We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takes the Gold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #28 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Takes the Gold”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Excellent 3 night stay here recently with the family. The staff were excellent, really helpful, friendly and around when you needed them.

Great location and a surprise to me as I have previously stayed in the West End.

Would happily return here and thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Tim,

Thank you for taking the time to write your great review regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Riverside.

I was delighted to read that you and your family had an excellent stay at our hotel and thoroughly recommend us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Best Regards

Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    492
    177
    55
    20
See reviews for
243
421
69
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed during the Games. We were a three generation group and the staff were friendly and attentive to our differing needs. Great central location. Close to local service buses and train and subway systems for getting around. Close to town centre shops and the eateries of the merchant city and fast food options too. Beautiful walks along the Clyde and to Glasgow Green.
Good choice at breakfast of cold and cooked. Take away food available before breakfast time which was a real bonus to the Clydesider who was part of our group and who had some very very early Games starts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingussie1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Kingussie1314,

Thank you for writing your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Riverside.

I am pleased to hear that our city centre location met all of your requirements during the Commonwealth Games. It was also great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast each morning and took advantage of our Grab 'n' Go area which is a new addition for our guests who just want to grab a quick coffee and croissant to take away with them.

Again I would like to thank you for your review and we hope to be your first choice hotel if ever booking again in Glasgow.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wormit, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have stayed here once or twice before, a few years ago, but it's even better than I remembered.
The location is good, just south of the city centre, easy walking distance to shops, bars and loads of good restaurants. We were on 2 nd floor, and there is a floor to ceiling window in the corridor with a view over the river. Unfortunately, our room overlooked a car park!
You need your room key to access the rooms. This gives a secure feeling- no one else can wander in off the street.
Rooms are spotlessly clean. Bed comfortable. Choice of pillows. Clean ensuite. Only liquid soap in dispensers supplied, but a sign says if you've forgotten anything: toothbrush, shaving gear, etc, the reception will provide. Good hairdrier in room, by mirror - best place, much better than bathroom. Tea, coffee and TV and free wifi in room.
Excellent buffet breakfast, with good quality yoghurts, fruit, juices, baked goods and a hot selection.
Staff friendly and helpful.
In the ast year, I have stayed at all the HI Express hotels in Glasgow, and I can't fault them. Excellent value for money.
To quote Arnold: I'll be back!
Downstairs there is a small "business"area where you can work. Ice machine, drinks machine and plastc cups.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor. (UK has ground, 1, 2)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear JacquiandJohn,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write your fantastic and detailed review.

It always delights ourselves when a returning guest has had another great stay. I have passed on your kind comments to the team and housekeeping department.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
809 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We paid £66 for one night in a modern, comfortable hotel. It was spotlessly clean and even provided breakfast for free (although not a full Scottish, it was more than adequate). You can walk to the hotel from Central Station in about 10 minutes and it takes the same amount of time to any of the major City centre sites. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Book early for the discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear RolandLD

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Riverside.

We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be of good value for money and met all of your requirements within the City Centre.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Relatively new hotel so everything is fresh and up to date. Rooms are functional and quiet, not a long walk to either good shops restaurants and bars. Great to get a breakfast with the room. I would happily stay again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoggan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Hoggan67,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Riverside.

We were delighted to hear that you found the hotel to be great value of money and met all of your requirements within the city centre.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I arrived with family after my graduation ceremony that day. After a long day, the check in was easy, room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is served between 6.30-9.30am and through out there were constant refills of hot food and drinks. Breakfast was amazing as it was included in the price, with a range of hot foods such as sausages, eggs, and muffins, cereals and croissants. Spent the evening in the lobby area for drinks, bar was reasonably priced and had a lot to choose from. Staff was very friendly and interested to hear about our stay and any suggestions for improvements, which there were none! Centrally located and next to the River Clyde.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Lauren,

Thank you for taking the time to write your five star review regarding your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Riverside.

Firstly congratulations on your graduation and I hope it all went well.

We were delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and found the breakfast to be amazing as this is an area we are continuing to improve upon. I have passed on your kind comments to the rest of the team.

We all hope to welcome you and your family back to Glasgow again in the future.

Best Regards

Stephen Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived early, staff allowed us to drop luggage in secure area and we set off to explore. On our return, check in was easy and the room although not what we expected was comfortable. we had booked a twin room and got a double, with a double sofa bed the later being so comfortable.
Staff very pleasant and helpful, Breakfast very good selection cooked, cereals, fruit etc. Our room overlooked the road and we had no problems with noise, will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was 435 overlooking the Road, front of Hotel and Apartments across Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear LAC1959,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the hotel. I was pleased to read your great comments about the hotel and that the hotel offered everything that you needed during your stay. I am sorry that you did not receive the room type that you had requested, however was happy to hear that you found the sofa bed in the room comfortable.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Best Regards

Charlene Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,418 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#24 of 93 in Glasgow
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing