negative during my brief stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear gigivi80,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay and found the hotel location to be close to all of your requirements within the city centre.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our first time in Glasgow and first time at a holiday inn.. It was an amazing experience. Very friendly and helpful staff, room was clean and perfect.. Good Breakfast timings and great choices and variety. Will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabiihah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Nabiihah,

Thank you for writing your excellent review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that your first time visiting Glasgow was an amazing experience and are pleased that you will be recommending us.

We hope to be your first choice hotel if booking again in Glasgow.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This was a wee shopping & meal Easter present for my daughter. We arrived to find out that we had a double bed when I booked a twin.
The staff did what ever they could to help sadly we didn't get a twin room as the hotel was full booked. The staff gave us double duvets and free breakfast and wifi.

Very friendly girls.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank scottishlasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Scottishlasie,

Thank you for writing your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Riverside.

Please accept our apologies for not being able to fulfill your requested room type due to the hotel being fully booked and we hope this did not spoil your stay with us or your daughters Easter present.

Again thank you for your review and we hope this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 95 in Glasgow
3,298 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,248 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 95 in Glasgow
969 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing