We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Merchant City

Merchant City
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.55*
and up
Merchant City Music Walking Tour of Glasgow
Ranked #26 of 269 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Self-guided walking tour maps are available from George Square Tourist Office of Merchant City, now a vibrant historic cafe quarter and designer-shopping mecca. Highlights of this tour, which dates back to medieval times, include the grand neo-classical halls and Georgian townhouses built for Glasgow's rich tobacco barons and shipping merchants.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

From my point of view, nothing special. The place is central, the history is interesting, but there is nothing to see there...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank clo775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    232
    41
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic for an afternoon visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Really enjoy a vist to The Merchant City on a Saturday afternoon. Some great bars and restaurants with a huge selection of styles to suit everyone.
If ever in Glasgow make sure you give it a visit

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cjohncamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a buzz - food, drink from folk to classical and everything in between.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Lots of good restaurants and bars from local, through trendy to champagne bars. There is a buzz about the Merchant City wit something for everyone all throughout the year. Watch out for the Merchant City Festival and the Christmas Market.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fk8 3up
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great find!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

my husband and I went into Glasgow during the commonwealth games just to soak up the atmosphere and we came across the restaurant the scallops were to die for I got cod my husband had the venison both were delicious we have been back again since and we were again delighted with both the food and the service first class we will be back!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank inabert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Historic trendy area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

a surprise in central Glasgow - a historic area now full of trendy bars and restaurants. The only downside we found the central area a little noisy at night with customers in all restaurants.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lozmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merchant City also viewed

 

Been to Merchant City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing