We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of a hotel”
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #57 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The outside of this hotel (type of building and location) does not suggest that inside you will be greeted with a modern, warm welcoming environment. The room were so clean, it shone. From floor to ceiling, wall to wall and bedding and towels – it was immaculate.
The room was not large, but more than adequate for a 1 night stay, and the bathroom was compact, but very comfortable. Everything you wanted was there including free WiFi, none of this £20 per day for The Pond.
The staff was friendly, with time for you, and very efficient. Breakfast service was good with a reasonable choice of very freshly cooked food. Table are cleared with almost military timing.
Do I have a negative comment anywhere – No. The Pond is a great 3* hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontysMum72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing evening here on 7th June. It was our football team's 30th Anniversary celebration and everything went extremely well.

Good food, friendly service and helpful staff all round.

Although I did not stay I would definitely recommend for anybody thinking about hiring for any event - top class.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Euan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

stayed one night only and was very satisfied with the accommodation , I was on the 4th floor overlooking the pond. Attended a function where we were all very well looked after and the food was lovely. Also had breakfast the next morning which was buffet style, enjoyed the breakfast and would certainly return and recommend this hotel , staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Breakfast was buffet style and was ok. I had a room on the third floor over looking the hospital. The room had a large bed and a set of bunk beds. Had tea and coffee together with a kettle no biscuits. Bathroom a bit on the small side. It was the same price as the Marriott, so the Marriott you get more for your money and closer to the centre.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank bigemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Initially our room key didn't work. Not a particular problem but when we did get into the room the bathroom whilst clean looking had the odour of a public loo. When in the shower the bath filled up with water and took 15 mins to drain away. Reception staff were polite and moved us to another room on request but we were moved to a room with a smaller bed than initially requested. The hotel was noisy, just over from a petrol station and there was someone singing football songs in the hallway at 3.30am. Don't think we will rush back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your recent review of our hotel.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience regarding your room, this was as you described due to a blocked drain in the shower area, our maintenance team have now rectified this problem. Regarding the noise, unfortunately on occasions we do have inconsiderate guests who have little regard for other peoples sleep or comfort.

Please be assured your feedback is important to us as we endeavour to improve our standards and meet our customers needs.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed in the Pond in April.It was overall good value but the location is a bit off centre for night clubs,bars and shopping.The food in the hotel is adequate and there's an Indian and Italian restaurant adjacent.In fact the whole experience could be described as adequate.
One serious downside is that the hospital next door.The ambulance traffic was noisy and frequent.

Room Tip: Ensure you avoid weddings as it is a popular venue. Avoid top floor where the A/C units are situate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't advise people to stay here. Rooms are ok but the staff need some serious training in customer service. The reservations manager especially was the rudest person I have ever met, didn't seem interested in queries we had. They didn't even care when we made a complaint.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mollyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

I was surprised to read your comments regarding our reservations manager, who is in fact one of our most valued and professional members of the team. As explained at the time of making the reservation, we offer a flexible rate which can be cancelled up until 4pm on the day of arrival without any charges being occurred, unfortunately the choice made on this occasion was our discounted non refundable non amendable option which was fully explained at the time of booking.

We appreciate all comments both positive and negative but on this occasion your allegation of rudeness is without substance.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
340 reviews
Number 10 Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
802 reviews
Albion Hotel
#48 of 93 in Glasgow
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,683 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#49 of 93 in Glasgow
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £51 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing