We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #53 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Great service here from all the staff. Have stayed here several times and always enjoy my stay. Close enough to the city centre if you want to shop. Food at the hotel is excellent. Will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
There are newer reviews for Glasgow Pond Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for one night before catching a flight the next day. The building itself is decieving from the outside as it is really nice on the inside. The standard of the rooms for what you pay is basic, I personally have stayed in a premier inn/travelodge for much cheaper and haven't noticed a difference in the comfort of the beds or what you get for the value of your money. In July the room was very hot I had to ask for a fan from reception but then July was unusually hot this year so myself and my partner could of just been unlucky that the night was a very warm one. There isn't any shops close by apart from a petrol station which has an M&S. Close to airport however so it is in a great location if that is what your staying for. Would not pay anything above £60-70 for a night to stay as there isn't anything extra you get for your money. The restaurant food was ok but a little over priced for how much you get on your plate and the waiter was standing at a bar using his mobile phone whilst we were waiting to order our food. All in all I would recommend staying in a hotel that you know what your getting for your money rather than being a fortune for a standard room.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RionaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The room was clean, had a nice view of the pond. M&S was next door with lots of fun and fancy items for sale. The buffet was quite good and the lounge area was nice. The bathroom was tiny but had lots of light.

Location is not great for those wanting near the action in Glasgow, but was very comfortable and served our purposes quite nicely.

Vacation bus tour with Cosmos group. Bathroom shower plumbing throughout the trip was always different and this one was no exception.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank ellenDG-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel is very dreary looking from outside but inside is a very different story. The rooms were very good, great beds and linen. The very best thing was the shower. After 2 weeks of dodgy showers this was the highlight of this hotel, hot water, good water pressure and a roomy bathroom. Just great.
The bar and restaurant were good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JustTravelAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is not close to anything except a service station/supermarket.
Comfortable Single beds. Very small bathroom. Shower taps difficult to figure out. Meal in dining room average. Breakfast nothing special.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Drab from the outside. Sandwiched at the back of a petrol station between a busy road and a hospital, this isn't an attractive hotel.

However it was modern, clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful. Breakfast was ok but nothing to rave about. Nice fruit salad though.

We stayed after the very hot weather but can imagine it would have been unbearable as the windows didn't open much and there was no air conditioning. The rooms were on the noisy side from the road, the hospital and the wildfowl on the adjacent pond but as we were exhausted from time at the Commonwealth Games we both slept well. WiFi was free but didn't reach to our room so only worked in the reception area.

It was overpriced during the Games but everywhere was so I don't think they were any worse than anywhere else from that respect.

Overall a good clean basic hotel which in normal times is good value but take earplugs to be on the safe side and don't visit in very hot weather!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't have a room over the function room area.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jellyfishslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

From the outside this hotel looks drab. The lobby is bright and when we arrived, packed with people accessing the wifi which was disconcerting! There is no air conditioning and although a cool day, the lobby was very hot and stuffy. The staff were very good in all areas. We had a nice dinner and drinks in the bar. Breakfast was the usual buffet and tasty. Our bedroom was not huge but gave a little room either side of the bed. We could not access wifi from our room despite it being all over the hotel. We had the usual tea and coffee facilities with kettle and hair dryer. No iron. The shower was difficult to negotiate. The bedroom hot and stuffy. We opened the window and ended up leaving the curtains open to get some air on a relatively cool night outside. Bed and pillows were reasonably comfortable. This hotel just needs some updating and I don't just mean having fans available to use as stated. Ok for one night only!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#47 of 93 in Glasgow
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,513 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#50 of 93 in Glasgow
436 reviews
Number 10 Hotel
#26 of 93 in Glasgow
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £56 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing