We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Room was nice, clean, staff were friendly and helpful, ideally situated for many of Glasgow's top attractions, great value for money, Sutherland's restaurant ideal for a short stay, hearty breakfasts,

Room Tip: I was in the Guest House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was lousy and restaurant was closed in evening. As I said in the title, we booked for 3 nights and only stayed 2 as we completed out job. We were told no refund on last night as we would need to have given 48 hours notice which was impossible. There was no reasoning with the receptionist either. Due to this and the lack of decent food and tiny rooms, I won't use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrumptonDuane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for your review on trip advisor. I’m really surprised with your review that breakfast was lousy. We get excellent feedback for breakfast and guests tell us our breakfast is best in Glasgow.
Your booking was made via an agent and our cancellation policy is 48 hours prior to arrival. It’s a standard cancellation policy which is explained at the time of the booking.
I’m sorry to hear that to you are unhappy but if you had informed us 48 hours before we would have amended your booking without charge.
The receptionist was simply following policy and procedures.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Best Regards

B Bashir
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Can only review on what we saw as it was a whistle stop stay,

Went to reception after being quoted some obscene prices from hotels elsewhere and were offered B&B double room ensuite at a very reasonable price and took it,

Lovely receptionist, got checked in very quick and headed over the road to the guest house, room 1.

Room was adequate, very clean and tidy and well kept. Nice to see,

Missed breakfast as we slept in.........

All in all a good stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtlaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This little hotel is great and the staff make it so... my room was on the dreaded 4th floor but it was very pleasent bed was comfortable and my partner and I had everything we needed in the room we paid £50 for the night including breakfast so I feel we got a lot more for our money, yes the room was abit dated but if you want a tartan room or mordern bathroom then I guess you need to pay for it... breaking news everyone i hear the hotel is renovating rooms! Maybe the budget rooms will be next. Over all great night stay would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room at the front aren't that bad with noise as people have discribed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My friend and I were booked here by our agent. The desk clerk on duty was a bit brusque and said she would first have to check to see if we really had a reservation. Why would you begin with a greeting like that?! We were ultimately told we had been "upgraded" to the hotel from the suites across the road, but our reservation had always been for the hotel. Our rooms on the fourth floor were spartan and a bit dated, but clean and cozy. The breakfast staff are very warm and accommodating and the breakfast was fine, although fresh fruit instead of canned would have been nice. Miranda, another of the desk clerks, was amazingly helpful with recommendations for restaurants and sights. She really made our visit as we had some wonderful dinners and a great time around town. Don't miss the Burrell Museum--it's a treasure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband & I stayed overnight here as we were going to see The Who in the SECC for our wedding anniversary, when we arrived at hotel, we were given a warm welcome and given a room with a four poster bed,the room was extremely clean and comfortable. Breakfast was buffet style, everything you could want from a good auld Scottish breakfast. We could not fault this hotel or staff in any way, and we will definately stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitzybabe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

No complaints, very clean hotel, and the buffet breakfast was brilliant. Just a 10 min walk to the tube, then 5 mins or so, and you're in central Glasgow. My only complaint, was the lift wouldn't take 3 of us and our cases! Prob due to the amount of shopping we had in them! ;)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz31tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued repeat customers and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

B Bashir

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#50 of 93 in Glasgow
216 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#64 of 93 in Glasgow
582 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#58 of 93 in Glasgow
984 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £49 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing