We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Sheep Bistro

Black Sheep Bistro
Ranked #10 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Normal food, good portions and fair prices. Owned and staffed by a family.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service! ”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal out with my husband and soooo glad he chose this place! The food was amazing -especially the trio of desserts! The staff were very friendly and made you feel at home. I'd recommend this place to all but definitely reserve a table!

Helpful?
Thank jchu26a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    998
    155
    68
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner on 10th.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Good honest traditional Scottish fair well cooked and presented, Staff very helpful and friendly. Good value for money and a real taste of the proer Glasgow!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best meals I've ever had”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic vibe. Wonderful staff. Outstanding meal. And the desserts were off the scale fabulous. I'd give this an 11 out of 10, especially given the more than reasonable price. Call ahead though - it's small and popular.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worthy of Glowing Reviews”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Having had this bistro recommended to me and having read the reviews, we travelled across the Central Belt to see for ourselves. Online booking for Sunday lunch was straightforward. Quite simply this place is about taking quality produce and creating hearty, well presented meals. My lamb steak in a mango and mustard sauce was possibly the most succulent lamb dish I have ever had. Absolutely nothing pretentious about the place, how refreshing that there is not a jus, velouté or foam in sight! Well worthy of the good reviews, pleasant staff, good value food and you certainly won't leave hungry.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Not much else to be said!
Excellent staff (maybe even a little too friendly?!)
Excellent food (no really, seriously good)
Generous portions (and I'm a 6'6'' black hole!)
Great atmosphere and dining environment, although it was a bit too warm when we went, and it wasn't even summer time. Didn't notice much/any ventilation or air conditioning.
Ohh, did I forget to say the modest prices make it unreal value for money?!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dshortt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Sheep Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Black Sheep Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing