We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very lovely and reasonable”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #29 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very lovely and reasonable”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I booked this hotel for my mom to stay while she came to my graduation at Glasgow Uni. I literally walked up and down Sauchiehall Street and looked at every hotel. This one exceeded the rest by far. The reception people were friendly and the rooms were clean (although small). My mom loved the breakfast and the location was perfect. 15 minute walk to the uni and 15 minute walk to city centre. The price was right as well and i loved the tartan rooms! Would recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNU10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    339
    112
    19
    17
See reviews for
121
285
96
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Pleasant surprise! Met with a warm, cosy welcome. Hotel very clean and staff friendly. Definitely great value for money. Room big and although at front of the hotel, noise level was minimum. Looked as though room had been recently refurbished with beautiful decor and en- suite. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Excellent breakfast. Extremely happy with our experience and would definitely return. Very convenient to both Westend and City centre.

Room Tip: Room 306 was were we stayed and would recommend. Although at front of hotel, it was third floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Una R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Needed a fairly last minute room for an interview at Glasgow Medical School. Booked online and wasn't disappointed, especially considering the price. Comfortable, well equipped room plus a really fantastic breakfast for less than you pay for a travelodge. Plus the staff were very friendly and helpful, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLeanneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

I checked into this hotel at very short notice for two nights (6th & 7th February), due to a bad experience and unanticipated check out at another hotel on the same street (no heating or hot showers).

The lady on the front desk was great - professional, helpful, warm and friendly, offering me a lovely room, despite lack of notice.

The room was lovely - warm, clean, large, with a four poster bed. The bathroom was also large, moder, very clean with a good hot shower and plenty of decent towels.

The breakfast was very good. The lady managing the breakfast area was very professional and was very helpful, warm and thoughtful - a real credit to the team!

I had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranmali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your positive comments on tripadvisor and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

I appreciate your very kind comments relating to your recent stay at the Argyll Hotel. I was very pleased to read you enjoyed everything during your stay, we certainly are very fortunate with having good staff and good facilities.

Thank you in particular for highlighting Front Office team and breakfast team members who delivered outstanding service.

I am pleased to read that you intend to return to the Argyll Hotel and recomend it your friends.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Argyll Hotel Glasgow.

Kind regards

Bobby Bashir
Hotel Manager
Argyll Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This was our 4th time staying at The Argyll Hotel in the last year. Its great value, clean, and the staff are very friendly and very accommodating. It's our first choice when looking for accommodation in Glasgow. We’ve even changed our travel plans to ensure we can get into the Argyll Hotel rather than go elsewhere. When I booked this time, I forgot to request a room at the back and on the upstairs, which is our preference. Although, on arrival, the room we had been allocated was not of this type, the receptionist went that extra mile to ensure we got exactly what we were after. And we were only staying for the one night! Well done on customer service! The rooms are always very cosy, clean and have everything in them that you need. The free Wi-Fi is an added bonus! The breakfast is always fresh and good value. This time I noticed a lovely fruit loaf on the bread table, which when toasted and served with melted butter is absolutely delicious! Linda, the waitress during breakfast service, is very friendly, efficient, and has such a pleasant manner with everyone. The location is excellent. You’re within walking distance to the city centre, a stone’s throw away from the Kelvingrove Art Galleries and Museum, The Kelvin Hall Sports Arena, Kelvingrove Park and an easy walking distance to the trendy West End. Getting a taxi, if required, is very easy. Just step outside the front and you’ll get one very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybythelake2035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, Front Office Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments.

We appreciate your very kind comments relating to your recent stay at the Argyll Hotel. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed everything during your stay, we certainly are very fortunate with the central location which sometimes comes with some traffic noise.

The fruit loaf is a new addition to our breakfast. We recently bought a bread maker and we are testing all sorts of breads and cakes. We are glad you enjoyed it.

Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Flavia Tudoreanu
Front of House Manager
Argyll Hotel Glasgow
0141 337 3313
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I booked this hotel via www.lasminute.com and paid £35 for B&B! Not bad! and exactly what I needed as I had to charge an organisation for this and didnt want to take the P***.
I had a single bed and a very small thin duvet, the room was on a busy road in a busy part of town, so didn't sleep too well, but thats not the hotels fault!
Due to the duvet being quite small I was kept quite cool during the night (which I prefer) but since Im over 6' I had at least one part of my body not covered.
The breakfast was average but considering I only paid £5 extra to add breakfast to my room, it was fine.
The staff are all very very pleasant and Id consider staying here again, If I wanted cheap and cheerful!
Does at it says on the tin!

Room Tip: Request you dont get a room to the front of the building if poss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adkeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, Front Office Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our Hotel.

If we are not fully booked we are always trying to upgrade the singles to double or larger rooms.
A last minute booking can be a real bargain sometimes but there will not be too many rooms left to choose from. The room allocation is made considering the rate level.

We know sometimes a single duvet will not suffice for some guests and we keep some double duvets in the reception.

Please feel free to ask for one next time when you are visiting us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Enjoy you travelling.

Best regards,
Flavia T
Front of House Manager
Argyll Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Boswells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We picked this hotel due to its proximity to Yorkhill Hospital (10 min walk), and found the hotel to be clean comfortable and staff extremely helpful. We had booked a double room and on being shown room found it to be a twin room. On querying booking staff were apologetic and we were upgraded without question. Rooms are comfortable and well kept. Breakfasts were buffet style and eat all want. Restaurant meals were well cooked and presented although only very minor complaint not a very big menu. We stayed at the hotel for four nights and would certainly recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpr2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#66 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing