We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints - but not full of compliments either”
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #57 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Glasgow Pond for 4 nights with our two wee girls (4 and 1). Despite an initial mix-up with the rooms (in family room rather than triple room with cot), there were no complaints with the room. The room was big enough (just). Small bath in bathroom (room to sit but not to lie down and relax!) but I have found this in a few hotels. Stayed for a meal one night which was fine but not much choice (despite having 4 different menus to choose from!) and not very inspiring. Hotel was a bit further out of the West End than I thought (my fault for not checking properly). Overall - adequate but uninspiring.

Room Tip: Rooms away from main road are quieter but problems with bins outside and hospital noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Lovely hotel, close to where I grew up, lovely to be close to the Botanic Gardens and other landmarks, to bad the weather would not all a walk without a shower. Found a nice place for future trips home .Reception staff were great, plenty of parking .Bonus !

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, very nice to see the Glasgow Skyline .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennox57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I never thought I would be one of those people that would feel so annoyed to complain, but this hotel has driven me to it.

The gentleman at reception who greeted us as we arrived was a great ambassador for the hotel. Sadly, that was the final good point. We had a triple room, and it was like a sauna. Opened the window, so see some lovely pipework on the roof below. We had booked to eat dinner in the restaurant. I had the Pasta, which was frankly drowning in the water which had not been drowned. The taste was so bland. I raised this with the restaurant staff after I'd politely eaten the meal, and was met with a lack of interest. I proceeded to have the fudge cake with cream. In most places you get a good quantity of cream for the cake to soak it up. Nope, just a wee drizzle,including some cream on the underside of the plate. We had the pre-paid meal, which appeared to be a bit challenging at the time of leaving the restaurant as we signed for the meal in triplicate (there were 3 of us).

The hope was breakfast would be better. Nope! The Cooked breakfast was cold to lukewarm (at best) I'm guessing that

When checking out (again we had prepaid for breakfast), there was another attempt to get us to pay again.

It pains me to be so negative, but that was how bad my experience was.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graham_wj1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Glasgow Pond Hotel for three nights. We had a clean double room on the third floor. Even though close to main road no traffic annoyed us. 10 minute drive to city centre. We booked through booking.com and this hotel was the best price. We only booked room basis so we cannot comment about breakfast. Reception staff friendly. Wifi temperamental slight hassle to use.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The room is clean, bed comfortable, free wifi, handy for bus into the city centre, overall a good budget hotel.

However i forgot my watch in the room and didn't notice until back in France. Got an e-mail from hotel staff telling me found it but now they won't return my e-mails when asked to send it to my home adress (i offered to pay for the shipment).

If a member of the hotel direction see this e-mail please get in touch with me vie email.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felixbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed here on 2nd of October with my son. The location is good with great transport links both bus and rail or safe car parking. Accommodation is ok clean but basic. Breakfast was good with a nice selection however dinner was disappointing. I would use this hotel regularly as I like the location but on the last few occasions I have found the noise at night kept me awake. This is partially due to traffic mainly taxis but also to deliveries being made to a garage and convenience store at front. So if you are a light sleeper ask for room at back of hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at rear may be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We selected this hotel as we had an appointment at the Gartnavel Hospital early in the morning. It is situated on the Great Western Road so very accessible from the city centre by bus (6, 6A ) and also has excellent parking. We arrived at midday and were able to check in then, so left our luggage before setting out for a day in Glasgow. The Botanic gardens are within walking distance where we enjoyed a light lunch, and from there we walked on to the Kelvingrove Art Gallery. We enjoyed the late summer sun in the west end of Glasgow, a city with so much for the visitor. Our room had all we needed. We took advantage of the early evening meal in the Brasserie (£9.95 for 2 courses between 5 and 7 pm ) and their house wine at £11.95. Check out by 12.00pm allowed us to go for the hospital appointment after breakfast and return to our room before setting out for home. Staff were welcoming on arrival, and also in the restaurant. If we are needing to visit the city for any reason again , we would not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
347 reviews
Number 10 Hotel
#32 of 93 in Glasgow
808 reviews
Albion Hotel
#48 of 93 in Glasgow
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
898 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
854 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#50 of 93 in Glasgow
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £40 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing