We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, with excellent staff.”
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #55 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Comfortable, with excellent staff.”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here for two night in late October, and found the hotel well located and easy to get to - a short drive from the motorway, with convenient access to both buses and train back into the city centre we were able to leave our car in the ample car park and enjoy our weekend.

At check in we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who dealt with our paperwork quickly and efficently, and directed us to our room. The double room we found to be compact but not overly small, with a suitable bathroom ensuite and comfortable furnishings.

Our sleep was refreshing, and the hotel was not nearly as noisy as some reviews had led us to expect - we were uninterrupted the entire stay in our second floor room to the rear of the hotel.

Breakfast in the mornings was plentiful, and constantly being replenished with fresh supplies, and the local traditional varieties were much enjoyed.

All our interactions with staff were pleasant and efficient, and all our queries and requirements rapidly met with a smile.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel - overlooking the hospital - are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedHillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    429
    223
    74
    59
See reviews for
211
356
92
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holywood
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My daughter lives in the west end of Glasgow so when we visit we stay at the Pond.It is an excellent hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Give it a go if you want somewhere handy to the west end.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prudhoe, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

No complaints. Stylish, comfortable, really friendly staff, and a bloody good TV reception for watching Countdown. I felt like a billionaire.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel with a colleague on business in October 2011.

The hotel looks boring from the outside but pleasantly surprised at the room (for the price) apart from the sticky dirty carpets. The carpets in the public areas were even worse very thread bare and stained, looks like people had been sick in the corridor!

It is very noisy from the road and also the coaches that leave their engines running in the car park.

There are a lot of foreign coach parties staying here and the breakfast room gets crowded. You may queue for your food and to get a table if you time it wrong just when a coach party is leaving.

All of this however was put in the shade by the arrogant assistant nightshift manager who charged my colleague for a £50 restaurant bill he obviously hadn't signed for.

The manager was aggressive and uncompromising, the signatures were obviously different and my colleague had receipts for all the meals he had over his 2 week stay which he had paid at the time and they were all for around £20.

This bill was totally spurious and although my colleague offered to pay for the room and not for this meal the assistant manager threatened to call the police. I stepped in and asked him to call the police then and he then asked me to move away as I was being aggressive! We asked to see his manager but he wasn't available until 10am which wasn't practical as we had flights booked.

Any decent hotel would have looked at this bill and seen that someone had obviously given the wrong room number and waived this charge.

We were due to stay at this hotel again the following week but we checked into the Holiday Inn Express in Theatre land instead which was much nicer and much better located. I have informed our company secretary never to book this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

My husband and I used to live in Glasgow's West End so The Pond Hotel is the closest we will get to what was home. Unfortunately we were very disappointed on our last stay. It was summer and it was hot. There's no aircon in the room. We had to open a window and it was very noisy from the rubbish being emptied late night and the bin collection early morning. This was a room to the back of the hotel facing Gartnavel Hospital which should have been quiet. We have also stayed in a room facing the front/Great Western Road on another occasion but you hear the traffic noise here. We decided to cut short our stay. The Duty Manager was sympathetic to our concerns. Apparently ours was not the first complaint. Until they sort out the ventilation system we will not be staying here again. Which is unfortunate as there are some really good deals to be had... or they would be if they deal with their problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anglesey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Visited Glasgow on family business and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was scrupulously clean, modern an offerred both comfortable accommodation and excellent quality brasserie dining. I normally stay at the Grosvenor/Hilton down the road but will, in future, be staying at The Pond! Half the price, with a fantastic breakfast, in the West End-only a short taxi ride from the city centre.
My only complaint was that having upgraded (£20) for 'fluffy' bathrobes, chocs and a nice bottle of wine I had to ask for them to be brought to the room. my wife got a bathrobe, mine never materialised despite several requests. However my stay was an enjoyable one and I am staying again in December. TAKE NOTE POND!! thanks to all the staff who were all very courteous, polite and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokkinokrassiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Hotel looks bland from the outside, but don't let that put you off as it's very cool and contemporary on the inside. Bar area relaxing, bedrooms are clean, spacious with a really comfy bed. Breakfast buffet is plentiful and served until 11am on weekends! Only downside was the inconsiderate neighbours, slamming doors at 6am! One call to reception though and the issue was dealt with. Staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you. Definitely recommended and I will return at some point in the future, especially due to it's close proximity to the nightlife of Glasgow's West End.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neepz96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Belhaven Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#56 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#73 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Property: Glasgow Pond Hotel
Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing