We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Booked a twin room for a nights stay based on online reviews. Spoke to the reservation manager before arrival regarding some requests but she was very rude and least interested. None of the requests were looked into either. Location is ok. Room was also an ok size but would benefit from a refurbishment. Bathroom was tiny. Wifi is free in the rooms but it is one of slowest ever. So, could not go online at all. The receptionist blamed it on the high number of users in the hotel!!! Staff at breakfast were friendly and food was well done. Would not visit again or recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bindu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hotel.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding our breakfast staff and our breakfast offering however were disappointed to hear some of your accommodation requests were not met, please accept our apologies in this regard. However at no point did you speak to our reservations manager who would be delighted to hear from you to discuss your stay, she can be contacted on reservations.manager@pondhotel.com

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    446
    233
    77
    61
See reviews for
222
365
96
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bannockburn, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here 15th-17th November. Had booked a show in Glasgow which was on the 16th. Decided to have a weekend break in Glasgow. We arrived just after 8pm, check in was quick and receptionist very efficient. We had a meal in restaurant (was included in price) on Friday evening. Meal was superb, compliments to the chef:), waitress very attentive and cheerful. We slept well our two nights there, even though there was a wedding on the Saturday night. Found all staff to be very courteous and friendly. Thank you for a very pleasant stay in the Pond Hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thistle59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Absolutely hated this hotel, if you can call it that - it looked more like a block of council flats and was extremely hard to find. A big sign on the gable end of the hotel wouldn't go amiss as there is no signage when driving in from the eastside of Glasgow. First of all, we waited ages to book in, the bathroom was so tiny - the showercurtain stuck to you when showering (I am a size 10), the grouting around the base of the bath-panel was disgusting, we had to go to reception to request a bath-mat (that was a slightly-larger than an A4 piece of disposable paper that was neither use nor ornament, the battery in the safe had conked-out, the noise last night was unbearable (coming from the Kelvin Suite) and the room was very small! What was supposed to be a lovely surprise, without my knowledge, turned out to be a nightmare albeit that Glasgow shopping helped alleviate the disappointment! Very expensive rubbish and we will not be returning, ever!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hotel.

We welcome all feed back as an opportunity to learn and improve our training and service standards. As your stay did not meet with your expectations, please accept our apologies on this regard, I would be most grateful if you could contact me direct at the hotel as I would welcome further insight into your stay at the hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This hotel is apparently willing to allow 10+ guests to party in the rooms all through the night. We had loud laughter, guitar playing and drunken singing until gone 3.a.m.. When we complained someone came up and issued a rebuke and the music stopped but the joking and laughter continued until 04.30.
On checking out I asked if the management would be prepared to make a modest / token reduction in our bill as we had not been able to sleep. They knew about the problem but refused point blank.
Interestingly notices in each room threaten spot fines for anyone who smokes in there. Clearly the management care about smoking but not about people being kept awake all night. I was appalled at the complete lack of any empathy. We shall never stay there again.

Room Tip: If there is a function on the rooms anywhere could be noisy. Sleep in the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClanHendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hotel.

However it was disappointing that your stay was disrupted by internal noise caused by other Hotel patrons. Unfortunately on occasions we do have inconsiderate guests who have little regards for other guests sleep or comfort. As soon as our night team were alerted to this inconvenience the appropriate action was taken. Please be assured your feedback is important and accept our apologies that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I frequented the Pond Hotel very many years ago when I worked in the local area. It was always pleasant enough but a bit bog standard. I attended a course there a couple of weeks ago and was immediately impressed. The entrance and foyer are inviting, the staff efficient and friendly without being ingratiating. The conference room was cosy, with good deco and own loos. We had a buffet lunch which was decent and adequate. More than anything I found the deco and ambience very pleasing. One of the other delegates said she'd attended a wedding there recently and it was excellent. Staff very efficient & quiet when serving coffees/teas at numerous times throughout the day. Will go soon for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Externally this hotel does not give you any idea of the good standard inside. Staff were very polite and efficient. I ate in the restaurant and the meal was of a good standard although a little more quantity would have been nice. My room faced the main road but I could not hear any vehicles. Very large comfortable bed housed in a well heated bedroom. The included breakfast was of a very good standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Colin,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Glasgow Pond Hotel.

It was great to read such a positive review and all the more special as it was you first trip to our wonderful city of Glasgow.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Arrived as part of a large sporting group. The check-in was super quick. Very impressed. The room was fine. A little small with a double and single and its cleanliness was acceptable. The sheet on the double bed was too small and didn't tuck in over all ends.

The food was good and the bar comfortable.

There was a not a lot of hot choice for a vegetarian at breakfast.

On the whole it was good value and perfectly acceptable. I would stay again if I was passing in the area.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had no view and was over air conditioning but it was dark early in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaygirl329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay.
Please be assured your comments regarding the bed linen has been passed to our housekeeping manager who has actioned it immediately and thank you for bringing it to our attention. I'm delighted to read you found the Hotel " good value" and you would stay again if in the area.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#32 of 93 in Glasgow
3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
862 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#43 of 93 in Glasgow
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Property: Glasgow Pond Hotel
Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing