We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Clean Hotel”
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #56 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is sixties/seventies built hotel and although the location is convenient it is in a bit of an industrial area with a hospital over the road. That said it was kept very well and had been updated. The service was good and the breakfast was very good. The rooms had all you needed but the bathroom was a little small.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Having been placed in this Hotel for work on the Commonwealth Games, I was initially impressed by the rooms and the staff. I have stayed in many hotels around the world for these types of events and this one was a pleasant surprise. Indeed I will begin this review by saying that the rooms are a good size, always clean as are the bathrooms. You also get FREE WiFi, a TV, Safe, Nice Large Bed and dressing table etc as well as the standard Tea/Coffee and Biscuits (Some days), I would also like to pre-face this by saying that the staff are excellent, friendly and helpful.

HOWEVER, for myself who has stayed in the hotel for close to a month, I have to say that I have only had about 5 nights uninterrupted sleep. This is down to the fact that you can hear EVERYTHING from your room. The walls are so thin you can hear people using their bathroom at all hours, everyones Television and peoples children running up and down the corridors (yes, this is the type of clientele that come here - very considerate of others, I don't think), oh and lets not forget the DOORS! They need to do something about them because they SLAM, SLAM, SLAM, SLAM, SLAM at all hours, rattling the walls - either they are made of lead or this hotel attracts a particularly rude and arrogant clientele because it's insufferable. Also, being on the pond side of the hotel also means being above the restaurant and bar, so you get a lovely amount of noise from people drinking and smoking outside until all hours as well as the noise from the petrol station/supermarket next door and (at this time of year at least) a HUGE flock of water fowl roosting on the adjacent pond Squawking and squealing around the building - and since you have to sleep with the window open as there is no air con, this is a very significant amount of noise (although obviously the hotel can't be blamed directly for this)

I also recognise that this is a busy hotel but there has been a non-stop arrival of coach tours and a couple of weddings which has made this issue particularly bad.

The location for town or work (for me) isn't great, being an hours walk(isn), but that's not so bad and you are nearer the West End, Byres Road and Argyll Street, which for me offer a MUCH nicer dining and pub experience, if that is your thing - you can be there within half hour on foot, or for about £5 in a cab, which is good.

Overall this is a "basic" hotel although I would say a higher quality than most premier inns etc. If you're only in for a couple of nights then the noise may not bother you too much, but if a good nights sleep is one of the prime requirements for you then I WOULD NOT recommend this place. This is the only reason I give it a 3 star rating. There is nothing the staff can do about this other than ask the rude people to shut up and be considerate or redesign the whole hotel, so complaining to them is not really on, but it is something to consider before staying here.

As I said everything about the facilities is good, the staff are lovely, the rooms clean and fresh and the food in the restaurant is very nice and a good price, there is a decent WiFi signal thats FREE (Very important) plus if you're a drinker the bar is a nice place to chill to a late hour (although please don't talk too loudly outside - we can all hear you) - the only problem is you can't guarantee a good nights sleep.

Oh as a side note - I will also say that the sun has been out these last few weeks and the room temps have been close to unbearable. There is no air con in the rooms and the windows only open a crack - so you don't get much air. The hotel do provide fans, but having asked about 6 times I've still not got one - although I dare say they've run out since the place has largely been full.

Room Tip: If you want a nice(r) view get a pond side room, but you get more noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank victoranalogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Recently stay in Glasgow for the commonwealth games and this was the second hotel I stayed in and by far the better of the two. The price was competitive and the rooms were gleaming, but more importantly the service I got was 5 star. There was a notice board that had all the commonwealth events with times, how to get there and approx time of travel and cost, excellent idea and really helpful. Also what really impressed me was being able to return to hotel late at night and get food and a drink, being from out of town it was excellent for me! Thank you again and I will defo be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reilly1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Due to the Commonwealth Games the cost of the hotel was very high, although it is probably cheaper at other times. The rooms were nice, perhaps for two people, but with three it was a very hot squeeze. Fans are available at the reception. Everything was clean and well kept around the hotel.
The hotel food is nice and the choice of breakfast is varied from cereal to cooked breakfast food. The reception and restaurant have free wifi but it does not work in the rooms.
It is close to the city and is a short bus ride into central Glasgow (the bus stops in the main road outside of the hotel).

Room Tip: Ask for a fan The 'family rooms' are very hot and quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Looked for hotel in Glasgow for the 2014 Commonwealth Games & GPH had quite good reviews. Price £243/night. In fact, this hotel had hiked up its price extensively!!! This is a VERY BASIC hotel that has, clearly, exploited visitors to the city bc of an international event. We wouldn't have paid more than £90/night, if we'd known what it offered. No-one would. What fools we were. Duped.

Weaknesses:
- Small room.
- Small bathroom.
- Water runs cold now & then in shower. (someone in ANOTHER room is clearly linked to same supply!)
- No AC.
- ~10 TV channels.
- Not in city centre! Extra travel costs.
- Internet was very slow or just didn't work!
- Wildly misleading pricing policy.

Strengths:
- Friendly staff.
- Clean.

Have since discovered other hotels, closer to city centre, were cheaper. They're clean and have friendly staff too.

I do hope the hotel's management use our money to reinvest in the hotel. eg, upgrade services. Glasgow Pond Hotel needs it.

Unfair pricing policy Glasgow Pond Hotel. Shame on you.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't spend more than £80-90/ night on this hotel or you're going to feel as r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liztoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I was surprised to read your comments as when you booked the Hotel in May through a third party website, our pricing policy was clearly displayed. Therefore it would be more balanced to say, clearly knowing the price that you had every opportunity not to book your stay with us and opt for an alternative Hotel. Stating that the pricing policy is wildly misleading is in itself wildly misleading. Like any other European City that hosts a major event, like the Commonwealth Games, rooms and availability are at a premium and our pricing policy during the games was comparable with other Hotels. We appreciate that a couple of your perceived weaknesses are factual but they also are detailed on our website and indeed the website you booked through, 3.2 miles from the city centre or a ten minute drive, along with all other Hotel amenities.

Please accept my apology that your stay did not live up to your expectations and we appreciate the positive mention in relation to the cleanliness of the Hotel and of the friendliness of the staff.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

For the price, this place is great value. The hotel is not close to Glasgow city centre and you do need a taxi to get as far as Byers road as well but taxis aren't expensive so it's not a big deal. The rooms are clean & comfortable. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was one of the best I ever had,great variety and choice of hot breakfast, cereal, yogurts and cappuccino/lattes - really, really good!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jill_Dublin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in early July then one night 7 nights later.

This hotel is advertised as a 3 star and lives up to that expectation and the prices are good for the quality of surroundings and breakfast one is afforded. It is generally clean and tidy and offers a comfortable lounge and dining environment and serviceable rooms representative of or slightly better than the price you pay.

When we checked in the second time we were given a room which happened to be adjacent to the lift. Having had experience of rooms adjacent to lifts before, we went straight back to reception and asked for a room away from the lifts. Without any question we were given a different room overlooking the pond.

We stay at many 4 and 5 star hotels during our travels so can be a little picky at times but would gladly stay at this hotel again when requiring a few nights close to relatives.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank QualitySeekers_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
1.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
336 reviews
4.2 mi away
Number 10 Hotel
Number 10 Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
793 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#48 of 93 in Glasgow
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Belhaven Hotel
The Belhaven Hotel
#51 of 93 in Glasgow
445 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Z Hotel Glasgow
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 93 in Glasgow
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £54 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing