We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice hotel in bustling city”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Extremely clean and one of the best breakfasts ever. Beats some 5 star hotels we have stayed in. The staff are wonderful, always asking you if you need and help and the best thing about them, is they are completely genuine. So handy as located in the West end of the city, yet a bus stop outside to take you into the city centre for shopping.

Yeah the room has some old characteristics, but for the price gives you a good nights sleep and a hearty breakfast for an affordable price. Another good feature was FREE Wifi. Normally costing about £10 in larger establishments, we had an amazing connection. The bed and breakfast was completely full ( 100 people ) due to a Norwich Union athletics event but staff handled everything so well. Loved the glasgow guide in the room and complimentary tea, coffee and buscuits. A stones through from the wonderful Ashton Lane and Kelvingrove Art Gallery. Must see!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasgow2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here with two friends in October and were impressed with the friendly service and the excellent breakfast. We had a room which could comfortably slept five! The hotel is not glamorous but clean and offers good value for money.
I had no hesitation in booking again for myself and my daughter when we were needing an overnight stay in Glasgow while attending a concert in the SECC.Turned out to be a great location as we were able to walk back to the hotel afterwards. The hotel was really busy but again the service was friendly and the braeakfast was excellent.







.
I
I

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marion e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Marrion

Thank you for your positive comments on trip advisor I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

I appreciate your very kind comments relating to your recent stay at the Argyll Hotel. I was very pleased to read you enjoyed everything during your stay.

We always get excellent reviews on our breakast thanks for highligting that.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Argyll Hotel.

Kind regards

Bobby Bashir
Hotel Manager
Argyll Hotel Glasgow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Lovely homely scottish feel. Great location for city centre or university, byres road & museums. Breakfast was wonderful - full scottish! Friendly staff and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you for your review of the Argyll hotel.
It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the size of the rooms as its a listed building.
We do our best to to move guests to bigger rooms if requested.
Our Breakfast is always excellent.

Look forward to welcoming you again , hope it is better weather than today though!

B Bashir
G Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Hotel was in a convenient location for me. Room was clean and everything worked hot water heating TV etc. although on the small side. Staff were friendly and helpful.Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBarbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I spent 4 nights here in December attending a conference at the SECC. Part of my time I was on my own. its easy to get to from the airport you have 2 choices Take the fast airport bus into the centre - get off at Queens St Station (costs about £5) and take a taxi (a further £5) or you can take the slow option the airport bus direct to outside the hotel takes 1 hr 15mins costs about £3 and I think is either the 737 or the 747. The best landmark to ask for is the Kelvingrove museum.
On arrival the entrance is fairly smart - my booking via an agent was incorrect but to be fair to the lad on the desk was sorted immediately. I was then put in a downstairs room. The decoration becomes slightly shabbier as you move through the hotel. The room itself was small. Just wide enough to take a double bed and 2 bedside lamps. The room, carpet,bedding etc was spotless however the window sill had been completely forgotton and was filthy (shame as it let the room down) The room could have done with a repaint but the linen and curtains were new. The bathroom was dated (pink suite) and the sealant around the bath could do with replacing as it was mouldy (which let it down again) but there was good power in the shower and always plenty of hot water. Small flat screen TV, hair dryer and tea and coffee. A wardrobe and that was it. With 2 of you plus bags it meant having to negotiate who would stand where! A nice touch was the door had an alarm so if you left it open it told you. If you were in a wheel chair you would struggle in the size of room.
Breakfast was downstairs (didnt see a lift so ask if you need one before you book) in the restaurant area. It was staffed by the lovely Linda ( a gem for this place). She remembered what we ordered from day to day and checked on me once I was on my own. There was plenty of hot food and a good variety.
The SECC is about a 15 min walk ( you can also pick up the train to the centre there). On route is a small tesco express and an off licence. You are surrounded by some of the best restaurants in Glasgow within walking distance. Fanny Trollops, The Fineston, The Sisters, 16 Byres Rd (open on a monday when the others arent), Mother India. Dont eat in the Pizza take away opposite the museum - horrid.

So in summary for the money its excellent really cant complain for a long stay conference it does you very well. Linda is a star - look after her

Could you improve this place - yes for me a few little things for the managment, keep redecorating and renovating, better quality duvet and pillows would have made the world of difference and really lifted the place, and better quality sausages at breakfast!!! and possibly an area where you could put a microwave for us staying a long time so we could have a pop and ping meal in our room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention.
Your booking was made through a travel wholesaler and the rate reflected the room that was allocated to you. If you had brought your concerns to a member of our staff’s attention then we would have moved you to one of our newer rooms.
We are in the process of refurbishment and unfortunately your room is still to be upgraded as it’s in the lower level.
If you ever do come back to Glasgow please let me know and i will make sure you have one of our new tartan rooms.
We have a lift that goes up to all floors.
Thank you in particular for highlighting Linda from the breakfast as team members who delivered outstanding service. They will be invited to our colleague celebrations and recognised.
Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Argyll Hotel.

Kind regards

Bobby Bashir
Hotel Manager
Argyll Hotel Glasgow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We visit Glasgow several times a year and have been trying to find a hotel which suited our needs. We believe this time we found it. The hotel is in a convenient location- close to the centre but also to the university and the West End amenities.
The hotel is homely and friendly with subtle touches of tartan and Scottish décor. The lift took us to our bedroom, which was of reasonable size with a good sized bathroom. All were very clean with a lived in atmosphere. The staff was friendly and looked after us well making the stay pleasurable. For example they explained complexities of city parking system which proved to be easy just in front on the street. When we could not find a shaver point in the room, they promptly offered wet shaver and/or adaptor.
We had plenty of tea or coffee at breakfast. There was a full cooked breakfast alas no porridge. These was the rotating self-service toasting machine to prepare our own toast and real juice and fresh fruit on offer. This was served in the hotel restaurant, which we did not try.
However we had a soup and sandwich and a drink in the next-door pleasant bar. There are numerous restaurants nearby and the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, an imposing red sandstone building close by surrounded by a lovely park.
We shall, I am sure, return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back appear quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StridLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you for your review of the Argyll hotel from one of our frequent guests. It is good to know that we are getting things just right for our guests .

Look forward to saying hello during your next visit, hope it is better weather than today though!

B Bashir

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed here after being let down by some nearby apartments which were appalling. The rooms were not huge but sufficient for our needs. Good location in the West End and very convenient for the SECC. Breakfast was fantastic with a very good choice. Shame about the weather but we can't control that.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MhairiPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you for your review of the hotel.
Shame about the weather hopefully be better the next time you are through.
Look forward to welcoming you again.

B Bashir

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#53 of 93 in Glasgow
612 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#66 of 93 in Glasgow
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#58 of 93 in Glasgow
612 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £39 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing