We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #27 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Relatively new hotel so everything is fresh and up to date. Rooms are functional and quiet, not a long walk to either good shops restaurants and bars. Great to get a breakfast with the room. I would happily stay again

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoggan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Hoggan67,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Riverside.

We were delighted to hear that you found the hotel to be great value of money and met all of your requirements within the city centre.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

I arrived with family after my graduation ceremony that day. After a long day, the check in was easy, room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is served between 6.30-9.30am and through out there were constant refills of hot food and drinks. Breakfast was amazing as it was included in the price, with a range of hot foods such as sausages, eggs, and muffins, cereals and croissants. Spent the evening in the lobby area for drinks, bar was reasonably priced and had a lot to choose from. Staff was very friendly and interested to hear about our stay and any suggestions for improvements, which there were none! Centrally located and next to the River Clyde.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Lauren,

Thank you for taking the time to write your five star review regarding your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Riverside.

Firstly congratulations on your graduation and I hope it all went well.

We were delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and found the breakfast to be amazing as this is an area we are continuing to improve upon. I have passed on your kind comments to the rest of the team.

We all hope to welcome you and your family back to Glasgow again in the future.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived early, staff allowed us to drop luggage in secure area and we set off to explore. On our return, check in was easy and the room although not what we expected was comfortable. we had booked a twin room and got a double, with a double sofa bed the later being so comfortable.
Staff very pleasant and helpful, Breakfast very good selection cooked, cereals, fruit etc. Our room overlooked the road and we had no problems with noise, will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was 435 overlooking the Road, front of Hotel and Apartments across Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear LAC1959,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the hotel. I was pleased to read your great comments about the hotel and that the hotel offered everything that you needed during your stay. I am sorry that you did not receive the room type that you had requested, however was happy to hear that you found the sofa bed in the room comfortable.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Best Regards

Charlene Kennedy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This Holiday Inn Express hotel is a gem. Its location is central to everything, 2 mins walk to High Street, Glasgow Central Train Station, Clyde Riverside, St. Enoch Subway Station and George Square. Its absolutely fantastic.
A very helpful and well mannered staff makes the stay perfect. I reached Glasgow at 9 in the morning thanks to British Airways weirdly timed flight and I was bit tensed to spend 5 hours in hotel lobbey since I was with my six month old baby but staff at reception allowed me early check in 5 hours before usual timings. That was great and I appreciated it very much.
The wifi was free and very fast. The breakfast was again fabulous and variety was good. Again they provided special table so that the baby pram was easily managed.
Its good for Business as well as leisure visit with its location and all such facilities. Would stay here everytime I go to Glasgow.

Room Tip: If you can get room looking at the riverfront, its a wonderful view but I was with my baby and chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siddhesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Siddhesh K,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a fantastic 5 star review of the hotel. I was delighted to read your comments about the hotel,staff and excellent location.

We are also delighted that you will be choosing to stay with us again when returning to Glasgow and look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We needed a place for both ends of our trip to Scotland that was not too far from the airport and with a good location to the city center. This met both requirements, plus had the added features of being extremely clean, a delightful and helpful front desk and a very generous breakfast. Our room faced the river and the lovely lighted arch over the water. Would definitely stay there again if wen go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Kare H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on your recent stay with us.

We are pleased the hotel met both your requirements for location and I have passed on your positive comments to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights on holiday. The hotel is conveniently located to many main attractions - 0.5 mile walk to Princes Square and George square or a £4 taxi ride to these areas. The staff at the hotel was very helpful and accommodating when need be. The rooms were as they appeared online. Standard European rooms; however, I did find the rooms larger than other European hotel rooms I've stayed in. If you are an American traveler, the rooms are significantly smaller than hotel rooms in the States but this is standard throughout Europe. There is a great Italian restaurant next door to the hotel that we ate at numerous times - good food and friendly service.

Room Tip: Our room faced Stockwell street, which was noisy at times with bus traffic. Request a room that does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Wanderlust678,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Riverside.

We are pleased that you found the hotel to be conveniently located for all your needs within the city centre. I have also passed on your kind comments about the staff to the rest of the team.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at the holiday inn express Stockwell street with my partner and another couple on a weekend away. I would normally choose a more expensive hotel as when away for a break but this hotel was every bit as enjoyable as a much more expensive hotel and better than some more expensive hotels I have used previously in glasgow

The staff at this hotel are excellent so friendly and cannot do enough to help you they really made our stay a joy.

The rooms are quite basic but ample for a weekend and good value for money, they were clean and the housekeeping did an excellent job with our room cannot fault them.

The breakfast which is free to guests was very nice, there wasn't a big choice of food particularly cooked breakfast offering only a few items but all were pleasant and well cooked. Staff were very good at keeping the food well stocked up and there was always plenty of food. I particularly liked the muffins, croissants and coffee/tea on the bar that guests could take for breakfast on the or just have a coffee in reception whilst waiting for friends to joins us for breakfast this is a fabulous idea I wish more hotels would do,this it gave a feeling or informal and friendly.

The hotel does not do meals other than breakfast but does provide. Microwave that guests can use they also provide cutlery and plates beside the microwave very handy if you just wanted to eat on the go or heat something up.

All in all a very pleasant stay fabulous value for money, very central and ideal for a weekend stay with friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear CaroleAberdeen,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write your fantastic review of our hotel.

We are pleased that you all had an enjoyable stay with us and I have passed on your wonderful comments to all of the staff from the front desk, housekeeping and breakfast team. We were also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and in particular the Grab n Go area at the bar. This is something we have introduced recently so it is great to hear some positive feedback.

Again thank you for writing your review and we hope to be your first choice hotel when booking again in Glasgow.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,754 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#41 of 93 in Glasgow
1,654 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £45 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing