We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but”
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #56 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Durham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good, but”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stayed on a 2 night weekend break, not my first stay. The staff are spot on, rooms first class and in the main its a very good hotel.

The only thing I found disappointing was the food, quality, quantity and price did not match at dinner. Breakfast was fine and the bar menu seemed good but dinner I found disappointing but that may just be me.

Will I stay again, yes but will have dinner in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55MINUTESMILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    432
    228
    75
    60
See reviews for
212
360
93
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My mum, daughter and I were staying two nights at the Pond as we were visiting my son in Glasgow. The triple room was fairly small but clean and tidy. The bathroom was also fairly small but again, was very clean.

We were warned by the receptionist when we arrived that there was a function on both nights we were staying. There was some music audible in the room, but we were at the other end of the hotel so didn't really affect us.

The hotel is in a good position for the West End of Glasgow and fairly straight forward for driving in to the city centre. There are also plenty of buses to catch on Great Western Road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the function suite if you don't want to be disturbed by any functions t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tartanscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great stay at this very friendly hotel. Family room rather cramped for 2 adults and 2 teenagers but well appointed. Lovely large bath with power shower. Buffet breakfast was fab. Free fast wifi. Free parking. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhairi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel ticks all the boxes for someone looking to have a night out in the West End of Glasgow. Affordable, spacious, free parking, 24 hour bar and close to Ashton Lane and Byres Road.

If travelling by train get off at Hyndland its a five minute walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We decided to choose this hotel because we discovered it is one of the few that still has smoking allowed rooms. What a relaxing experience to be able to chill in our room & not have to go outside when we wanted to smoke! The reception staff were very friendly & helpful, faultless in fact. We were happy with our room & the hotel facilities. The wifi died on the Saturday night but the hotel was fully booked for a wedding (we were warned about this at check in, thanks, appreciate the 'heads up' on that) so that was not really surprising. My only complaint was at breakfast on the Saturday morning. The man who checked off the room numbers was abrupt & impatient demanding our room number & name, repeating himself when I did not respond quickly enough. I was suffering from a dental infection along my jaw which caused me pain when I spoke and I found his attitude unwelcome. This was the only blight on our visit however. There is a large car park attached to the hotel (free & no need to reserve) which was an added bonus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank May069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed here for one night as part of a business trip. I was told that the hotel wasn't really up to much, but when I arrived I was extremely impressed. I believe there has been an upgrade done recently.
The room itself was quite small so I'm not sure how I would feel if there were two of us in it. However, the bed was massive! I was lying on one side and there easily could've been another 3 people in the bed with me! Nice firm, but comfortable, matress and pillows.
I didn't try the restaurant but both it and the bar looked lovely.
Reception staff were also very nice, and check-in & check-out was very quick and easy

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikitaxx10410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I chose this hotel because is just next to the Beatson Cancer Centre (5 minutes walk). The area is nothing special, quite industrial, not good if you need to see fields from your window...but is great if you are traveling for job or if you need to stay near the hospital.
It's 20 minutes from the Glasgow airport (20 pounds taxi ride).
The hotel is not really the nicer I have ever seen but the room was very good, with a big bed, bath in the bathroom, hair dryer and free Wi-Fi. The breakfast was not included and they charge 7.5 pounds but was really tasty and with enough choices.
I will definitively go there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsHeich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#44 of 95 in Glasgow
1,551 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
775 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 95 in Glasgow
3,285 reviews
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 95 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Property: Glasgow Pond Hotel
Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing