We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$390
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$294
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Central Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,153)
Filter reviews
1,154 results
Traveller rating
274
471
252
89
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
471
252
89
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgartnavel hospitalwest endcity centregreat western roadbyres roadloch lomondtriple roombotanic gardensthird floorwould stay againcouple of nightscar parkingshort stayself servicestayed here for one nightgood nights sleepcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
649 - 654 of 1,154 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Arrived as part of a large sporting group. The check-in was super quick. Very impressed. The room was fine. A little small with a double and single and its cleanliness was acceptable. The sheet on the double bed was too small and didn't tuck in over all ends.

The food was good and the bar comfortable.

There was a not a lot of hot choice for a vegetarian at breakfast.

On the whole it was good value and perfectly acceptable. I would stay again if I was passing in the area.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had no view and was over air conditioning but it was dark early in the evening and we left early in the mornings so it didn't matter.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaygirl329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay.
Please be assured your comments regarding the bed linen has been passed to our housekeeping manager who has actioned it immediately and thank you for bringing it to our attention. I'm delighted to read you found the Hotel " good value" and you would stay again if in the area.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Excellent location, easily found, free parking, good bus service into the city, helpful pleasant polite staff, huge bed, very comfortable, excellent breakfasts. M&S and petrol station very close by, handy for a snack. Considering the hotel is close to a busy road and a busy hospital we found the room quiet. Nice big pond beside the car park with lots of wildlife means you can have a walk in the country, swans, ducks etc. We will be back.

Room Tip: Second floor, noise free and not too hot.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SloeGin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear SloeGin13,

It was great to read you had an "excellent stay" on your recent trip to the Glasgow Pond Hotel and thank you for sharing it with the tripAdvisor community.I have passed on your positive commnets to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed four nights. We found the hotel very hard to find. We slept very poorly due to an overheated room and on two nights, telephone and fire alarm issues. Staff seemed mostly disinterested (apart from the chap who cleaned our room who was a star). Unlikely to return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank U-Cheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the Glasgow Pond Hotel.

We were dissapointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay, the safety of our guests and staff is paramount and should the fire alarm sound we only have your safety in mind.We also have fans available for our guests comfort which can be requested at reception.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here two years ago for the same sports event that brought us to Glasgow again this autumn, and having compared the other hotel options we decided to revisit the Glasgow Pond.

The breakfast was as we remembered it - with a scrambled egg that my partner was so impressed by it now features in criteria for selection at other hotels.

The room was as before a comfortable compact double, this time on the top floor facing the rear over the hospital. Staying for three nights this time to allow more time to explore the we enjoyed the room and the space that was available - it's not a mansion by any stretch, but we've paid more and got less in other places before.

The staff again were unfailingly polite and helpful, and even if the smiles are corporate instructions, they feel warm enough to ensure we felt actually welcomed.

This time we travelled to Glasgow by train rather than driving, and the location of the hotel close to Hyndland railway station was another key factor in selection - the trip to/from the city centre takes only a few minutes, and trains are frequent.

We're confidently expecting to be back in the city in autumn 2015 (if not before), and we'll be planning to return to the Pond again.

Room Tip: At the weekend, there is less traffic to & from the hospital (to the rear), providing a quieter room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedHillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your great comments which you have shared with the tripAdivsor community, it was great to read that yet again you found the staff " unfailingly polite and helpful". Making all our guests feel welcome and cared for is a fundamental which is something we work very hard at.

I see you are planning a return visit in the Autumn 2015, please remember to get the best rates available, call our reservations team direct on 0141 334 8161.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed here for nearly 4 weeks while having treatment at a near by hospital. The staff at the hotel are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are large in size and free internet access is available in all areas of the hotel. The downside to this hotel is that it is an old building and there is hardly any sound proofing within the rooms, this made the duration of my stay very noisy. Okay for a necessary stay but if your stay is for a holiday or special occassion then probably best to avoid this hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Elizabeth

Thank you for your recent review on this site.

It was great to read that the staff were "wecoming and nothing is to much trouble".Regarding your comments about being an old building, I understand it is roughly about 50 years old and at one point was a Stakis hotel.We do however have quiter rooms on the opposite side that can be requested upon arrival.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews