We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #56 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would stay again”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel. Friendly staff, refurbished room and great breakfast. Great location for a trip down Byres Road, with good choice of restaurants and decent shops. Botanic Gardens is always worth a visit...takes me back to my youth and growing up near West End.

Room Tip: unable to comment but we had a room overlooking the car park and pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandieB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    429
    223
    74
    59
See reviews for
211
356
92
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This may not be the prettiest of hotels, but it provides an excellent base with secure parking (a rarity in so many city hotels). It could not be easier to find from the motorway network, as you simply follow the Great Western Road. Booking is extremely efficient, and reception staff handle both check in / out in a friendly manner. The rooms are spotlessly clean, buffet breakfasts excellent and evening diners are offered a good choice of menu options in the bar or bistro. Staff are attentive and professional.
Although small the bathrooms are certainly adequate. The only negative of our three visits was the lack of accommodation on offer for less mobile guests. Although my husband's very elderly, partially sighted father managed in a standard room on our most recent stay, it would have been so much better if he had been able to access a room with rails over the bath to enable him to use the shower with confidence.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torphins, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Chose The Pond more or less as a lucky dip but so pleased I found it. Immaculately clean, stylishly appointed and decorated. The best hotel breakfast I've had - they even had edible scrambled eggs - something I am really fussy about. They were not rubbery and bouncy! Staff very friendly and helpful. The bed linen is so soft and lovely on the skin, had a very comfortable night's sleep. Just under 2 miles from some fabulous restaurants and bars on Gt Western Rd and Byres Rd, walkable but on a good bus route too and taxi stance very close by.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I contacted the hotel at 4.15 pm to let them know I was arriving late due to train they said everything would be ok, my party arrived at 7.30 pm & the hotel confirm my room was available & they were expecting me about 11.30 pm. When I arrived at hotel they told me I did not have a room, the night manager Mark could not see what the problem was!!!! He the told me they had managed to get me a hotel which was five miniatures away another lie hotel was 30 mins away. In the morning the other hotel expected payment I refused & told them to Bill the ponds hotel, after being held hostage for a period of time they said I could go. Customer service shocking, no one. Wants to take any responsibility for the poor service customers get. Would not stay here again they have a beautiful hotel spoilt by the lack of customer service skill of staff that seem to enjoy getting paid but do not like to take on board the full responsibility of their role, they should all be sacked.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulachatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of our Hotel. It remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in our establishment and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Please be assured feedback is important to us as we endeavor to improve standards and meet our customer’s needs.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel, It was my first time here. I had been looking for a hotel my partner and I could stay at as we had a concert to see at the Hydro. This hotel had came up on our search due to there being a very handy train station just down the road which takes you to the walk way to the exhibition centre. I called the hotel and booked room only - we are too lazy to get up for breakfast! I was originally only going to stay the night of the concert but called up to add a night on before the concert to make it a bit longer.
when we arrived we were welcomed by a lovely man and advised of everything we needed to know then made our way to our room. the rooms are lovely and clean and modern, the bed was very comfortable and we had a fantastic sleep. The first night we decided to eat at the bar we ordered a burger and chips and it was so tasty!! and a nice relaxing atmosphere! the staff were very nice there was one gentleman who was in housekeeping who was very happy and polite every time we met him, we stayed in room 303 and had passed him a few times on that floor! overall I love our visit and will be back :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very convenient for visiting west side of Glasgow especially since free car parking available. Staff very helpful. Housekeeping staff were especially friendly!
Family rooms with bunk beds are great value if travelling with Children.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Booked a twin room for a nights stay based on online reviews. Spoke to the reservation manager before arrival regarding some requests but she was very rude and least interested. None of the requests were looked into either. Location is ok. Room was also an ok size but would benefit from a refurbishment. Bathroom was tiny. Wifi is free in the rooms but it is one of slowest ever. So, could not go online at all. The receptionist blamed it on the high number of users in the hotel!!! Staff at breakfast were friendly and food was well done. Would not visit again or recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bindu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hotel.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding our breakfast staff and our breakfast offering however were disappointed to hear some of your accommodation requests were not met, please accept our apologies in this regard. However at no point did you speak to our reservations manager who would be delighted to hear from you to discuss your stay, she can be contacted on reservations.manager@pondhotel.com

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Belhaven Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#73 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Property: Glasgow Pond Hotel
Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing