We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with friendly helpful staff”
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed for two nights 24th and 25th Jan for a function held there on the Saturday night. The hotel was clean and rooms great and ample size for a short stay (although bath smallest I have probably seen). The bed was comfy and we both slept well. The hotel is great if you need to drive when visiting Glasgow as very large car park and we took a taxi to and from the hotel when visiting the city centre which was under £10.00 each way which beats trying to park and means you don't need to worry about drinking alcohol while out etc.
Prices of food and drink at the hotel very reasonable. Breakfast is self service and was really good value with plenty of choice.

The thing that stood out most of all was the friendly staff as
from check in to check out they were helpful and always had a smile and a "hello" as they went about their work. We had a few requests from ordering taxis to sorting out wifi and every time the service was excellent.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank reggie1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

I booked into the Pond Hotel as it was basically the only room left to be had in Glasgow over the Celtic Connections weekend. To be fair, the hotel itself was fine. Friendly staff, good restaurant, clean (although small) room, bar prices were reasonable and the parking was free. Where this hotel fell down is solely down to location. Yes, it is in Glasgow's west end but the reality is that it is the west - west - west end. The place is in the middle of no-where and the bars and restaurants are a hike away. Perhaps not too bad on a nice summer evening but on a cold and wet Saturday night in February, when taxi's are pretty much booked solid, it becomes a hotel to avoid. If you are fortunate to actually get a taxi the fare to Glasgow's "Theatre Land" is around £8 - £12 depending on traffic. Certainly, if your intention is to spend the night at the hotel then you could do a lot worse but if you are using it as a base to get to bars and entertainment then do yourself a favour and look to book closer to the town centre.

Room Tip: Hotel is currently being "re-modernised" in readiness for the Commonwealth games. Didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chief123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My son and I stayed for 3 nights last weekend £120 room only, excellent value. The room was of a good standard, warm and clean with good daily housekeeping. I found the beds although very firm to be quite comfortable, would recommend that they upgrade there pillows, they were like bricks!!
The staff were very polite and helpful, the reception bar area modern and clean.

We were less than 5 minutes to the train station which took us into city centre in 10/15 minutes. Would definately stay at the Pond Hotel again If returning to Glasgow.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gela1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Unfortunately my friends and i had a terrible nights sleep when we stayed at the Glasgow pond hotel. The decor is quite nice and rooms are of a decent size so everything looked good to start with, despite our initial first impressions of how the hotel looked from the outside (not good at all) but everything went downhill when we went to bed...

I have stayed in lots of hotels and can say without a doubt these beds are the worst i've ever slept in in a hotel bar none (travelodge beats it by a mile!). Very hard and extremely uncomfortable. I think i could feel every spring in the bed. The duvet was super thin as were the pillows and the bed linen was quite rough which didn't help. It felt as if the hotel really skimped on these areas and is kitted out with bargain basement beds/ quilts and linen, not very inviting.

Other reviews of this hotel are correct when they say that the noise from corridors and adjacent rooms is very loud. At 6 am we were woken by guests walking down the corridor and could hear every word of their conversation as if they were in the same room. The noise of doors banging is very loud and not muffled as it usually is in most hotels when heard through a closed room door.

The girl at reception was however very helpful and we didn't have a problem with the service at all but when it comes down to it if you can hardly sleep because a bed is so bad then the hotel isn't worth the money at all, and i'm afraid to say at £60 quid a pop I felt as if i had been robbed. I'll sleep in the car next time (it will certainly be comfier).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clyde89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Glasgow Pond Hotel.

As you will have observed at your time of stay, we are currently going through a refurbishment programme which includes corridors and indeed replacement of beds and mattress’s.

To enable me to address this and your other comments, I would appreciate if you could advise me of the room number that you stayed in.

From time to time we do have inconsiderate guests, therefore I was saddened to read that your sleep was interrupted by other residents for which we apologise.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glasgow Pond Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Convenient for Gartnavel Hospitals,rugby at Old Anniesland,the Kelvingrove Museum, and short drive to city centre,but watch out for restricted bus/taxi lanes 24/7 on great western road-big fines! So take the train/subway/taxi. Hotel is a 60/70s concrete block, unappealing to the eye from outside but under refurbishment inside.Not well signposted or illuminated but plenty car parking when you get there.Flight of steps up to reception,with heavy swing doors, and no clear disabled access. Receptionist was welcoming and competent at checkin/out. Brasserie meals were pretty staple fare and not exactly inspiring but hotel had 5-7pm and table d'hote deals, as well as a la carte.Our main choices were served hot (on heated plates too!)accompanied by bottle of "wine of the month" @£11.95. We dined at 6.30 on saturday and 9pm on sunday when we received attentive table service on each occasion,. We felt bar prices were rather expensive.Lifts (2) to bedrooms were swift and smooth if small for 4 with baggage.. No porteraqe was offered.Our bedroom had been refurbished and was well lit/ventilated,with immaculate en-suite bath with in-bath power shower, but unfortunately no grab handles for the less agile like us..Bed was comfortable and we suffered no noise.Kettle and courtesy tea/coffee tray provided in room.Breakfast was buffet self-service with wide selection of cereals, fruit and full cooked dishes, rolls,croissants,toast, etc-with multi-choice tea/coffee. Scrambled eggs were lukewarm and a bit rubbery. A breakfast call-order service would be an improvement.
This hotel offers good, average plus 3 star standard accommodation, affordable brasserie eating but not fine dining; it could possibly achieve 4 with more investment and improved menu. Overall, a value- for- money 2 nights weekend in Glasgow for £110 .

Room Tip: Room views are not scenic-either Gartnavel hospital/grounds/carparks or Glasgow Academy playing fiel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ewenwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Just back today from the Hotel,13Jan
We visit Glasgow quite a lot over the year and have stayed in a number of Hotels over the years,this one rankings in our top five for friendliness,service,and cleanliness.We were Bed Breakfast and found the food on offer to be plentiful,we never had a Evening Meal,so we can't comment.Overall good Hotel.
Bit to far out if you don't know the area,but ideal for Byers Road

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here to be close to my daughter who is living in Anniesland. Location was convenient. The room was clean and the service was good. My husband and I stayed there over Christmas for 8 days. Did not enjoy the breakfast buffet so glad we did not bundle this with the room. Everyone was very nice and helpful. I had my ipad, so I stopped by every day to get access to the internet. Not sure why they didn't just give me a password for the week, but it was free. The beds were comfortable though the room was on the small side but we really only slept there so it was fine. Our previous stay was in an apartment and missed having a refrigerator, though they did provide coffee and tea in the room which was good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bax99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
316 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#53 of 93 in Glasgow
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Number 10 Hotel
#27 of 93 in Glasgow
781 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £57 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing