We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the brochure”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #30 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Ayr. Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the brochure”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed here last night as an expedient and easy alternative to travelling home after attending an event at the "SSE Hydro". Chosen for both cost and location, as well as copious reference to T.A. the hotel did exactly what it said it would. It provided clean and reasonable accommodation as well as free parking and a good full Scottish breakfast this morning. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and could not have been more helpful. If you were looking for 3 or 4 star luxury, then this is not the place for you. The hotel is showing signs of it's age and overall looks a bit tired and jaded, with the rooms being a bit on the tiny side. But Hey!!!! What do you want for £75 per night for 2 people including breakfast. This is a budget hotel and does what it says it will do. For an overnight stop within the West End of Glasgow and easy walking distance of the SECC complex, and lots of other major attractions, it does the job. Sutherlands (its own restaurant in the basement) was closed last night, but the receptionist apologised and gave us recommendations for two or three alternative eateries. Would we return? Probably not, as with a bit of further extensive internet research, we believe there are better establishments within a stones throw, for not a lot more.

Room Tip: As a lot of the rooms face onto Sauchiehall Street, there is the possibility of traffic noise during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodanthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    349
    119
    19
    18
See reviews for
123
300
97
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We’ve stayed one night in this hotel ealry september. We arrived relatively late and this hotel seemed to offer a good level of confort(confirmed by scotish tourism board label at the entrance).

In fact, despite we ‘re easy travelers, we’ve been very disappointed by the level of service and the lack of honesty of the management.
Firstable, you’re asked to pay your room in advance (£120 – the webiste of the hotel only shows a rate of £80 for a double room).
Then, we’ve discovered that the room was not perfectly clean : dust on windoswhills, marks on the bedside tables and strange looking shower gel and shampoo in the shower (whiteish diphasic liquid). Last not but not least, when we wanted to go to bed, it appeared that only a part of the sheets has been changed : fitted sheet were not new and had stains, pillowcases had usage folds.
The night staff had been very kind and helpful to give us some spare sheets.

The day after, the receptionnist welcomed our complaint with a lazy smile, telling us that the manager was not reachable, but he would contact us later in the day. It didn’t happen. The following day, we succeed to reach the manager to share our concern; he told us that, following, his check, we were wrong, but he offered a discount of 5 % for the room.

My recommandation is to avoid this hotel.
If you ‘re lucky, you will have a correct stay (because this hotel is correct and a part of the staff is very nice – particularly night and breakfast), and if not, you might feel ripped of.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicolas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed for a week after mortgage cock-up left us temporarily homeless. Friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable room (306) which faced on to Sauchiehall Street but was surprisingly quiet. Free parking 6pm-8am in a quiet street just across the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Room was nice, clean, staff were friendly and helpful, ideally situated for many of Glasgow's top attractions, great value for money, Sutherland's restaurant ideal for a short stay, hearty breakfasts,

Room Tip: I was in the Guest House
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumpton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was lousy and restaurant was closed in evening. As I said in the title, we booked for 3 nights and only stayed 2 as we completed out job. We were told no refund on last night as we would need to have given 48 hours notice which was impossible. There was no reasoning with the receptionist either. Due to this and the lack of decent food and tiny rooms, I won't use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrumptonDuane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. I’m really surprised with your review that breakfast was lousy. We get excellent feedback for breakfast and guests tell us our breakfast is best in Glasgow.
Your booking was made via an agent and our cancellation policy is 48 hours prior to arrival. It’s a standard cancellation policy which is explained at the time of the booking.
I’m sorry to hear that to you are unhappy but if you had informed us 48 hours before we would have amended your booking without charge.
The receptionist was simply following policy and procedures.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Best Regards

B Bashir
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Can only review on what we saw as it was a whistle stop stay,

Went to reception after being quoted some obscene prices from hotels elsewhere and were offered B&B double room ensuite at a very reasonable price and took it,

Lovely receptionist, got checked in very quick and headed over the road to the guest house, room 1.

Room was adequate, very clean and tidy and well kept. Nice to see,

Missed breakfast as we slept in.........

All in all a good stay and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtlaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This little hotel is great and the staff make it so... my room was on the dreaded 4th floor but it was very pleasent bed was comfortable and my partner and I had everything we needed in the room we paid £50 for the night including breakfast so I feel we got a lot more for our money, yes the room was abit dated but if you want a tartan room or mordern bathroom then I guess you need to pay for it... breaking news everyone i hear the hotel is renovating rooms! Maybe the budget rooms will be next. Over all great night stay would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room at the front aren't that bad with noise as people have discribed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
206 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,105 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#68 of 95 in Glasgow
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#53 of 95 in Glasgow
924 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#61 of 95 in Glasgow
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing